We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but more for familes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We visitied this hotel on 11 July for 2 weeks. We arrived on a Saturday night and couldn't belive how near our room was to the disco! We did ask to be moved which the staff did in the morning. You can hear the music until 11 in a large part of the hotel, however the animation team do put a lot of effort into the entertainment and there is something different every night. The staff are always friendly and helpful and we were spoilt for choice with food, the desserts are amazing! We have not done an all inclusive holiday before and we did start to feel a bit restricted having to stay at the hotel. We did however head into Mombasa to visit Fort Jesus, the market and the old town. There are also other places to visit, Haller Park (we walked from the hotel) and Akamba (where they make all the wood carvings) were v.special.

Personally I think is better for families or groups and if you are a bit more adventurous it is a bit restrictive.

We did a 3 day/2 night safari to the Masai Mara and this was the highlight of our trip. I contacted Julius from JT safaris before we went away and he organised the most amazing trip. We stayed at the Fig Tree camp and in tents with furniture, colonial style. Some of the vehicles were mini buses, however we were in a 4x4 jeep that had lots of space and very comfy seats, we were very lucky. It rained very heavily on one drive but we all had so much fun sliding aroung in the jeep in the mud! When we got back to Mombasa we were taken to Julius office and he kindly gave me some wooden carvings for my family.

The Voyager is a very well run hotel and the staff work extremely hard to please. You do need to get up early though to get a pool bed, I've never seen so many pool beds taken so early!! The windsurfing, sailing and kayaking is all good fun.

It rained a lot on our hol, however we still had a great time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adventurer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,008)
There are newer reviews for Voyager Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,357 - 2,361 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

Just got back from our stay at the Voyager Hotel, Nyali Beach, Mombasa. We had the most wonderful holiday. The staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
We did our safari with JT Safaris, we negotiated a price with him to suit our budget . Mike our driver was excellent, very knowledgeable and a jolly good driver. Julius kept in touch, met us after our safari to ensure we had enjoyed it - we most certainly did , and presented us with a gift of wooden carvings. We will most certainly book with him again.
Our visit to the engaging children of the Kikambala orphanage,
the lunch time cruise around the bay on The Tamarind Dow, feeding the giraffes at Heller Park and even discussing life in Kenya with the beach boys helped make this one of the most memorable holidays we have had.

1  Thank cleokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The staff work extremely hard to make your holiday special and make you feel so welcomed. It's really easy to make friends with the other guests (mainly Brits) as the atmosphere is so friendly and relaxed. The Animation team organise great games and activities for all age ranges - but if you just want to chill there's also plenty of areas for peace and quiet.
Your holiday rep will probably warn you not to book excursions with the beach boys who work outside the hotel but this is mainly to scare you into paying twice the price for excursions booked with the reps (who are on commission). We booked a brilliant day out to Wasini island with Cliff who is an 'official' beach boy - you can tell these as they wear named shirts. We enjoyed a boat trip accompanied by dolphins out to the coral reef for snorkelling followed by one of the best fresh fish lunches I've ever eaten at Charlie Claw's restaurant at Wasini.
We also booked two different boat trips with Emmanuel (tall guy, wears a baseball cap) who took us out with 'Captain Sinbad' in a boat made from a mango tree for fantastic snorkelling and exploring the sandbank in the sea out from the hotel (which is covered in starfish). We had such a lot of fun and the guys really look after you and make sure you enjoy your trips.
Following all the good reviews we'd read about Julius we booked our safari with him and had the most amazing time [--]. Our guide, Abdullah, made sure we spotted all the big 5 plus every possible wildlife you could ask for. Our teenage kids were equally excited about every elephant, giraffe, baboon etc. we saw - a truely memorable experience to share with them.
So don't worry about booking your trips on your holiday with the local guys - they work really hard to earn a living and are really keen for you to recommend them. Even the hotel cab drivers will happily negotiate a price for a personal tour of Mombasa. The only people I heard of being ripped off were a young couple in front of us at the check-in desk at Mombasa who had paid their holiday rep for an upgrade on their seats home, only for this not to have been booked. The check-in attendant explained that this was a frequent 'perk' that was being pocketed by reps.
This was one of the best holidays we've ever had. Try and upgrade your room at the Voyager to a sea view as to wake up to such a stunning view has got to be the best start to any day!
Kate. London

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jambo103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed at voyager for last 2 weeks of July, lovely hotel, plenty of grounds and you can either do nothing or be active but are not constantly bothered by animation team if you choose to do nothing. There are 3 pools and its the first hotel Ive stayed in that actually has a pool purely for those who want to swim lengths.
The food is very good , and often cooked fresh in front of you,but does get a bit repetative , however the italian and sea food restaurant are both excellent alternatives although the italian gets booked up well in advance so book early.
We went on safari to masai mara with JT safaris (www.julius-safaris.com),cannot recommend him highly enough, we paid at least US$150 per head LESS than the identical trips organised by the big tour companies. We didnt pay julius until we returned from the trip and he kept in touch to make sure we were having a good time. He also organised us a trip to mombasa and Haller park for a total of £35 for 3 of us, with our own personal guide, the big tour companies were charging US$105 per person.
We are planning to go back next summer and will certainly use JT sfaris again- there is no better!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Booked with thomson fly for 2 weeks. A nice relaxing holiday for families and couples, of all ages. They have 3 swimming pools on different levels, 3 restaurants, with a good variety of food. My favourite thou was the italian restaurant, the steak was awesome, which you have to book with reception 24 hrs before to reserve a table. The people can't do enough for you, so polite and welcoming, and even thou i had no young children, they are more than accomodating on getting the children involved in activities, so you can relax yourself. The beach however was very quiet, the locals on the beach are persistant on trying to sell you things, because they are a third world country, any clothing, shoes,soaps, and pencils (for there kids) are deeply apreciated, which a few couples who we meet contributed to there needs. While at our stay here and looking at the reviews, we meet with JT Safaris just outside the gates of the hotel. There was 6 of us, who booked with him in one vehicle, with a small deposit and we did Tsavo East National Park for 2 days (which was more than enough) staying at the Aruba Lodge (awesome food and value for money) which they don't stop until you have seen what you came to see (but do tell him, what you require, and want to see as some animals are not in the east).
Overall pleasant place to visit, with plenty of trips to choice from, but do your research on the prices, the only negative, was having to take malaria tablets which are not nice

1  Thank mini48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
5.4 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
983 reviews
6.0 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
552 reviews
7.9 km away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
128 reviews
1.8 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: ₹ 7,581 - ₹ 19,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing