We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a stunning location”

Review of Clamkara House

Spectacular 16mtr pool overlooking Indian Ocean with waterfall to right and Cottage in palm trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular 16mtr pool overlooking Indian Ocean with waterfall to right and Cottage in palm trees
Dining on terrace overlooking pool and Indian Ocean Pool and sitting area Clamkara House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Spectacular 16mtr pool overlooking Indian Ocean with waterfall to right and Cottage in palm trees
Dining on terrace overlooking pool and Indian Ocean
Pool and sitting area Clamkara House
Our pool showing waterfall in background, Indian Ocean to left, Main house to right
Terrace by the side of Clamkara House
Large family kitchen Top House
Double bedroom en suite with AC
En suite for Double bedroom, showing shower to right and loo through the archway
Double bedroom No 2 with AC en suite
Ensuite bathroom for Double bedroom no 2
Our pool with breakfast rondavel to left
Top House from drive
Afternoon siesta!
Sitting room overlooking the pool and Indian Ocean
Al fresco dining on terrace, sitting room to left and Indian Ocean to right
Breakfast area under makuti rondavel overlooking the pool
Pool from steps leading down from Main House, Indian Ocean in background
Hard tennis court with pavilion, set in amongst the tropical gardens
Tennis court surrounded by beautiful flambouyant trees
Fish brought in to our inner beach, a daily occurence when anyone is in residence
Arabic front door
Massage Lamu bed on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SusieQ201...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a great time at the house and used the fantastic pool endlessly. It is a spectacular place with lots of space.The house is beautifully decorated. Great tennis court and gardens.The staff were very helpful and friendly. Security is well covered and we felt safe.
A short drive to Kilifi for provisions so a car is essential. Overall a lovely place to unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: master bed too small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely property in a very private location”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Being a large family of 9 people from young kids to (lesser!) young grand parents, we enjoyed holidays at Clamkara during a couple of weeks in the month of August - thus, winter time there. We have all been delighted by our stay. Unique location on a very isolated and quiet beach, beautiful views on the sea from the whole property, two houses (one master house and one beach house) with different atmospheres to satisfy everyone, nice facilities with the tennis court and the swimming pool, and last but not least a great staff to take care of you!

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alizasomj...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most beautiful villa I have stayed at!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at this magical place during my sister's wedding and what a treat it was for us! The villa, the beach house, the grounds, infinity pool and beach are simply stunning and the staff who looked after us made our stay so comfortable and we felt thoroughly spoilt. Will definitely be visiting again when I return to Mombasa! I cannot fault anything about this place from the rooms to the pool, beach and staff. The views from the house are spectacular! It is definitely a place to relax and unwind and is so peaceful. It gave us much needed relaxation time in between all the wedding events and we would love to visit again when we can make more use of the place including the tennis court!

Be aware as advertised you will need a car to get to the villa and it is a fair drive to Mombasa town itself if you want to take in the sights. However if it is sun, sea and relaxation you want this is the perfect place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the pool, the ambience!
Liked least: nothing, it was amazing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena P
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, very private, excellent staff and extremely comfortable.”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Clamkara house is beautiful - airy, spacious, filled with all mod cons such as air-conditioning, and extremely comfortable. Lovely swimming pool with a waterfall cascading into it, and a tennis court that has just been installed. The beach is lovely, and very quiet - with no beach boys to hassle one (unlike lots of other places we visited). Snorkelling is good at high tide, and lots of rock pools at low tide. Above all the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. I couldn't recommend it more highly for a family, we all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the staff
Liked least: Having to get into a car to leave the property!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing