We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
74
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole silver rated masai mara real highlight game drives water hole infinity pool amazing animals evening game whole experience main building wildebeest crossing local community early morning herd of elephants magical place dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We went away on a long Easter weekend in an attempt to run away from the city (Nairobi) and, of course, to experience the unforgettable wildlife and everything the Mara has to offer - and oh boy, was it fantastically unique? Yes, it truly was and, a big part of that was due to the staff at the Spirit of the Masai Mara. Lets do a quick call out: David (the lion man!), the first person who greeted us and made sure that we're always comfortable, that we have everything we need and that we are lined up to see some animals; he should be star awarded for being the people's man, he is that good with people, and we absolutely loved the way he made us feel at home in the middle of the wilderness. Mike, our guide (because of him I can't stop saying - sawa sawa), Kevin the man in charge, Anthony the bar manager, Jason the chef, the askaris (who's names i can't recall, sorry) are just a few of the staff that took care of us while we were there, who were always friendly, helpful, aways had a smile on and were all extremely efficient and pleasant to be around to! Accommodation, beyond comfortable but, for the curious ones who might needs specifics (like myself, who needs to know the colour the carpets and blinds, if possible, before arriving to any one place) i will say that, what you see in the photos is what you get, and more. We were in room 5 that had a small living area as you entered, with a sofa and 2 armchairs, minibar with tuskers and water (in our case), we had small treats on arrival as well a miracle cookie jar (not sure how but, we kept emptying and it kept getting refilled :)), then, you have your bedroom equipped with shelving, seif and mozzie net, a double bed and bed stands and a vanity - but don't expect to be able to put make up early morning or late in the evening as the light is rather low. There is a separate wc and a bathroom with shower and a bath tub that comes with a stunning view towards the water hole. Everything is very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms come with plenty of washing liquid, shampoo and conditioner, all locally made and natural products, essential oil based. Laundry service is included and returned the same day. The last but not least, the view was fantastic (SotMM team, please remember to trim down your bush outside the bedroom so the view from the bed can be fantastic too). Food was delicious with at least 2 options per course but am sure with possibility to order other things should you want to. While out on game drives, we were packed with a fantastic breakfast and lunch, afternoon snacks, all of which were eaten in superb locations picked by Mike (sawa-sawa). Coolers were loaded with hot and cold drinks from the kitchen and the bar, all picked to your personal preference. Wildlife and access to it. SotMM is ideally located in the Siana Conservancy which is just an extension of the Masai Mara National park. Our guide Mike was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and the birds which they have in abundance. We saw 4 of the big 5 (didn't see the rhino) in the main park whilst the elephants, giraffes, zebras, buffalos, gazelles, were in abundance in the conservancy, which had practically no other safari vehicles or visitors in it. Nadja & Justin - we didn't get to meet you... yet :). Thank you so much everyone, you made our trip a fantastic and unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4tress2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinMcCarthy, Owner at Spirit of the Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear 4tress2015,

Thank you for your review of Spirit of the Masai Mara, We are very happy you had such a fantastic time and will pass on your warm regards to the entire team. It is truly a team effort and your kind words so just how far the team effort goes. Sorry I didn't get to meet you but I am sure "Lion Man" and Kevin kept you entertained. Myself and Nadja look forward to meeting you at your next visit to Spirit of the Masai Mara.

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I have been to Mara on several occasions but not The spirit of Mara before.

to say the place is awesome is surely an understatement. it is awesome beyond measure.

The Spirit of Mara is located in Siana Conservancy. the conservancy is managed by WWFon behalf of the local community. There are several lodges within the concevancy but THe spirit of Mara is very very high end and value for money.

the lodge is not fenced and animals graze and sometimes hunt within the view. Game drives are exceptionally rich.
Save for the facility, the staff are very friendly and will go out of the way to make the experince memorable.

It is the best lodge I have ever visited in Masai Mara Game reserve and neighbouring conservancies.

Check out time is very depressing as I really never wanted to leave. I will be back again.

Room Tip: all rooms are equal
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LetterFromDiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinMcCarthy, Owner at Spirit of the Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear LetterFromDiani,

Thank you for your kind review of Spirit of the Masai Mara, We are very proud that you rank us so highly among your stays in the Masai Mara Game Reserve. The support of WWF has been instrumental in the establishment of SIana Conservancy and it continues to go from strength to strength!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Spirit of the Masai Mara.

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

This is the only place in Kenya you need to go for the ultimate safari experience and pure luxury. The staff and service is second to none. The knowledge of the guides is incredible. To get this two years on the trot is a credit to the owner and management.
The cherry on the cake was witnessing a cheetah kill on the way in on the last day.
The guides made sure we was in the right place at the right time.
YOU MUST STAY HERE.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinMcCarthy, Owner at Spirit of the Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Jay B,

Thank you for coming and visiting us a second time around, it was great to see you back! The cheetah kill was especially special! We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Justin McCrthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We recently spent three unforgettable nights at Spirit of the Masai Mara. Having been fortunate enough over the years to experience more than a dozen camps in and around the Mara, I can say that Spirit of the Masai Mara ranks at the top of the list.

This intimate, secluded lodge has the most breathtaking views of the valley below, often dotted with zebra, buffalo and elephant. Enjoying breakfast on the terrace one morning, we even saw two giraffes swinging their necks as they began to fight.

The 10 suites are spacious and comfortable with full modern conveniences and air conditioning if needed. Soak in the free standing tub with the million dollar view, then slip into a netted bed warmed by a hot water bottle at night.

Meals are lovingly prepared by Jason, the camp's talented chef. The beauty of the presentation was only surpassed by the deliciousness of the food, much of which is grown on property.

To say that the staff is the heart and soul of the camp would be an understatement. As luck would have it during our stay, we were under the care of the relief manager, David, otherwise know as "lion man". He kept us entertained with hilarious stories about wildlife encounters and life in the bush.

The highlight of our stay was our expert, silver rated, Maasai guide, Saruni, who was nothing short of fabulous. Not only smart, charming and funny, his enthusiasm and passion for his job and homeland was fully evident. Our land cruiser was always perfectly positioned for viewing the prides of lions, and groups of cheetahs we encountered. Even the elusive leopard with a fresh kill did not escape the keen eye of our spotter, Mike.

Staying within a conservancy has huge advantages. Not only are you able to enjoy an intimate crowd free wildlife encounter, but a bush walk is possible with your guide and park ranger. Saruni even fashioned us a "toothbrush" from a small tree branch during our morning walk, as well as sharing the ways the Maasai live off the land.

Do yourself a favor, book a stay at Spirit of the Masai Mara, fall in love with Kenya, and make some memories that will hopefully last you until your next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelem5672017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinMcCarthy, Owner at Spirit of the Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear michelem5672017,

Thank you for your great review of Spirit of the Masai Mara, we are glad you had such a great stay! The conservancy definitely offers you the chance to encounter the animals one on one, and the bush walks are a favourite of mine!

I will pass on your thanks to the Guides and "Lion Man" and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

From being picked up at the airstrip to being dropped back. Every moment is a memorable one. The silver award guides all live up to the awards achieved. Saruni, Debra and Mike you were absolutely brilliant. The receiving and the welcome through to the food prepared and served was all simply superb. Thank you Jason the head chef and all the staff involved. The accommodation, spot on. Luxury with still the subtle safari hints. Looking forward to my next visit in the future. Understand you did get the best boutique hotel of the year 2017 award. Congratulations. Well and truly deserved.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinMcCarthy, Owner at Spirit of the Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Vimal S,

Thank you for you kind review, and yes we did with "Africa's Best New Boutique Hotel" at the World Boutique Hotel Awards, we are very proud of our entire team for making it possible. We are very proud of our guides for making sure you are in the right place at the right time. Chef Jason and his team do a fantastic job in the kitchen. Thanks also to our manage Jules who holds it all together.

We look forward to seeing you next time at Spirit of the Masai Mara

Justin McCarthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews