We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I would highly recommend ok Seki hemmingway... defiantly 5 star service, the guides were fantastic we managed to see 4 of the big 5 only missing the rhino which we actually saw on the way to Nairobi airport! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was to die for! Great few days in a fantastic location

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juliet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Juliet,
thank you so much for leaving us such kind words about your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your safari experience with us. Right from the guiding to the kitchen the people are the heart of what we do and they will be thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback.
Rhino are always a difficult find here in the Mara so that is fantastic news you found one in the Nairobi Park on the way to the airport. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope you visit us again soon.
All the best,
the Ol Seki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Book Ol Seki! We went on honeymoon and had an amazing time. The tents are beautiful and views over the conservancy are great - you can see giraffes and warthogs as you eat lunch! The service at the camp is personal, friendly and warm. We loved all the attention to detail - from the hot water bottles in our bed at night to the thermos flasks for the morning game drive. Shout out to David and Bernard and also the chefs who ensured all the meals were very special. We were lucky enough to have Mike as our guide - who was fantastic. Jodi was also very helpful - always on hand to make sure everything about our visit ran smoothly. We were quite amazed at the concentration of wildlife in the Naboisha conservancy. We saw lion, elephant, giraffes, cape buffalo, a cheetah kill, hyena and loads more. We also went to the Mara on one day - which has a different and more sweeping landscape - recommended. We enjoyed visiting Mike's village, and found it fascinating to gain a small insight into the traditional Masia lifestyle and some of the changes facing it. We're not experienced safari goers but I cannot imagine safari camps get much better than Ol Seki.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow!
Thank you so much for leaving us such wonderful feedback. We have taken such pride in reading over your kind words and the entire team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are so glad you got stuck in to all we have to offer at the camp and enjoyed the game viewing in both the Main Reserve and the Naboisho Conservancy.
We completely agree that a visit to our local maasai village (Mike's home) is a must do. People are often humbled by the simplicity and kindness of the people that live here and often this is a highlight to a Kenyan safari.
David, Bernard and the entire team send there best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We spent the first week of our honeymoon at Ol Seki and would highly recommend. Rooms are lovely and luxurious. Staff are excellent and the game drives are brilliant. Lovely touches like flask of coffee and homemade biscuits and the sundowners on the drives. We spent a day in the Mara Reserve and we also did the hot air balloon ride. Both of which are highly recommended. The food here was excellent and we enjoyed our private dining experiences. Just one thing to note there is no pool. Though wasn't a problem for us.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BAC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing such kind words about your stay with us at Ol Seki and for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us!
We are so glad you enjoyed your overall experience and the guiding, game viewing, accommodation and food met your expectations. The team at the camp are the heart of what we do and they will be thrilled to hear the special touches made your stay with us extra special.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
The Ol Seki Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Ol Seki is an amazing place to stay. The camp is beautifully situated on a ridge with a great view from all of the tents across the plain below. The tents themselves are not really tents but luxurious rooms that just happen to have canvas walls. We were incredibly comfortable and the food and drinks were amazing. Best of all though were the wonderful staff who really looked after us, especially Jodi the camp leader. Couldn't recommend this place enough - if you're going to do safari this is place to do it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have views over the plains below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DayDay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jambo!
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such kind words about your stay with us at Ol Seki. The entire team will be delighted with your wonderful feedback!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the views from the camp and that your safari experience with us met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
All the best,
the Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A wonderful place to see. The Naboisho Conservancy has the most amazing animals and birds and is close to the Masai Mara reserve so all bases covered. In the Conservancy the number of vehicles at each spotting is limited and time restricted so get to see all the best sightings.You sit on your terrace and watch the animals wandering on the plains below, or they visit you in your tent. Take a day out in the Mara Reserve, watch the sun come up and enjoy a picnic over looking the Mara river with hippos and crocodiles sunning below. The long lines of wildebeests heading for the Serengeti have to be seen. The Lodge offers all comforts, private dining, complimentary laundry, masses of personal space, bar and well stocked fridge. Tipping is expected. Our guide Nixon has incredible eyesight and so we saw an unbelievable number of rare sights including all the big cats. Jodie and David are always available and run the Camp very efficiently.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanieHLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jean and Maggie,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you got stuck in to all the activities we have to offer at the camp and enjoyed your full day in the main reserve.
As you mentioned the Naboisho Conservancy offers a more exclusive game viewing experience so we really do get the best of both so thank you for visiting and helping us keep it this way.
All the best,
The Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
300 reviews
9.4 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
524 reviews
41.4 km away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#41 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
356 reviews
30.2 km away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#18 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
35.9 km away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Seki Hemingways Mara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

Address: Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Ol Seki Mara Camp)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 98,482 - ₹ 1,00,567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ol Seki Hemingways Mara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ol Seki Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing