We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,570)
Filter reviews
3,570 results
Traveller rating
2,160
978
283
89
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,160
978
283
89
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fun pool smugglers cove infinity pool animation team lookout bar italian restaurant jt safaris beach boys captains table superior sea view day safari cruise ship ship theme snack bar main restaurant lobster all inclusive package
Filter
Updating list...
2,863 - 2,868 of 3,570 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Just got back from our stay at the Voyager Hotel, Nyali Beach, Mombasa. We had the most wonderful holiday. The staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
We did our safari with JT Safaris, we negotiated a price with him to suit our budget . Mike our driver was excellent, very knowledgeable and a jolly good driver. Julius kept in touch, met us after our safari to ensure we had enjoyed it - we most certainly did , and presented us with a gift of wooden carvings. We will most certainly book with him again.
Our visit to the engaging children of the Kikambala orphanage,
the lunch time cruise around the bay on The Tamarind Dow, feeding the giraffes at Heller Park and even discussing life in Kenya with the beach boys helped make this one of the most memorable holidays we have had.

1  Thank cleokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The staff work extremely hard to make your holiday special and make you feel so welcomed. It's really easy to make friends with the other guests (mainly Brits) as the atmosphere is so friendly and relaxed. The Animation team organise great games and activities for all age ranges - but if you just want to chill there's also plenty of areas for peace and quiet.
Your holiday rep will probably warn you not to book excursions with the beach boys who work outside the hotel but this is mainly to scare you into paying twice the price for excursions booked with the reps (who are on commission). We booked a brilliant day out to Wasini island with Cliff who is an 'official' beach boy - you can tell these as they wear named shirts. We enjoyed a boat trip accompanied by dolphins out to the coral reef for snorkelling followed by one of the best fresh fish lunches I've ever eaten at Charlie Claw's restaurant at Wasini.
We also booked two different boat trips with Emmanuel (tall guy, wears a baseball cap) who took us out with 'Captain Sinbad' in a boat made from a mango tree for fantastic snorkelling and exploring the sandbank in the sea out from the hotel (which is covered in starfish). We had such a lot of fun and the guys really look after you and make sure you enjoy your trips.
Following all the good reviews we'd read about Julius we booked our safari with him and had the most amazing time [--]. Our guide, Abdullah, made sure we spotted all the big 5 plus every possible wildlife you could ask for. Our teenage kids were equally excited about every elephant, giraffe, baboon etc. we saw - a truely memorable experience to share with them.
So don't worry about booking your trips on your holiday with the local guys - they work really hard to earn a living and are really keen for you to recommend them. Even the hotel cab drivers will happily negotiate a price for a personal tour of Mombasa. The only people I heard of being ripped off were a young couple in front of us at the check-in desk at Mombasa who had paid their holiday rep for an upgrade on their seats home, only for this not to have been booked. The check-in attendant explained that this was a frequent 'perk' that was being pocketed by reps.
This was one of the best holidays we've ever had. Try and upgrade your room at the Voyager to a sea view as to wake up to such a stunning view has got to be the best start to any day!
Kate. London

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jambo103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed at voyager for last 2 weeks of July, lovely hotel, plenty of grounds and you can either do nothing or be active but are not constantly bothered by animation team if you choose to do nothing. There are 3 pools and its the first hotel Ive stayed in that actually has a pool purely for those who want to swim lengths.
The food is very good , and often cooked fresh in front of you,but does get a bit repetative , however the italian and sea food restaurant are both excellent alternatives although the italian gets booked up well in advance so book early.
We went on safari to masai mara with JT safaris (www.julius-safaris.com),cannot recommend him highly enough, we paid at least US$150 per head LESS than the identical trips organised by the big tour companies. We didnt pay julius until we returned from the trip and he kept in touch to make sure we were having a good time. He also organised us a trip to mombasa and Haller park for a total of £35 for 3 of us, with our own personal guide, the big tour companies were charging US$105 per person.
We are planning to go back next summer and will certainly use JT sfaris again- there is no better!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Booked with thomson fly for 2 weeks. A nice relaxing holiday for families and couples, of all ages. They have 3 swimming pools on different levels, 3 restaurants, with a good variety of food. My favourite thou was the italian restaurant, the steak was awesome, which you have to book with reception 24 hrs before to reserve a table. The people can't do enough for you, so polite and welcoming, and even thou i had no young children, they are more than accomodating on getting the children involved in activities, so you can relax yourself. The beach however was very quiet, the locals on the beach are persistant on trying to sell you things, because they are a third world country, any clothing, shoes,soaps, and pencils (for there kids) are deeply apreciated, which a few couples who we meet contributed to there needs. While at our stay here and looking at the reviews, we meet with JT Safaris just outside the gates of the hotel. There was 6 of us, who booked with him in one vehicle, with a small deposit and we did Tsavo East National Park for 2 days (which was more than enough) staying at the Aruba Lodge (awesome food and value for money) which they don't stop until you have seen what you came to see (but do tell him, what you require, and want to see as some animals are not in the east).
Overall pleasant place to visit, with plenty of trips to choice from, but do your research on the prices, the only negative, was having to take malaria tablets which are not nice

1  Thank mini48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We Stayed at Voyager in July 14-28. And the place lived up to all the good reviews we had read. The Staff cant seem to do enough for you and the Animation team realy seem to enjoy keeping the guests entertained.

We booked a Safari through Julius at JT safaris which was also outstanding. You can get Julius phone number from the reception in the hotel and he will come and pick you up and take you to his nearby office to discuss your Safari needs.

Back to the Voyager It was the best holiday we have been on and we are trying to get back as soon as we can afford it. My 13 year old son loved it and was entertained all the time by the animation team with beech football, vollyball, table tennis etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paullikessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews