We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon safari experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

This was our first safari and what can I say..this place is amazing!! The tent we stayed in was spacious and luxurious with a magnificent view with animals roaming around below us. Pamela, William & our chef made sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay! Jody the camp manager is a credit to the company, she makes sure everything runs smoothly and always checks up with you to see how the day is going. Patrick our tour driver was brilliant in every way and very knowledgeable.

A typical day would look like:
morning game drive
Breakfast
Lunch
Evening game drive
Dinner

The game drives are absolutely fantastic and you get to see all different types of wildlife here! (Only thing we didn't get to see was a rhino, which is pretty rare) I would recommend spending a day in the Masai Mara also! This can be arranged by the camp at additional costs.

We could not have chose a better camp to stay in during our honeymoon and would definitely come back in the near future!!

Room Tip: All rooms are a very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chengster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Kim and Fran,
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your stay with us at Ol Seki and for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your first safari! Right from the guides to the kitchen, the entire team will be ecstatic to hear they made your stay so special.
We would completely agree with you that a day in the Maasai Mara Reserve is well worth the visit at this time of the year as this is where the Mara and Talek rivers are; so for those looking to catch a glimpse of a wildebeest crossing this really is a must do! Despite that area being known for higher number of visitors you can then return to the relaxed pace of the conservancy which offers more exclusive game viewing and a number of activities meaning you really get the best of both.
The entire team sends their regards and we hope you come and visit us again soon! All the best, The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Ol Seki Hemingway is located in the private reserve of Naboisho Conservancy. What makes this place special is you only have a handful of Safari camps located here so you never see too many vehicles. The circular tents were spacious and very comfortable. The view from the deck was excellent. Animals would walk around your tent at all times, including zebra, baboons, monkeys, antelope, etc. It was quite an experience to be so up close and personal! Our hosts were fabulous and would make sure we had everything we needed. The food very good and the safaris were excellent, including the night Safari. Not many camps allow these, so this was a special treat. Seeing hippos walking around at night outside of the water was very cool. There is a pride of around 20 lions located here, and our first safari we got to experience 4 male lions roaming the land. A highlight of our trip! Everyone very friendly and accommodating. A very nice camp and would highly recommend a stay here! Great for families as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GoGreenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Jambo!
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the game viewing within the Naboisho conservancy and got stuck in to all we have to offer at the camp. We hope you made some magical Mara memories from your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes, the Ol Seki team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Ol Seki this September as a family and had 6 amazing days there.
The level of service we received exceeded all expectations. We stayed in the Simba tent and were looked after incredibly well by Thaddeus, Rashid and William. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our time feel very special.
Our guide was Thomas, a very intelligent instinctive guide and also an authentic Maasai man who's explanations of their culture were fascinating. Thank you Ol Seki for a very special holiday in the stunning Naboisho Conservancy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 01Callin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Sue and Dermot,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Ol Seki. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that the level of service exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Kenya and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the best, The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Fabulous in every respect. The staff, the guides, the food and above all, the setting. This truly is a spectacular place.
Being our first safari, we were not too sure as to what to expect. The knowledgeable and friendly guides taught us so much and put us right in the middle of the action. Truly unbelieveable to be in amongst the wildlife and so close. So close in fact that at times they were within touching distance! A big thanks to Jody, David, Nixon, Jacob and all the staff who made us so welcome and gave us an unforgettable experience.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SteveandBev2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Steve and Bev,
thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Ol Seki. The team will thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback!
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed spending time with your guides Jacob and Nixon and learnt lots from them about the wildlife in the area. As you mentioned the Naboisho Conservancy offers unique and safe, close up experiences with the wildlife as off-roading is permitted within the area so at times you can get right near the action.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
All the best, The Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Extra-ordinary service, extra-ordinary setting. We had high expectations based on prior reviews, and these were exceeded at every turn by the incredible staff and beautiful accommodation at Ol Seki. Thank you for taking such good care of us and for making our holiday feel truly special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZanderClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatamuMel, Manager at Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Holly and Max, wow is all we can say! Thank you for leaving us such an incredible review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your safari with us and that your overall experience exceeded your expectations. The entire team right from the guides to the chefs are the heart of what we do and they will be thrilled to hear your wonderful feedback. Please come and see us again soon! All the best, the Ol Seki team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
299 reviews
9.4 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
524 reviews
41.4 km away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#42 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
356 reviews
30.2 km away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#18 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
35.9 km away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Seki Hemingways Mara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

Address: Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Ol Seki Mara Camp)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 98,195 - ₹ 1,00,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ol Seki Hemingways Mara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ol Seki Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing