We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over in beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #20 of 6,158 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    208
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
312
52
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We loved our stay in Courtyard 7. The staff was very helpful. The location is convient, in a quite hutong, next to a busy area with many design shops and restaurants. The customers can use the hotel's bikes for free. The wifi connection was quite good.
The standard rooms are small but nice. It has two spacious courtyards, ideal for a quite rest enjoying the relaxing atmosphere and the Chinese-style decoration of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spent 4 nights at Courtyard 7 in Beijing, and I was very sad when we had to leave. The staff - quite young, English speeking guys from Beijing - were very courteous, helpful and provided excellent service! They booked our train tickets for us, and handed them over when we arrived in Beijing. They also helped us to book accomodation at the Great Wall. Both was very convenient, since we do not speak Chinese. Also nice: Bike rental is for free!
The location of Courtyard 7 is great! It is in the middle of a Hutong, and right next to a busy street with lots of small design, clothes and art craft shops and restaurants, so there is lots of entertainment in the evening. We have never been to Beijing before, so living in the middle of the Hutongs was a great experience for us.
The rooms at Courtyard 7 are lovely! Decorated and furnished in Chinese style, they are perfect for all travellers who want to experience the Chinese way of life and culture. They are not spacious, but cosy. Bathrooms are also small, but with beautiful tiles, best standard and very clean. The courtyard is very quite inside, and it feels as if you are outside of town, although you are right in the middle of a vibrant, busy quarter, known as one of Beijings hip areas. All in all, we were both completely satisfied by Courtyard 7 and can recommend it to anyone travelling to Beijing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pelodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I'm only sorry we spent just one night at this lovely small hotel. It was an enchanting way to cap off our trip. We booked the suite with private courtyard, and for the first time in two weeks I enjoyed complete and utter silence and stillness, something I desperately needed after two intense weeks of travel. Based on comments here, I prearranged a car through the hotel to meet us at the airport.

As others have noted, once you step over the threshold, you are in a different world, far removed from the frenetic energy that characterizes Beijing. Reception staff were lovely. Not up to the standards of the 5 star hotels, but that's not why you are staying in a quardrangle house in a hutong, is it?! We were led through a series of well kept courtyards to our room though I found some of the patio furniture a bit worn and cheap looking. Our suite, however, was wonderful, with a large bed and a small day bed a desk, and a few chairs with yellow silk pillows. Very soothing and the cool floor underfoot felt great on a hot day. Bathroom was fully stocked with all amenities, though I was annoyed that the shower gel and shampoo containers were only half full. Small quibble but please refill the containers!

Dinner was a bit haphazard; the restuarnt seems to be an afterthought. There was just one other couple dining when we arrived. Service was incredibly slow. Food was very tasty; we had some spicy beef, some fried rice, and a shrimp dish. The waitress asked if we wanted one, which we took to mean one order. Instead we were presented with one (very delicious) shrimp. We would have ordered several more but she disappeared. Still, we were not in a rush and it was nice to sit and relax. We arrived at breakfast the next morning to find the buffet sadly picked over by a group who were getting ready to depart. It was not replenished. There was an omelet/egg station in addition to the cold buffet. While it was not lavish, it was adequate.

While this is definitely not a five star hotel, it is a lovely alternative to the large hotels. The atmosphere couldn't be replicated by a large hotel, and honestly, it was nice to be left alone. We traveled with our 8-year-old. She loved it as well, and said it was one of her two favorites on the trip. (The other being the Shangri-la in Guilin).

WiFi was skittish during our stay, which was not a disaster for us, but could be a problem for anyone who needs to do business. We had to rely on the data service on our iPhones.

Still, the experience cannot be replicated and this is a very special place. A few housekeeping/maintenance issues, and a slightly more enthusiastic restaurant staff, and I would give Courtyard 7 five stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is a real jem for anyone who wants to experience Beijing with a Chinese flavour. It is a charming small hotel set in the hutong and in an old courtyard dwelling. Once you step over the threshold, the courtyards within courtyards makes you feel that you are slipping back in time and you can imagine the lives once lived, the servants, the master his wife and concubines and the children playing safely within the walls. Surprisingly it is quiet despite being set in the middle of a bustling area of small shops. Nearby are popular little restaurants where the menus have English translations. It feels safe yet there are few Europeans about. Traffic is banned here so people throng the small streets and narrow lanes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,158 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,158 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#69 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,626 - ₹ 10,616
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing