We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 1,370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 2,012
US$ 1,823
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 1,771
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 750
US$ 690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 1,378
US$ 1,178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$ 559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Explorer Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 1,486
US$ 1,385
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 1,240
US$ 1,023
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$ 609
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
189
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnaboisho conservancyour honeymoonthe camp managerrocky outcropmanager jamesprivate chefprivate dininggame drivesgenuine lovetotally blown awayother guestsfour coursesbush dinnerstocked fridgestay feelsafari experienceguiding school
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Ol Seki Hemingway is located in the private reserve of Naboisho Conservancy. What makes this place special is you only have a handful of Safari camps located here so you never see too many vehicles. The circular tents were spacious and very comfortable. The view from the deck was excellent. Animals would walk around your tent at all times, including zebra, baboons, monkeys, antelope, etc. It was quite an experience to be so up close and personal! Our hosts were fabulous and would make sure we had everything we needed. The food very good and the safaris were excellent, including the night Safari. Not many camps allow these, so this was a special treat. Seeing hippos walking around at night outside of the water was very cool. There is a pride of around 20 lions located here, and our first safari we got to experience 4 male lions roaming the land. A highlight of our trip! Everyone very friendly and accommodating. A very nice camp and would highly recommend a stay here! Great for families as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GoGreenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Jambo!
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the game viewing within the Naboisho conservancy and got stuck in to all we have to offer at the camp. We hope you made some magical Mara memories from your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes, the Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Ol Seki this September as a family and had 6 amazing days there.
The level of service we received exceeded all expectations. We stayed in the Simba tent and were looked after incredibly well by Thaddeus, Rashid and William. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our time feel very special.
Our guide was Thomas, a very intelligent instinctive guide and also an authentic Maasai man who's explanations of their culture were fascinating. Thank you Ol Seki for a very special holiday in the stunning Naboisho Conservancy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 01Callin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Sue and Dermot,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that the level of service exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Kenya and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the best, The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Fabulous in every respect. The staff, the guides, the food and above all, the setting. This truly is a spectacular place.
Being our first safari, we were not too sure as to what to expect. The knowledgeable and friendly guides taught us so much and put us right in the middle of the action. Truly unbelieveable to be in amongst the wildlife and so close. So close in fact that at times they were within touching distance! A big thanks to Jody, David, Nixon, Jacob and all the staff who made us so welcome and gave us an unforgettable experience.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SteveandBev2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Steve and Bev,
thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Ol Seki. The team will thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback!
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed spending time with your guides Jacob and Nixon and learnt lots from them about the wildlife in the area. As you mentioned the Naboisho Conservancy offers unique and safe, close up experiences with the wildlife as off-roading is permitted within the area so at times you can get right near the action.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
All the best, The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Extra-ordinary service, extra-ordinary setting. We had high expectations based on prior reviews, and these were exceeded at every turn by the incredible staff and beautiful accommodation at Ol Seki. Thank you for taking such good care of us and for making our holiday feel truly special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZanderClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Holly and Max, wow is all we can say! Thank you for leaving us such an incredible review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your safari with us and that your overall experience exceeded your expectations. The entire team right from the guides to the chefs are the heart of what we do and they will be thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback. Please come and see us again soon! All the best, the Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Ol Seki for our first safari. They covered everything and made the stay feel authentic, adventurous, and luxurious!

Lodging: Our tent was large and bed comfortable. The tents are set up on a ridge overlooking a valley where you can watch giraffes, elephants, etc. It feels rustic, but also luxurious. We heard lions roaring and a zebra ran into our tent at one point-- we loved it!

Food: They serve you three large meals a day at a communal table. Very good 4 course meals! We also enjoyed Stanley the cook's eggs every morning. It was fun to chat with fellow travelers about what they sighted that day. There was also a great deck for pre-dinner cocktails.

Service: Fantastic! We had a private dinner served at our tent one night, and enjoyed spending time with William, a Masai man who worked there. Also, they'd bring us coffee in our tent every morning before the drive.

Safari/Transportation: It seemed like most people flew there. We drove with our safari driver Rafael (who we highly recommend!) from Nairobi. Rafael was a fantastic driver and guide, and was the first to spot a crossing start during the great migration. We saw 4 out of the 5 of the big 5 (we only missed a rhino) and were stunned at how close you get to the animals. The Naboisha conservancy is less crowded than the Mara, so it was neat to be the only ones to watch a family of lions playing one night.

We had no complaints and highly recommend staying at Ol Seki!

Room Tip: They all have great views- you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBarkley515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Rachel and Taylor, many thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review of your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of all we have to offer at the camp. As you mentioned in order to get to the camp most guests tend to arrive via small aircraft, as it is a more convenient option however driving as you know from your experience is scenic and often a great way to see more of what Kenya has to offer. We hope you have made some everlasting mara memories from your stay with us Ol Seki and we hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, the Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews