We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
197
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnaboisho conservancyour honeymoonthe camp managerother guestsrocky outcropprivate chefprivate diningbush dinnergame drivesgenuine lovetotally blown awayfour coursesstocked fridgestay feelguiding schoolnight gamesafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Book Ol Seki! We went on honeymoon and had an amazing time. The tents are beautiful and views over the conservancy are great - you can see giraffes and warthogs as you eat lunch! The service at the camp is personal, friendly and warm. We loved all the attention to detail - from the hot water bottles in our bed at night to the thermos flasks for the morning game drive. Shout out to David and Bernard and also the chefs who ensured all the meals were very special. We were lucky enough to have Mike as our guide - who was fantastic. Jodi was also very helpful - always on hand to make sure everything about our visit ran smoothly. We were quite amazed at the concentration of wildlife in the Naboisha conservancy. We saw lion, elephant, giraffes, cape buffalo, a cheetah kill, hyena and loads more. We also went to the Mara on one day - which has a different and more sweeping landscape - recommended. We enjoyed visiting Mike's village, and found it fascinating to gain a small insight into the traditional Masia lifestyle and some of the changes facing it. We're not experienced safari goers but I cannot imagine safari camps get much better than Ol Seki.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Wow!
Thank you so much for leaving us such wonderful feedback. We have taken such pride in reading over your kind words and the entire team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are so glad you got stuck in to all we have to offer at the camp and enjoyed the game viewing in both the Main Reserve and the Naboisho Conservancy.
We completely agree that a visit to our local maasai village (Mike's home) is a must do. People are often humbled by the simplicity and kindness of the people that live here and often this is a highlight to a Kenyan safari.
David, Bernard and the entire team send there best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We spent the first week of our honeymoon at Ol Seki and would highly recommend. Rooms are lovely and luxurious. Staff are excellent and the game drives are brilliant. Lovely touches like flask of coffee and homemade biscuits and the sundowners on the drives. We spent a day in the Mara Reserve and we also did the hot air balloon ride. Both of which are highly recommended. The food here was excellent and we enjoyed our private dining experiences. Just one thing to note there is no pool. Though wasn't a problem for us.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BAC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for sharing such kind words about your stay with us at Ol Seki and for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us!
We are so glad you enjoyed your overall experience and the guiding, game viewing, accommodation and food met your expectations. The team at the camp are the heart of what we do and they will be thrilled to hear the special touches made your stay with us extra special.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
The Ol Seki Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Ol Seki is an amazing place to stay. The camp is beautifully situated on a ridge with a great view from all of the tents across the plain below. The tents themselves are not really tents but luxurious rooms that just happen to have canvas walls. We were incredibly comfortable and the food and drinks were amazing. Best of all though were the wonderful staff who really looked after us, especially Jodi the camp leader. Couldn't recommend this place enough - if you're going to do safari this is place to do it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have views over the plains below.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DayDay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Jambo!
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such kind words about your stay with us at Ol Seki. The entire team will be delighted with your wonderful feedback!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the views from the camp and that your safari experience with us met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
All the best,
the Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A wonderful place to see. The Naboisho Conservancy has the most amazing animals and birds and is close to the Masai Mara reserve so all bases covered. In the Conservancy the number of vehicles at each spotting is limited and time restricted so get to see all the best sightings.You sit on your terrace and watch the animals wandering on the plains below, or they visit you in your tent. Take a day out in the Mara Reserve, watch the sun come up and enjoy a picnic over looking the Mara river with hippos and crocodiles sunning below. The long lines of wildebeests heading for the Serengeti have to be seen. The Lodge offers all comforts, private dining, complimentary laundry, masses of personal space, bar and well stocked fridge. Tipping is expected. Our guide Nixon has incredible eyesight and so we saw an unbelievable number of rare sights including all the big cats. Jodie and David are always available and run the Camp very efficiently.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanieHLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Jean and Maggie,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you got stuck in to all the activities we have to offer at the camp and enjoyed your full day in the main reserve.
As you mentioned the Naboisho Conservancy offers a more exclusive game viewing experience so we really do get the best of both so thank you for visiting and helping us keep it this way.
All the best,
The Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We visited Ol Seki in the Naboisho conservancy for our honeymoon- what a fantastic experience! The camp is heavenly- luxury tents with lovely touches including hot water bottles in the evening; dressing gowns and a really comfy bed. The food was delicious; freshly cooked breakfast, three course lunches using fresh local ingredients and tasty four course meals with plenty of wine and Amarulo to wash it down. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.

Our guide was the fantastic Mike. He was enthusiastic, very knowledgeable and generally good fun. We saw so many amazing animals in the conservancy including big male lions, little cubs and a pregnant cheetah. Would highly recommend a day trip into the Mara where we were lucky enough to see a wildebeest crossing, a leopard in a tree and a lioness in a tree!

Thanks to Jody for being a great host and to David for his excellent lion impression which meant we could listen out for the Lions when we were in our tents! Mike, we couldn't have asked for a better guide. Thanks for putting up with all our questions! We look forward to another visit in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for leaving us such an incredible review and for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the food, accommodation, game viewing and guiding met your expectations.
Mike will be ecstatic with his special mention!
We promise to have the Amarula at hand for your next visit.
All the best,
the Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews