We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hutong hotel, but still room for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #46 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good hutong hotel, but still room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I booked this hotel because of the great reviews at tripadvisor and booking.com. Also, I think staying at a old Chinese hutong style hotel can be a great experience for a trip to Beijing. After consider the value and location, I picked Michael's House. I atayed for 3 nights in March. Overall, it is a great hotel, but still some room for improvement.

Pros:
Location - in a hutong (Alley) and lively neighbour. plenty street vendors and food in proximity; decent walking to the subway station (~10-15 minutes)
Room - comfortable and clean; nicely decorated as well
Staff - can be very friendly and nice (depends on your luck)

Cons:
Noisy - because most rooms are facing the courtyard, which can become very noisy when someone talking there. During my stay, there was a kid started playing and talking in the courtyard since 7am. I like to hear kids laughing, but not at 7am during my vacation.

breakfast - room rate included comtinental breakfast. Staff refuse to replenish the food at 9am, however, even the breakfast suppose to run until 9:30am. This is very disappointing, especially they are not providing many choices of food and it should not take them long for replenishment. Also, compare to the room rate that they charge, the cost of food that they provided is minimal.

Staff - can be mean and rude (depends who you run into)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank echiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Michael's House. Meanwhile I am surprised to read your
comments on our staff ! Since our opening early in 2008 we have earned Traveler's Choice almost every year, being ranked top 25 best hotels in China in 2010, 2011, especially in 2012 we earned top 25 for best services !

I can't imagine what was happening to make you feel so angry by those ungenerous words. After investigation, we didn't find any impolite behavior even to some unreasonable requirements.
We even extended the breakfast service to 10:30AM for some late guests(Please refer our earlier reviews ), to say nothing of refuse to replenish the food before 9:00, unless those are efficient enough.

Lastly thank you again for your overall 4 stars rating, and hope to accommodate you in future.

Michael's House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    135
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
204
59
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's hard to give this place 3 stars instead of 4 because the people who work there are so nice and helpful but, out of duty to my fellow travelers, I must speak the truth:)

I Liked: the hutong neighborhood was charming for the first day or so and then its charm wore off quickly, the staff are as helpful as can be, the courtyard is nice, overall the place is pretty quiet and laid back, the bed was comfortable, the room was just okay not great.

I Didn't Like: the western breakfast buffet was the same stuff every day and every single day I had to go find someone to let them know that most of the offerings were empty (they didn't seem to get the idea of replenishing before it ran out), the bathroom was akin to a trailer park in the USA, or a bad college dorm - cheap materials that won't last long (at least that was the case with room #2).

It's about a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest Metro station (Jeshuitan). I'm glad we tried the hutong experience in Beijing but once is enough. There's not the charm I was expecting, it's just a busy little neighborhood with little or no character.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guests:

Thank you for your praising on our staff, courtyard, quality bed and laid-back atmosphere.

We are a small and elegant boutique hotel, the front desk staff is responsible for all related affairs like: check-in/out, taking the phone call, cleaning, replenishment of the breakfast, and etc. Occasionally some job could be little bit delayed. Thank you for your reminding and help we will surely pay more attention on the matter. Considering the different nationality and background of our guests to provide the continental buffet probably be the best choice for our guests.

As our bathroom we in fact used the high quality environmental materials to make it looked more warm, cozy, and functional.

The Hutong around our hotel is a quite lively and unique area where you can experience the very local and authentic Beijing way of living. It’s a little bit regretful that it was not the charming you expected. Hopefully you can thoroughly enjoy and have a fantastic time on your next Beijing visit.

Thank you again for your staying with us.

Michael’s House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Michael's House is a delightful little hotel, tucked away in one of the original hutongs (alleyways) where the real people live. A short walk to the end of the street and you are immersed in the culture.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like part of the family!
Great breakfast - cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, tea and coffee (available all day). Comfortable beds and fantastic water pressure in the shower.
Many thanks to all the girls on reception as nothing was too much trouble!
Thanks again Dede, for organising the tickets on the bullet train to Xian and entertaining us on various occasions with your cheeky sense of humour, it was a pleasure to meet you.
To our sweet Amy who stayed up waiting for our return from Xian late at night with coffee and her lovely smile - many thanks. We will miss you.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Michael's House and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent 5 days at Michaels Hotel and really enjoyed it. It's a friendly place in a fairly traditional area of Beijing so you will see something closer to "the real thing" than you would see in a city centre mega-hotel.
Our first impression was that it was rather dark: traditional rooms don't have much in the way of external windows but that must make them cool in the summer. We soon got used to it and the central courtyard is a pleasant place to sit and meet other guests.
The girls on reception were very helpful with information, booking trips, etc.
The in-room computer worked well, wi-fi was good in the central area. The tv was good quality though the satellite box took some working out!
The bed was really comfortable (we had the Emperor Room) and the bathroom, was clean and everything worked.
If you want lots of western-style restaurants nearby it might not be for you but we enjoyed the adventure of finding food locally including eating at street vendors stalls.
Our only disappointment was with our trip to The Wall where we felt that the guide was more concerned to get us to it and back to the hotel with the minimum of cost and inconvenience to her and the driver (and then asked for a tip at the end), however, whilst it was booked by Michael's, that was not their fault.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekandRuthAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for one Month, with a five year old child, and loved it!

small inn, a little boutique, with great staff. very personal. comfortable beds-not easy to find in China. the best part-lovely, comfortable, covered courtyard! like an extension of your living room. it's Really hard to find nice, clean, cozy hangouts in beijing. at this inn, you've got it everyday!

breakfast-western, filling. my husband would eat a hardy breakfast and not be hungry for lunch.
area around the inn-many street food and budget friendly, authentic, non touristy restaurant
options.

we mainly used public transportation. taxis-not hard to get just down the street. for tours/drivers-i would use the ones highly recommended by tripdvisor. the inn contacted China International Travel Service for us to visit the great wall. it took 30minutes of arguing with the driver and guide to convince them we re not, absolutely not, interested in "cultural tours" to comissioned shops
:(

The staff was very helpful and knowlegable. DeDe became a good friend for our daughter and made us feel at home. Michael went out of his way to help us find and enroll our daughter in a Kindergarden. This was a very personal, pleasant and comfortable stay.

For comfort, atmosphere, and price- Michael's house is #1!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chioual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#52 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#13 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#65 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,505 - ₹ 6,942
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing