We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional, genuine & English speaking staff. Service beyond expectations. Location close to metro but away from other tourists” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #44 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional, genuine & English speaking staff. Service beyond expectations. Location close to metro but away from other tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed a total of 4 nights at Michaels house: 2 nights at the start of a 3wk trip & we went back for another 2 nights at the end because we loved it so much.

I must say when the taxi struggled to find the location & then dropped us off down a back street that felt like we were in the middle of nowhere we were questioning what to expect. But as soon as we entered the door it was like we were in another world.

The staff were definitely what made the whole experience for us. All the other inclusions (like the things you come to expect from a hotel that are often lacking in Asia) were a bonus. The staff went out of there way in numerous occasions to make sure we were happy. They made u feel comfortable and at home. You were welcomed like family and they were genuinely interested to hear about how your day was and anything else that they could help with.
1. Organizing trip to Terrocotta Warriors in Xian: Without having made any real plans, we decided a day in advance that Our next destination was Xian. In order to make the most of our time there we wanted to book a trip in advance. We decided to book through a backpackers in xian but stay at a different place. How do u try and communicate this over the phone without speaking Chinese?! The staff at michaels house arranged everything for us while we spent the day at the great wall (which they got up extra early to have breakfast ready for us before we left!). They had to call me a few times due to issues & because my phone wasn't working they rang the tour driver!
2. They organized for us to go to opera show but accidentally gave us the wrong address. So when we went back to stay with them they prebooked us & gave us free tickets.
3. When we went back they upgraded us for free as they had no standard rooms available.
4. My boyfriends flight home was later than mine. So he went back to the hotel after I left. The owner had some friends over who had made some dumplings. She shared them with the guests. She then had her friends give my BF a free ride to the airport as they were going there anyway.
The above are just some of the main examples of the staff at michaels house going over and above. There are plenty more smaller things aswell. Just go & see for yourself. Don't forget to try the dumplings from the street stand on the same road aswell as the egg omelette thing which is on the way to metro about 2mins from michaels house. Oh and the Chinese massage place around the corner from Michael's house. Just ask the staff and they'll provide directions. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shereen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    138
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
119
207
65
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Michel's House has been a great surprise for us. It is quite difficult to try and do anything in a crowded city where very few people can understand you. The staff in Michael's house, guided by the owner, Joanna, went further than anyone I can recall to make our stay pleasant, and to solve any problems we could have had , even at the cost of their spare time. Inteligent, resourcefull Amy, as well as Sofi, Coraline with their warm personalities, and the others [who even occidentalized their names for the sake of visitors confort} made us feel at home, at all moment.
The room was very pleasant, with many lovely details, decorated with great taste. The breakfast was served in the central space of this "hutong" reformed hotel, and it was hearty and beautiful. I liked the fact that the hotel was not in a tourist area, because we could watch the real life unfolding around us. The subway station was a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ofelia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Like other courtyard hotels in Beijing, this one is located down a small alley (which may be a bit hard to find at first). The courtyard here has been covered with glass and converted into an atrium/ reception/lobby/sitting room/breakfast room, with AC in summer.

The rooms are off the central atrium. They are very clean and air conditioned. The bed was one of the best I slept in in China!

I was a bit worried that there might be noise from the central areas, but this turned out not to be an issue: the rooms are well soundproofed and we never had a disturbance.

Location is good: nearest subway (Jishuitan) is about 10 minutes walk and is on the useful Circle line (Line 2).

Finally the staff here are very warm, friendly and helpful. Top marks for service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I liked the description of this place and it proved to be just as nice - clean, quiet and tastefully decorated ... with the most helpful staff! It is down an alley in a real Beijing neighbourhood - children going to school, senior citizens sitting around chatting, shops doing business ... and in the evening the air is fragrant with cooking smells and people sit on little benches and eat delicious street food. Michael's House is just that - a private house with a large courtyard (covered on top to stop dust etc getting in and ensuring privacy from the high rise buildings that have come up around). The rooms all open up on to the courtyard and mine was a bit dark inside since it had no other windows - but this was fine in the summer heat. The staff are most friendly and charming and perhaps the best part of staying here was chatting with them (in English) and getting help with doing whatever I wanted to do (including a haircut at the local barber). The breakfast is substantial - mainly western but with occasional chinese touches, and there is a cheap restaurant down the street (with English menu).
I have stayed in Beijing before - in 4- and 5-star bland and antiseptic hotels surrounded by shopping malls which gave me no flavour at all of the city. This place made up for it ... highly recommended for those who want both atmosphere and reasonable comfort!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianGlobalVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

On our recent holiday and tour through China we booked Michael's House in Beijing rather than an expensive hotel. What a great surprise, this is excellent accommodation for any traveller. My daughter and I had a twin room, beautifully decorated, most comfortable bed, lots of pillows and all the little extras to make your stay a great experience. All rooms at Michael's House are located around a court yard, which has a lovely modern asian decor. An American style buffet breakfast served in the court yard included in the room charge. Nothing was too much trouble for the Manager & Staff. On one occasion our tour pick up was at 7.00 in the morning; staff arranged a special breakfast for us to eat before we left for the day. The Manager also arranged a special tour around Beijing at night, which was a great experience; as well as airport tranfers. Of course transfers and tours are an additional cost. Michael's House was in walking distance to the train; which took you to all the great local sites.

Room Tip: I would recommend any room at Michael's House depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle_denham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#69 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#52 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#20 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,319 - ₹ 9,882
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing