We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms, Chic Decor and Fab Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #5 of 6,163 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms, Chic Decor and Fab Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I've stayed at the Opposite House twice now and both times have loved the room layout, lighting, free face masks and minibar, great breakfasts and helpful staff. The location is not great for a first timer to Beijing - it's about 30 mins by taxi from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, but if you are a returnee like me with friends to visit, Chaoyang is where you want to be. Uber chic and the Mesh Bar is great as well. We paid a corporate rate, which made it excellent value - well worth checking with your company.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    133
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
190
65
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I feel a bit guilty for only giving this place four stars. I wish there were a 4.5 option. First of all, the hotel is beautiful. Unique too. The room I was checked into was spotless, no signs of any wear or tear, and (best of all) there was no outside noise creeping in. The bed was perfect. I had a restful sleep for sure. The gym and swimming pool are small but nicely set up and the gym staff was helpful and friendly. The staff at check-in and around the 'living room' area were great too. But, here's where I had a problem... the door staff were completely oblivious to any of the guests around them. In fact, a couple of times as I walked in, they looked at me like I was disturbing the conversation they were all having at the front door. Now, this might have just been bad luck because as I said the rest of the hotel is gorgeous and if I am in Beijing again, I will definitely be staying at the Opposite House.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottleefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
326 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel is different than every other hotel in Beijing and by far is the best place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and light, the beds are comfortable and the complimentary mini bar is a plus. The service has been very good though sometimes you have to seek them out. The restaurants are excellent and the overall artistic feel is good. I like the area and the energy and it is close to everything. Having stayed at other Beijing hotels this is clearly the best in my opinion and worth a stay. In this case the opposite is better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you get tired or board with conventional hotels and luxury hotels rooms - this is the right place for you. Elegant ,clean , all wood floors and firnitures including wooden square bath tub. The 75 Sq.M. Studio is superb. The minibar is free. So is the WIFI. Service is great and the staff attitude is outstanding. Location is very good. It's like staying in the midst of Beijing Greenwich Village... Conclusion: Stay there if you can afford it !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Landing at Beijing Airport was an experience - I don't think we'd ever seen a larger airport before! After taxiing for about 25mins we arrived at our gate. Thankfully we had opted for the pick-up service from the hotel and were met at the gate and escorted through the cavernous arrivals hall, onto the train, through another gigantic hall and finally to our waiting Audi A6. A relatively short, smooth drive later we arrived at The Opposite House. We were greeted by several young and well-spoken staff that check us in on their i-pads as we relaxed on the reception area couches. After receiving a complimentary upgrade due to our American Express card, we declined a further upgrade and were shown to our room.

The room itself was large, about 70sqm, with an open plan bedroom, sitting area and bathroom separated by a glass partition/curtain. The extensive use of wood (including the bathtub, shower and sinks) was an interesting feature and the entire room felt very modern, spacious and only slightly like an advertisement for IKEA. Certainly not what we expected from a luxury hotel in Beijing - and that was a very pleasant surprise.

During our four day stay in Beijing we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel's amenities (indoor pool, gym and spa), as well as, the food at the restaurants downstairs and the fantastic breakfast selection. The staff were very polite and spoke English well. There was also one instance where they went above and beyond what could have been expected when we realized that we had left our camera charger at home. Not only did they locate a camera store and travel to it, they then found the camera store had run out of the required charger so they located a market place that sold the charger and went there and bought it for us. This was slightly marred by the laundry service which not only stained a new shirt but then failed to clean it on a follow-up attempt.

What we liked:
- The Room: Large, bright and modern with all the amenities one would expect and require.
- The Hotel: From its high quality facilities to the design of the hotel itself which provided a tranquil escape from the crowded streets and attractions of Beijing it truly was an oasis of peace & serenity.
- The Staff: Friendly, helpful and well spoken.
- The Food: Great selection and quality of food throughout the restaurants.
- The Wi-Fi: Quick and no extra charge. As it should be in every hotel.

What we didn't like:
- The price: It's not cheap and without the free upgrade it would probably only warrant 4/5 stars as the room would have been considerably smaller.
- The laundry service: As noted above, it was disappointing to have a shirt stained by the laundry service just before an important event. While we were reimbursed fully for both attempts to clean the shirt this really was the only smear on an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Overall, a great hotel and highly recommended. Make sure you book & pay with your American Express for the upgrade and it's a 5/5 experience all the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,163 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,163 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 6,163 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,163 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#160 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,987 - ₹ 25,948
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing