We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
135
56
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
56
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews talek river masai mara guide jonathan game drives masai security guards open land across the river never felt unsafe eating breakfast dining area lunch and dinner wild animals our waiter a wonderful stay south africa an amazing experience fantastic guide
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

It is difficult to know where to start to describe the unforgettable experience of this safari. From the meeting with our driver/guide Jonathan, to the lovely warm welcome at the camp and the courtesy and helpfulness of staff it was quite remarkable. As a keen photographer himself Jonathan immediately recognised a fellow fanatic and our safari had begun. Our journey to the camp gave us a taste of what was to come. The Land Rover's resilience, built to Saracen tank standards, driven by a fearless expert is not for the faint hearted. Negotiating rivers, ditches. 3 - 5 feet craters across wide expanses of safari territory generating dust and rattling bones, could have been terrifying were it not for what it produced - the most wonderful shots of wild animals secure and safe in their own natural and protected environment.
The welcome at the camp with fresh mixed orange juice and tree tomatoes , warm smiles and reassurances that we only had to ask if there was anything we wanted and they would do their best to provide. We were escorted everywhere - just in case any of the indigenous four footed population came unexpectedly to say hello. (I' m sure this was unlikely as mostly the animals if they are frightened run away. Our tent was beautifully appointed with all mod cons. We were warned not to use the water for anything other than washing ourselves. Teeth and drinking water needed to come out of the bottles provided.
Located by the Talek river, the setting is lovely. Eating our meals overlooking the view of giraffes, baboons, zebras in the field opposite was quite something. Listening to the elephants an chatter of all the other animals at night was also great.
The early morning 0530) and late evening (returning after dark) safaris were especially rewarding. Perfect light, a fantastic guide who had a 'nose' for where the animals could be found, was especially memorable.
The nights can be cold so a fleece essential. The drives are very dusty and hard on clothes so don't take clothes you treasure. The nature of the safari means they'll take a beating.
Wifi is variable but who goes on safari to tap away at small screens.....
we also had a little bonus - a visit to a local Masai Village community. A warm and tuneful Masai welcome by the chaps first, followed by the women singing traditional chants set the scene. We learned about the Masai way of life - hard and poor. There was charge for our welcome (approx £22.0) per head and an invitation it was difficult to refuse to buy some of the Village craftwork. It was difficult to resist but we did take comfort from being told the money was to help educate the children and maintain the local school.
Fiinally David the manager and the staff at Tipilikwani should be congratulated for their complete dedication to their visitors' comfort.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you for your detailed and insightful review of our Tipilikwani Mara camp. We are delighted that you liked our camp and enjoyed your stay. Needless to say, it was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Well it was, other than the elephant making a noise late one night. However this cannot be the fault of the camp, but it can be a bonus, because the guides were more than willing to let my wife and I, dressing gown dressed, follow them just so we could see the elephants playing in the river outside our tent. Really wasn't too much trouble for them

It is quite a large camp, and when you're the only ones staying there it is quite disconcerting, but thats not an issue at all.

If I had to have a gripe it would be the menu. Not what was on it, but the waiter insisted on telling us what it was, rather than writing it down, and somewhere between what he said to us or , what he said to the chef dishes got mixed up. My suggestion would be to have it written down so you can order from a menu rather than verbalising it all. Though a highlight of dinner was always the long eared bats joining us and one night even a couple of Civet's but you'll need to keep your eye out for them

The food was fantastic though, and a "light" breakfast out on the reserve, was an absolute feast. Really was great, and you cannot beat the location either.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrogoNevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, operations manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for your review of our camp. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we have made a note of your comments on the presentation of the menu in writing and shall act on them. It was our pleasure hosting you and we hope you will visit us again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I thought the two hour drive into the Mara was bad until i saw the driveway into the camp we stayed at. Craters bigger than our vehicle, even at a crawl it is bone jarring. Tent was nice and very comfy, ours had a view of the river and the moneys that live on the other side. Food in the restaurant was fine. We were going out all day on safari so the chef offered us a picnic basket to be made up. Unfortunately it sits in a pack that doesnt keep it at the correct temperature, on the front seat of the vehicle, for hours. When it was opened and i saw the stew supplied i was concerned, mainly ate the rice and bread and our driver commented, encouraging us to eat the stew. As expected it was at room temperature. He doesnt eat meat, but used the sauce to mix with his rice. All 3 of us got food poisoning, and on talking to other guests in the camp the next day, they all had the same meal supplied and everyone of them also got sick from eating it. So if you stay here, and are offered a picnic lunch, specify just bread, rice and fruit.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank MTGREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for your review of our camp. As a policy we take all guest comments very seriously and the concerns that you have raised here are no exception.
On the matter of the roads, we face a challenge as the main road to the Maasai Mara is managed by the national government. All other roads in the county and National reserve including the one leading to the camp are maintained by the county government. This however has not discouraged us as we have continuously lobbied the National and county governments to carry out repairs. At the same time we have mobilized all the stake holders in the area, and are in the process of raising funds to have repairs and other major works carried out on our road.
We also need to clarify that this is not the official entrance into the camp, we use it as a service route for our staff and resupply vehicles. The main entrance for guests into Tipilikwnai camp is via the park and it brings guests to our footbridge from which they cross into the camp. Your driver guide should have been aware of this
The County government has committed to repairing the roads in the Mara including assisting in the repairs of this road that leads to our camp. The national government is scheduled to reconstruct the road from Narok to the Mara and this is due to begin before the end of the year.

The problem with the picnic lunch came a surprise to us. We are concerned and very sorry that you experienced such problems. This is highly unusual and we did carry out investigations into the matter with a view to identifying the cause and initiating actions that ensure that there will never be a recurrence.
In addition to this, we took the initiative of communicating to other guests that were at the camp at the same time as you. None of them had any complaints or negative comments about the picnic lunches. They also did not report any cases of food poisoning.
Nevertheless we are grateful for the information that you provided us in your review. We assure you and all guests visiting our camp that we have audited our system for the provision of picnic lunches and are confident that it is safe.
Apart from these issues we are glad that you liked our camp and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed here two nights with my wife and really enjoyed it. Beautiful tented rooms with fantastic facilities and very comfortable. Great views of the plains and fantastic service by the staff. They also have a nice swimming pool and bar facility. Food wise it's average. We had a super tour guide called Francis who showed us the best spots and really made our experience a very memorable one. Overall for the price it is very worth it, only down side is that it's a little far from the Talek river so we had to drive over an hour to reach there to see the migration. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, operations Manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your great review of our camp. We are glad you enjoyed you stay at Tipilikwani Mara Camp, it was our pleasure hosting you. We have noted your comment on distance from Talek River and would like to make a correction. Tipilikwani is built on the banks of the Talek river, I believe you may have been referring to the Mara River. We are glad you had a great stay and sincerely look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I stayed in this camp for 2 nights with my family. My daughter is 8 years old and my son is only 2 years. Camp welcomes us with fresh juice and cold towel which was a relive after the long travel from Nairobi. Reception area is quite normal and can give the wrong impression about the lodge. But when you will see the dining area, pool side and the beautiful rooms you will become satisfied very much. Our room has 2 queen beds so it was fine for 4 of us. Also bath room has a nice bathtub and also walking shower. There are 24 hours hot water and lights in the camp. No black out. All rooms are overlooking a river and you will able to see animals like dear drinking water in early morning. Camp has a bridge over the river which will take you directly to the park. Usually after 1st day the safari jeep park there so that you can save time to go to Safari, Room was very clean, toilet as well. Beds are very much comfortable. Now about the food. It was awesome. The cook should work in 5 star hotel. Usually there are 3 choice of main course during lunch and dinner. The hotel provided very good packed lunched as well. There are guards who will take you to your ten after diner. I will definitely recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omidhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We are glad the your stay at our camp was enjoyable. It was our pleasure hosting you at Tipilikwani Mara Camp and we look forward to doing so again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews