We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A home base in Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #47 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A home base in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I liked the description of this place and it proved to be just as nice - clean, quiet and tastefully decorated ... with the most helpful staff! It is down an alley in a real Beijing neighbourhood - children going to school, senior citizens sitting around chatting, shops doing business ... and in the evening the air is fragrant with cooking smells and people sit on little benches and eat delicious street food. Michael's House is just that - a private house with a large courtyard (covered on top to stop dust etc getting in and ensuring privacy from the high rise buildings that have come up around). The rooms all open up on to the courtyard and mine was a bit dark inside since it had no other windows - but this was fine in the summer heat. The staff are most friendly and charming and perhaps the best part of staying here was chatting with them (in English) and getting help with doing whatever I wanted to do (including a haircut at the local barber). The breakfast is substantial - mainly western but with occasional chinese touches, and there is a cheap restaurant down the street (with English menu).
I have stayed in Beijing before - in 4- and 5-star bland and antiseptic hotels surrounded by shopping malls which gave me no flavour at all of the city. This place made up for it ... highly recommended for those who want both atmosphere and reasonable comfort!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianGlobalVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    138
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
118
207
61
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

On our recent holiday and tour through China we booked Michael's House in Beijing rather than an expensive hotel. What a great surprise, this is excellent accommodation for any traveller. My daughter and I had a twin room, beautifully decorated, most comfortable bed, lots of pillows and all the little extras to make your stay a great experience. All rooms at Michael's House are located around a court yard, which has a lovely modern asian decor. An American style buffet breakfast served in the court yard included in the room charge. Nothing was too much trouble for the Manager & Staff. On one occasion our tour pick up was at 7.00 in the morning; staff arranged a special breakfast for us to eat before we left for the day. The Manager also arranged a special tour around Beijing at night, which was a great experience; as well as airport tranfers. Of course transfers and tours are an additional cost. Michael's House was in walking distance to the train; which took you to all the great local sites.

Room Tip: I would recommend any room at Michael's House depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle_denham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Although my girlfriend and I weren't crazy about Beijing, our stay at Michael's House was one major exception. The location may seem shady at first, but it is actually on a very lively "food street" with plenty of locals hanging out and eating outside nearby.

The rooms surround a beautiful central area that is far from what you would see at any chain type hotel. The atmosphere is homey, comfortable, and 100% Beijing. The rooms are just as quaint, but also comfortable and impeccably clean.

Finally, the service and friendliness if the staff truly stands out, especially that I'd Amy (Hui). The staff really helped us with every need, even when we felt like we were being bothersome with all our questions and requests. But they always had a great attitude, made us feel comfortable, and served us with a smile. Thank you so much for making Michael's House the best part about Beijing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syxtoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We chose this hotel by recommendations on TripAdvisor. We arrived late at night and after opening the door we found a most unique, Chinese home. We were hungry and Johana, the owner, who was off duty and not supposed to be in the hotel, accompanied us to the local restaurant where we had a most delicious and inexpensive dinner.(they don't know a word of English but go out of their way) That was our home restaurant for the week in Beijing. (they bring take aways to the hotel too) The staff in Michael's House is as friendly as its owner and helped us with all our needs. The metro station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and taxis go by the hotel all hours of the day. At night there's a night market outside the hotel.

Room Tip: A small quaint hotel-all rooms are home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rutirutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

this is a place,where you can sit in the evening play with friend, watch t.v. drink a glass of tee or order some night meal from the resturant next door, when no one understabd english, this is where the oner of the house will help you, writing your neads in Chinees, trunslat the things you didn't understand - from the day befor, or take you to a place and order for you what ever you like, with a big smile and a lot of love. all the people who work there are the nicest people in china, they make your life easy in Beijing!
and the house itself is very "homely", the rooms are big and clean and decorate very nice. We loved Beijing - and stayed in Michel's for 6 days. 10 minuts fron subway, and very easy to get there.

Room Tip: all the rooms are on 1st. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smadar1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#61 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#66 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#51 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#18 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,891 - ₹ 8,653
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing