We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 268 Beijing Wangfujing
Nearby Hotels
US$ 240
US$ 191
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 191
US$ 141
Park Plaza
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 172
US$ 158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 237
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 273
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 171
US$ 121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 216
US$ 193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 137
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
28
94
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
94
34
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Motel 268 is located in Wangfujing, Wangfujing is known for its night market - with lots of places to eat (Hawker style) and places to shop. If you're not a adventurous eater, there's a mall infront of it, that has western restaurant (ex. mc donalds) and other asian fusion restaurants.

The hotel has friendly front desk associates, they don't speak english very well, but they will try their best to have a conversation with you

There's a elevator going to your floors

Please note that even you have requested for a non-smoking floor, please expect that there are some local guest who really can't help but to smoke, but the room that we went into so far doesn't have a "smoke odor". The room is good enough for 3 luggage, the Double Budget room doesn't have a dresser/ cabinet to store the clothes, but they have 3-4 hangers.

I traveled with my friends and the bathroom lacks privacy, I suggest you bring a "scotch tape" to cover certain areas with large papers (if you can bring, around 6 pcs of A3 sized papers), the shower feature is a handheld shower, and a rainshower - with hot and cold water as well.

The bathroom is complete with shampoo, foam bath, soap and toothbrush and toothpaste, they also change towels everyday.

There's a cable tv (but doesn't have english channels) internet is free but its LAN cable, if you have a laptop then you'll be able to access the internet

They don't have safety deposit box inside the room

Their 1 big bed can fit 3 small built body frame, and the double budget room can't fit a extra bed.

Before you travel, be sure to print out a map of the hotel, the address stated in the voucher (just in case you're booking it online) were not understood by the taxi driver from the airport

I suggest that you buy a english map, there's a nearest bookstore in the area. it will be help to transfer to different stations if you're riding their metro railway

Remember to get a calling card of the hotel and put it in your wallet, just in case you're lost and will ride a taxi, it will be very helpful

If you're going back to the Airport, the hotel will not help you find a taxi, you have to get a taxi by yourself

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The motel is very convenient for backpackers. It's a 5-minute walk to the MRT, and has a convenience store and a food stall on the way there, for those days where you just get up and go. The staff is friendly enough and knows enough English for basic assistance. The hot water and temperature control are very reliable. I stayed there when the temperature still drops to 0 so these were necessary amenities.

There are a few major flaws though. For one, the door to the bathroom has a transparent area, making it very inconvenient to do your business if you're staying with a fellow backpacker. Of course, being see-through is intentional since it's really a motel, but I'm reviewing this as a backpacker

Another flaw is the bathroom itself. I put the shower on full blast and the shower head (a large one, mind you) rocketed down on me. Then the drain clogged and the water didn't drain and spilled over the entire bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A terrible place. At first despite booking a double, non smoking room, we got a twin bed room reeking of sigaretes. We asked for a different room and received a double room, smelling like mold, but decided to settle for this. Spent one night there, couldn't sleep because the bed was literally rock hard. Went again to ask for a different room and this time got a slightly better, brighter one, the bed was still terribly hard though. in the process of looking for a better room I saw about 5 different ones, all pretty similar.
The staff spoke some English and tried to answer our requests, but were not very understanding or sympathetic.

Downsides of the place:
Dark smelly rooms, few dim lightbolbs
Dirty bathrooms with black mold everywhere.
Poor laundry service with "cold wind" dryer that is good as nothing.
Sigaretes smoke everywhere (lobby, elevator, etc)
Upsides:
None, but close proximity to the forbidden palace, which is totally not worth it because of cheap taxi fares and frequent subway service.

Hard rock beds
Laundry service with "cold wind" dryer that takes 6+ hours to dry a few clothes, during which time you need to stick around to restart the machine every couple of hours
Sigaretes smoke everywhere (lobby, elevators, etc)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBlackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Although the hotel is conveniently located in the Wangfujin area, it was too dirty for my taste and I ended up changing hotels.
If you just want a simple bed to sleep in, then perhaps this hotel will satisfy. The room is simple and clean enough.
Pros: Location, price, English-speaking staff, room/bed size and amenities are satisfactory.
Cons: they don't have twin bedrooms (only queen/king), walls are too thin (I could hear every time the person next to me and above me used the toilet), no privacy in the shower (glass wall between the bedroom) and it was VERY dirty.
Also, the lobby computer was not working so there was no way for guests to use the internet, etc. I waited about 30min. while other Chinese guests seemed to struggle with the computer, not realizing that there was something actually wrong with the machine. It would have been nice if the staff had told me this initially, instead of letting me stand at the front desk the whole time waiting for my turn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emiko73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I just spent 5 days staying at model 268 and found it good overall.

Pros: Close to food street where you can eat cheaply around 10-15y, I gave the scorpian, sheeps penis and beetles a miss but the soup and noodles were awesome. Close to subway, main street and tiammen square and forbidden city. If you want a good coffee and pastry/bread turn right out of hotel right again at lotte department store past church then cross road and go right at crowne plaza, before mcdonalds you will see a bakery. They dont speak english but you can get by.

Staff at hotel dont speak great English but they do try and be helpful.
I didnt have any problems with the aircon but the toilet did get blocked a few times.
You can book tours and flights from the hotel and they know enough english to understand most requests, they are very nice and helpful.

Cons: They tried to hit me with a very large deposit but when I objected they reduced it to just over 200y. You do have to be firm with them.
Kids playing games on lobby internet all day,in the end I asked the staff to get them off so that I could check my emails.

You can buy a membership card for 50y which will give you free breakfast every day 7am-9am. The card also gives you 10% off flights booked. The western breakfast is not great and I ended up buying my own bread as if you dont get there by 7.30 there was none left and it is not refilled but if you like an Asian breakfast then it is fine.

All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sainter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews