We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
84
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews special activities mobile camp game drives walking safari tent
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

One of the best holiday I had with my family- three generations of us spent a great time there !!! This was made possible by the great hospitality from Leleshwa camp. The camp left nothing to complain about. The pick up and drop at the airport, game drives, food, rooms- all were marvelous. They took care of even the small details and we were made special by Raymond and his team. Rinka- the game guide and driver was very good- he knew what to show, where to go, where to stop and all these he did with smiling face- never tired. The camp has good facilities, good food and great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cshrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCharleson, Owner at Leleshwa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip. We will pass on your kind words to Rinka and the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

From the moment you arrive until the time you leave Raymond and the team at Leleshwa make you feel truly special. The 'tents' are beautiful (our kids are going to get a real shock when we next say we are going camping... especially back in the UK!). All mod cons... beautiful interiors, wood panelled shower room and hot water... and when you get back after supper ... hot water bottles (so don't stab the warm inert lump in the middle of the bed!) ...

We spent two incredible days there. Collected from the local village and driven to the camp through the fabulous countryside; tea and cupcakes before being shown to our 5* tents; off into the local countryside to Zebra, Giraffe and DikDik spot before setting up our campfire for sundowners.

Eric the Chef who has his own Leopard based war stories to tell provides the most amazing food - his mushroom soup has got to be one of the best we have ever tasted - it must have been ... even the childrens' plates were wiped clean!

Our day in the Mara will forever remain in our memories... Elephants, Buffalo, Lions seeing off the vultures from their kill, and Cheetah wandering fat bellied along the track beside our wagon ... and all before a sumptuous full English breakfast equivalent served out in the Mara. And then we were off again ... Rinka our amazing guide with the eagle eyes had us underneath a tree looking up into foliage at the carcass of a gazelle before the breakfast had barely had time to settle ... and there across the savannah beadily watching us from the neighbouring tree (0.5 km away)... its proud owner ... a content and very full Leopard! Lunch served by the river overlooking the crocs and the hippos rising and falling in the water in the midday heat and then we were off again looking for Rhino.

The guides know their stuff, and the nice thing about the Leleshwa guides is rather than radioing each other when they find something they use mobiles and other methods in order to alert each other ... thus saving you for the most part from the inevitable onslaught of 'Matatus' coming to see what you have found. And thus we spent a lovely quiet ten minutes alongside two very full Cheetah's idly passing the afternoon in the cool shade of a tree. Before back to camp for showers, drinks and another of Eric's gourmet meals.

The final morning is a walk in the bush with the Guides where they will teach you how to fend for yourself by digging for roots and eating fruits which are ant homes! All very delicious (but we'll stick to Eric's cooking!)... and then home to one final surprise... but if you want to know what it is - you'll have to book a trip yourself!

Raymond, the Manager, and the team are truly amazing and seriously cannot do enough for any of the guests. We went with friends who have a child with coeliac disease and they catered especially for her right down to gluten free cookies. Nothing is an inconvenience for the Leleshwa team.

I am not embarassed to say that when I left I burst into tears not just because of the memories that we had made with our children but also because I was genuinely sad to leave this little 'family' behind.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheGingerParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCharleson, Owner at Leleshwa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thanks so much for your special review. We are so glad that we were able to make your trip so memorable. Eric will be delighted to know that you and the kids enjoyed his cooking so much. We will also pass on your kind words to Raymond and Rinka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

We just returned from a 14 day safari trip with our two kids (8 and 10).. We stayed at three different luxury camps, "glamps". While the other camps were all delightful, 5 star experiences, The Leleshwa camp takes the price though!!

I don't know where to start.. From the nightly sundowner trips, (the kids built bonfires in the middle of the savanna every night surrounded by lions and giraffes) to the delicious meals prepared by a seriously capable chef, to the hot water thingy we found under our cover each night. It was all exceptional.. It would get a 5 star even if it was a luxury hotel in a major city, but being in the bush, 5 stars is plain inadequate..

The guides (David and his various local sidekicks) were not only extremely knowledgable and competent, but also very friendly and super accommodating..

The tents were beautiful, the water always I hot, the mattress superb, and on and on.. Being that the campground is not fenced in, the sounds at night from just outside the tent were exhilarating, a true safari experience..

Above all though, was the service.. The whole staff led by Raymond and Eric were so attentive that we almost felt guilty.. We just had to think it (or sometimes not even thought of yet) and they already did it..

I can't say enough about this place, other then I can't see how one can do it better or how to even improve this place.. I have no idea how they pull this off in the middle of nowhere.. All in all, it is divinely magical..

There is much more positives to be said about this place, but I don't want to give everything away, want to leave some as a pleasant surprise.. We were constantly surprised, as they kept on outdoing themselves..

Keep it up guys... You rock!!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank travelerNYC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Leleshwa is an amazing place! It is in a conservancy outside the Masai Mara reserve, but close enough to get in and explore the reserve with no problem. The conservancy is beautiful with a great deal of wildlife. The local Masai spotters and the Leleshwa tour guides are the best in the business. The accommodations are second to none and the food and other amenities are first rate. Leleshwa is a great value compared to other camps and one the whole family is sure to enjoy! It was a spectacular experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Inspire42074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We were taken to Leleshwa Camp by our daughter-in-law and grandson who live in Kenya and who had been before. We knew it would be good but were unprepared for such a wonderful experience. The camp is small and in a beautiful bush setting in the Siana Conservancy, the layout of the camp gives privacy in your very comfortable tent, the central area relaxing and dining tents are excellent . You are looked after by such friendly and knowledgable staff. The sundowner trips were very a very enjoyable way to spent early evening before excellent dinners. The vist to the Mara Game Reserve in your own safari vehicle with an extremely experienced guide and Masai spotter ensured a very rewarding long day viewing many different animals. A one point we were just a few yards from two lionesses and four Cubs having their lunch, a baby Zebra! Leleshwa is a small family run camp where you feel at home and which will give you an unforgettable experience.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews