We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
258
18
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
18
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath our honeymoon mara river game drives manager patrick picnic breakfast walking safari his team the marsh pride safari experience balloon safari champagne breakfast driver guide thought possible the hot air balloon ride huge bathroom three nights
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stayed with family (6people /3 tents) for 5 days 4 nights in July. The best place we stayed in during our 3 week trip to East Africa. The camp manager Ms. Rachel, chef Sammy, Michael ( waiter) , Leah (front office) and our driver/guide Simon made our stay at il Moran unforgettable. Simon made sure we saw all of the big 5. Cheetah kill on the 2nd game drive was unbelievable! The tents have all the comforts of a hotel room, hot water bottles kept us warm at night( much appreciated). The food is great, we are vegetarians and chef Sammy prepared delicious meals for us( including the best picnic breakfast and lunch we have ever had) We would definitely return. Thank you all the staff who welcomed us and made our stay there memorable.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank shital1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property.

We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you were taken such good care of by our whole team and had such wonderful sightings. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service and make sure your expectations are exceeded. We are delighted they achieved this for you and made your stay so memorable.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

While staying in the Mara, our friend and guide, Mike Cheffings arraigned for us to have a breakfast away from our Mara accommodations at the Il Moran Camp on the northern end of the Reserve. And as we were driving in, we were seeing a large herd of elephants in the forest adjacent to the Camp and we discovered later that this herd had been inside the Camp overnight causing a bit of a dust-up there.
We were seated at a comfortable al fresco table among the trees and alongside the Mara River in the center of the Camp. Breakfast service was excellent and the breakfast of omelets, fried eggs, bacon, sausage fruits and breads was delicious. My omelet was the most perfectly prepared I have ever had at many breakfasts in the bush, so big kudos to the chef/cooks. If our breakfast is an example of the cuisine here at Il Moran Camp, then the other meals should be spot on!
Not only did we have a delicious breakfast, we were joined by Camp Manager Patrick, who delighted us with tale after tale of his experiences in the bush and concerns for the protection of the Mara ecosystem. I have no doubts that when Patrick’s carrier as a camp manager ends he will find full employment as a stand-up comic. What a delightful man and a dedicated man to this camp. It is obvious that his management of the Il Moran Camp rates it as 5-stars.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ProfBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of you bush breakfast experience with us..

We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you were taken such good care of by our whole team and although you were not staying with us were able to experience one of our wonderful bush breakfasts and meet Patrick whos passion for the Mara Ecosystem most certainly is infections.

Best wishes,

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

From the moment you arrive at the Il Moran camp Patrick and his team make you feel totally at home, nothing is too much trouble. I visited with two teenagers and husband and our tented accommodation was very tasteful and comfortable.
The food was just amazing and the camp which sits alongside the Mara river was incredible. We sat and watched the playful hippos as we ate lunch and went to sleep to the sound of their snorting and frolicking in the water. A truly special place!
Our game guide Enos was absolutely fantastic - he had a wonderful upbeat personality and showed us an incredible river crossing during the migration - spell binding. Nothing was too much trouble and he was a fantastic ambassador for the camp and it's wildlife.

Room tip: Ask for Enos and you will get some incredible game drives!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property.

We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you were taken such good care of by our whole team and had such wonderful sightings. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service and make sure your expectations are exceeded. We are delighted they achieved this for you and made your stay so memorable. Enos is simply fantastic, thank you for this feedback we will pass it on to him and the whole team.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing Camp. Worth every Star it has and more. We had two perfect nights there. The staff and management couldn't of done more to of made our 'Safari' the very best.. Of course all the wonderful night sounds. From lions and Hyenas fighting in the forest, to the little critters, Owls in perfect tune serenading one to sleep. With the hippos just making sure that we know they are still lazing in the river below what ever time of day. The most perfect place to be anytime of the year. (The Mara maybe not so much during the rains)..
Thank you to EVERYONE that made it so memorable.
Just a very few pictures to wet your appetites..

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property and for the pictures.

We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you were taken such good care of by our whole team and had such wonderful sightings. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service and make sure your expectations are exceeded. We are delighted they achieved this for you and made your stay so memorable.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

What a FABULOUS resort!!!! Can I give it a 6 or 7 star?? They treat you like royalty, the room ( tent) is gorgeous, the grounds are amazing and the people working here and running it are some of the best I've ever come across. Honestly I wish I could buy all the furniture in the tent to furnish my home back in the states but I don't gather its for sale. I do plan n highly recommending Il Moran Governer's camp because A+ in luxury and the greatest employees! A special thank you to Patrick who took such good care of us and our unbelievable guide Paul! Paul is a lot like me in being very determined to show us as much as he could and educate us beyond just a safari. I will definitely refer to this camp and insist my friends request Paul!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DianaHMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property and for your wonderful comments on rating us a 6 or 7 star! wow, thank you.

We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you were taken such good care of by our whole team and had such wonderful sightings. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service and make sure your expectations are exceeded. We are delighted they achieved this for you and made your stay so memorable. Paul is simply fantastic and we are so glad he did a wonderful job in taking care of you. We will pass this feedback onto him and the whole team.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews