We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
3
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Nanshan is only an hour from Beijing, which is great for a short trip. The lifts and facilities are all new, and organized. Priced well with options to only hit the slopes for and hour or two if like me it is something you are doing before a flight back home, Not too much elevation, but nice terrain Parks and variety for a short bucket list day.

I had a great time, and where else can you get noodles for lunch?

Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank azisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've been here two times now. The first time was on spring festival and it was great because hardly no people were here. The second time was on a normal Saturday and it was not so god anymore. We had lots waiting time: for the parking space, the tickets, the equipment and always for the lifts. The slopes itself are okay, but just too short for all this waiting time. The good thing is really the short way from Beijing...but if u want to really go skiing, you better accept a little longer way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have been to ski resorts in USA & Australia and this is a pretty decent resort. The ski attire & equipment for rent are very well maintained & clean. We spent 2 days on the slopes in mid Dec when it was just before the peak season (from Christmas). Not all of the slopes were open, but the machines that made the artificial snow was powerful enough to cover 3 major sections. Well suited for beginners, and especially children as the ski instructors are friendly, good with children, and effective. My boys aged 8 & 12 had never tried skiing before, mastered it in the 2 hours lesson. Good enough for them to go on their own up the ski lifts. My older one took on another lesson, snowboarding & was apt in it by the end of the 2 hour lesson. Ski pass, attire & equipment rental was 135yuen, very value for money. There were group ski lessons, but we took the private option at 250yuen. There are a handful of shops with well established brands such as North Face, as well as F&B outlets. The Mongolian lamb skewers at 3yuen was absolutely yummy as they are grilled upon purchase. A bowl of hot noodles with soup is at 25yuen. We stayed overnight in the resort, which was clean, comfortable, and new. Heating was good. Hot bath water is limited to a 40L tank (possibly sufficient for 2 persons), but it was not a problem as the tank heated the water up again to 40L in about 15 mins. Accommodation is about 500yuen. Getting from Beijing to the resort is easy; choose either the resort's private car at 400yuen or take a 1hr bus ride from Beijing at 14yuen per pax.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank VivienAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

NanShan. I learned to ski here 7 years ago. It is a nice little ski area, emphasis on little.

We just went again a couple of days ago. We live in Northeastern Beijing so it is convenient. Normally, if we really want to ski we will drive 2 1/2 hours North west up to ChongLi in HeBei province as the skiing is much better there.

In NanShan it is probably 100% man made snow this year. The runs are mostly beginner trails, with 3 intermediate (any where else they would still be beginner) and one 'Black' trail.
We tried the Black and it was a mess of ice, once was enough. The blue trails can be fun but there are a lot of people.
Instead I spent the whole day on the mogul run which is quite good and challenging.

Nanshan has a nice park and is popular with boarders and snowblade skiiers.

All, in all if you just want a day out and can't be bothered with driving 2-3 hours, NanShan is good fun close to Beijing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

As with most china ski resorts, the mountain is designed primarily for beginner and beginning intermediate skiiers. Other than the one advance run, all trails are fairly short and lift chairs rather slow. Skiers and snowboarders who are daring and advanced enough may may enjoy the small terrain park and practice jumps. There is also a short half pipe. Overall, the variety offered for both skiers and boarders is neat. However, as an intermediate skier, I'd prefer a mountain focused advance beginners and intermediates instead of a little of everything (the mountain claims to have three intermediate runs but the none of them are true intermediate courses, more advanced beginner). There are also intermediate and beginner mogul courses which is pretty neat.

Biggest plus is convenience. resort offers ski shuttle to and from beijing city for 35kaui. runs at 8:30am and returns varies times from 4:30pm - 5:30pm.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Beijing_Realist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews