We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Consett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just returned from our holiday on the 7th April after a two week stay at the Voyager beach resort. Our room was clean and tidy, and overlooked the gardens near to the main restaurant. We had maid service everyday, with fresh towels (sometimes twice a day). The staff could not do enough for you. Fantastic pool side staff, especially Margaret, she was always there with a smile and a refreshing drink whenever you needed it. Animation team were great and worked their socks off both through the day and on a night, putting on the shows. Food was amazing with lots of choice from pasta - toasted sandwiches, and plenty of fresh fruit to finish it off. My eldest son celebrated his 17th birthday while there and the hotel even sorted out a cake for him. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consett22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    823
    238
    85
    50
See reviews for
783
1,366
77
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed here last year and have nothing but admiration for all the staff at this hotel, the food was plentiful, gorgeous and plenty of choice for everybody every single day, different port every day meant a different cuisine. Rooms were kept spotlessly clean, the grounds were immaculately kept, Merci our First Choice rep was amazing, she arranged everything for us and she is such a lovely person, if you get the chance, visit Cannan orphanage, this is a tiny place in Bombalulu about 10 mins from the hotel, this place gets no funding from the Kenya government and only survive on your donations.(not money) the govenment will take it from them, food, clothes bedding anything that can be useful to the orphaned children they take care of.
The beach boys are a pain but if you get to know a chap called Bob the builder he will look after you and stop you from being bothered by beach vendors when they get on your nerves, all he asks in return is food and water for the day and a couple of Dollars if you have it but food and water are most important to him.
We went on a 4 day safari arranged with First choice, all I can say is WOW AMAZING, quite breath taking and well worth every penny.
Hala park was fantastic, you get a personal guide with a wealth of knowledge, well worth the trip, there is a trip to the village where disabled live and work, they do a lot of amazing craft work which you can watch them make and buy, be warned you will be screwed out of a lot of money, be careful avoid if you can.
Over all this is a beautiful hotel with amazing friendly people and I will definately be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Visit Cannan Orphanage, you will do a lot of good for the children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryllesCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coatbridge, glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Where do i start, this is a little piece of heaven. We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of september for our wedding and honeymoon.

Our room was a superior garden room, kingsize bed, and was nice and clean.

The food in the hotel was good there was plenty of choice. Loved the pancakes in the morning for breakfast, and fresh pasta for dinner.

The staff were all so lovely and friendly, they couldnt do enough for you. I would love to mention Margaret who organised our wedding, James at the look out bar for our wedding day cocktails and tatu you were a star :)

The wedding day totally exceeded our expectations, it was perfect, we had private dining in a marquee all lit up with lights. Just beautiful.

I cannot wait to get back to the voyager, i know it will be under renovation soon, i seen a sample room whilst there and it was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaza85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary as we had married at the hotel in March 2007.

I agree with a lot of the reviews posted, that, the rooms are tired looking however, the maintenance team are working on this and we saw several rooms being redecorated whilst we were there. The seaview rooms were especially in need of some tender loving care but the view you get from the room is fantastic. Nothing beats waking up in the morning and hearing and seeing the ocean from your window.

As before, you cannot fault the staff, always happy, pleasant and will go out of their way for you. So many made our holiday that bit special so thank you all for that. That's why people like me and my husband go back. A holiday is not enjoyable if the staff are miserable and Voyager staff are at the complete opposite end of the scale in this respect. They are so happy and put us moaney Brits to shame!

The food has improved from previous years, it was nice before but better this time round. Plenty to eat and varied menu, however, the 'docking' theme is not quite there. I think when we landed in China, there was only a couple of authentic dishes there. We did suggest to the captain that they needed to dock in the UK as well, nothing beats good old fashioned, fish, chips and mushy peas. Kebab and chips would be nice too! Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking the food. It was all well cooked and tasty. We went to both the Italian and the Seafood as well and both were fantastic. We were also lucky to get a seat at the captain's table - If you get that opportunity you must take it as it is a fantastic evening.

Pools as normal were clean with plenty of loungers. If you want peace and quiet stick with the infinity pool. Otherwise there was plenty of activity at the other pool.

Beach boys are not a problem - a polite no thank you will suffice. If you tell them you will look another day, they will remember and will hassle you then. As far as they are concerned your word is your bond! Take bits and pieces to exchange for items and make sure you barter.

We also visited the Crocodile Park and Haller Park. We walked to the Crocodile Park and got a taxi to Haller Park but take care of how much they try to charge for the taxi. It can be ridiculously expensive and its not much further than the supermarket. Both parks are worth a visit.You need to make sure you take 'tip' money as you will have an escort round both. The staff at both parks are very knowledgable.

Make sure you do visit the supermarket, even just to window shop. The centre puts us to shame. You can walk but you might want to try the squeeze up bus (great experience and only about 20 shillings) or the little 3 wheeler vehicles they use (you need to barter the price).

Other than that, Voyager Beach - See you next year!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms have a fantastic view but a bit tired looking - take care you do not get a garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannypanny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our first time at this resort and highly recommend it. We stayed here for 3 weeks in March 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The resort was very pretty and well maintained. Our room was near the look out bar and we had a lovely view over the Indian Ocean. The room we felt was a little bit tired but was kept very clean. Margaret was an excellent pool bar waitress who was always very happy and knew what you wanted at all times. We also fell in love with John who was a gardener who greeted us everytime we saw him and thoroughly enjoyed communicating with us through sign language as he was deaf and dumb and made me on mothers day a beautiful floral display. Loved our stay there and would return.

Room Tip: superior garden rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
6.0 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
5.5 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
5.5 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.8 km away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.7 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,861 - ₹ 14,673
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing