We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #1,601 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient, good value for the location”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Room with window is clean and nice. Good value for money.

10 min walk to subway / 5 min to Wangfujing night market.

The only negative was the reception, it takes nearly one hour for checkin and same for checkout. I think the organisation is terrible.

I would not stay again in this area, but if you have to, this motel is the place to stay

Room Tip: Take a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    93
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
11
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Motel 268 is located in Wangfujing, Wangfujing is known for its night market - with lots of places to eat (Hawker style) and places to shop. If you're not a adventurous eater, there's a mall infront of it, that has western restaurant (ex. mc donalds) and other asian fusion restaurants.

The hotel has friendly front desk associates, they don't speak english very well, but they will try their best to have a conversation with you

There's a elevator going to your floors

Please note that even you have requested for a non-smoking floor, please expect that there are some local guest who really can't help but to smoke, but the room that we went into so far doesn't have a "smoke odor". The room is good enough for 3 luggage, the Double Budget room doesn't have a dresser/ cabinet to store the clothes, but they have 3-4 hangers.

I traveled with my friends and the bathroom lacks privacy, I suggest you bring a "scotch tape" to cover certain areas with large papers (if you can bring, around 6 pcs of A3 sized papers), the shower feature is a handheld shower, and a rainshower - with hot and cold water as well.

The bathroom is complete with shampoo, foam bath, soap and toothbrush and toothpaste, they also change towels everyday.

There's a cable tv (but doesn't have english channels) internet is free but its LAN cable, if you have a laptop then you'll be able to access the internet

They don't have safety deposit box inside the room

Their 1 big bed can fit 3 small built body frame, and the double budget room can't fit a extra bed.

Before you travel, be sure to print out a map of the hotel, the address stated in the voucher (just in case you're booking it online) were not understood by the taxi driver from the airport

I suggest that you buy a english map, there's a nearest bookstore in the area. it will be help to transfer to different stations if you're riding their metro railway

Remember to get a calling card of the hotel and put it in your wallet, just in case you're lost and will ride a taxi, it will be very helpful

If you're going back to the Airport, the hotel will not help you find a taxi, you have to get a taxi by yourself

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The motel is very convenient for backpackers. It's a 5-minute walk to the MRT, and has a convenience store and a food stall on the way there, for those days where you just get up and go. The staff is friendly enough and knows enough English for basic assistance. The hot water and temperature control are very reliable. I stayed there when the temperature still drops to 0 so these were necessary amenities.

There are a few major flaws though. For one, the door to the bathroom has a transparent area, making it very inconvenient to do your business if you're staying with a fellow backpacker. Of course, being see-through is intentional since it's really a motel, but I'm reviewing this as a backpacker

Another flaw is the bathroom itself. I put the shower on full blast and the shower head (a large one, mind you) rocketed down on me. Then the drain clogged and the water didn't drain and spilled over the entire bathroom floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A terrible place. At first despite booking a double, non smoking room, we got a twin bed room reeking of sigaretes. We asked for a different room and received a double room, smelling like mold, but decided to settle for this. Spent one night there, couldn't sleep because the bed was literally rock hard. Went again to ask for a different room and this time got a slightly better, brighter one, the bed was still terribly hard though. in the process of looking for a better room I saw about 5 different ones, all pretty similar.
The staff spoke some English and tried to answer our requests, but were not very understanding or sympathetic.

Downsides of the place:
Dark smelly rooms, few dim lightbolbs
Dirty bathrooms with black mold everywhere.
Poor laundry service with "cold wind" dryer that is good as nothing.
Sigaretes smoke everywhere (lobby, elevator, etc)
Upsides:
None, but close proximity to the forbidden palace, which is totally not worth it because of cheap taxi fares and frequent subway service.

Hard rock beds
Laundry service with "cold wind" dryer that takes 6+ hours to dry a few clothes, during which time you need to stick around to restart the machine every couple of hours
Sigaretes smoke everywhere (lobby, elevators, etc)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBlackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beppu, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Although the hotel is conveniently located in the Wangfujin area, it was too dirty for my taste and I ended up changing hotels.
If you just want a simple bed to sleep in, then perhaps this hotel will satisfy. The room is simple and clean enough.
Pros: Location, price, English-speaking staff, room/bed size and amenities are satisfactory.
Cons: they don't have twin bedrooms (only queen/king), walls are too thin (I could hear every time the person next to me and above me used the toilet), no privacy in the shower (glass wall between the bedroom) and it was VERY dirty.
Also, the lobby computer was not working so there was no way for guests to use the internet, etc. I waited about 30min. while other Chinese guests seemed to struggle with the computer, not realizing that there was something actually wrong with the machine. It would have been nice if the staff had told me this initially, instead of letting me stand at the front desk the whole time waiting for my turn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emiko73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tianrui Beijing
Tianrui Beijing
#1,831 of 6,473 in Beijing
79 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Zhotels Wangfujing Beijing
Zhotels Wangfujing Beijing
#3,452 of 6,473 in Beijing
52 reviews
Yuyang Hotel (Pinggu)
#992 of 6,473 in Beijing
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jingyuan Courtyard Hotel
Jingyuan Courtyard Hotel
#398 of 6,473 in Beijing
24 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
#1,803 of 6,473 in Beijing
40 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing

Property: Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing
Address: No.19 Jinyu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,601 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,104 - ₹ 4,201
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 268 (Beijing Wangfujing) Hotel Beijing
Hotel 268 Beijing Wangfujing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing