We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat, super staff and relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were a couple looking for a safari adventure but also a nice relaxing stay.
This place was brilliant. It was reasonable in terms of price, as these luxury tents/lodges do get expensive.
We stayed in tent 21, it had a comfy bed, nice hot shower, and wooden floors. they even brought us hot water bottles at night.
We used the game drives from here, our driver william, was excellent. we saw everything. we even had a cheetah jump on the land-cruiser (apparently it is familiar with the car)
The food in this place is amazing, an array of dishes, courses and styles to choose from.
The pool was nice and relaxing.
If i was being super harsh, then this place doesn't have a hippo bar to chill out by and there wasnt a huge amount to do in the evenings.

Room Tip: we stayed in 21, if you can afford to, id go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 784 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stayed there for two nights this week. My Camp number was 68. I would recommend it to everybody. It as amaizing.I have stayed in many hotels in many different places but it really impressed me. Standard was like in best hotels. Staff great and helpfull, food great but the most amaizing were atmosphere and incredable views. Location is in Masai Mara, green everywhere, monkeys on the trees and a lots of other animals. After Safari it is the best place to take a rest and relax - just sit in the forrest and admire nature!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mada2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I recently visited the camp with my friend and her two year old daughter. The tents are really nice but ours didn't have a nice view so a bit disappointing in that respect. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with the little one. Food was good too. The camp is set in a nice jungly area which I normally would have appreciated very much but because of that you didn't get the feeling that you were actually in the Maasai Mara... Could have been anywhere. We went to a different lodge the next day with fabulous views onto the Mara. So we did enjoy the camp but not for the views.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed hear for 2 nights and loved this hotel. The tent-style rooms make you feel like you are camping out in the bush and makes the whole trip seem more authentic. The food was great (buffet) and the grounds were very large so you could go for a stroll after lunch before setting off for your evening safari.

Although the camp is surrounded by electric fence, it was a little scary to think that a leopard could jump over the fence using the trees!!! But in reality that was not going to happen.

Overall I highly recommend this beautiful hotel/camp.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Sarova Mara Game Camp is just amazing.
It is ideally located 3km away from the Masai Mara Reserve main gate.

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay in March 2012.

The front desk staff is efficient and dedicated.
The tents are truly nice and well organised with bathroom of fair size.
Restaurant is of good quality (in fact exactly the same food as at any Sarova hotel, 2 choices of meat dish + 1 choice of fish dish). Service is perfect.
Swimming pool is nice, there is a putting green, a fish pond (kids are actually fishing).
It is worth visiting the organic vegetable garden,

But the strong advantage of the camp is that we can walk witin the compound perimeter and look at wildlife beyond the electrical barriers.
After walking through the BOMA (turn right just after tents 50-51), you reach an open space where zebras, gazelles, warthogs, baboos are peacefully dining.
A few dics-dics are living inside the camp and 3 of them were grazing just in front of our tents.

It is definitely our favourite hotel among the 6 hotels and lodges we visited during our journey through Kenya.

Sarova Mara Game Camp is ideally located to do a successful game drive with a high density of wild life.
We spotted 2 cheetahs, several groups of lions and lionesses (including 4 lions eating a Topi), one leopard surrounded by 12 vans, zebras, impalas, all types of gazelles, monkeys, dozens of elephants, hundreds of buffalos, jackals, hyenas, hippos, ostriches, several species of beautiful birds, etc.

Masai Mara is the ultimate must-see in Kenya.

A few improvements coud be done to make the Sarova Mara Game Camp THE perfect place: a true fulmigation of both ponds and camp forest against mosquitoes, hair dryers in each tent (we were obliged to give a deposit of 2000 KES to get one rented).

Now, a message to local authorities: when will the asphalt road from Nerok to Masai Mara reserve be completed? The present track is a 1h45 long nightmare: hotels should lobby authorities to invest in a comprehensive road upgrade.

Note that from Nerok to Masai Mara, the Olare Gift Shop offers the cleanest toilets of all curio shops we stopped at in Kenya. Congratulations.

Room Tip: We visited the whole compound and noted the following: - Tents 1 to 25 are quiet (5-6 are family jo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPaul2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.9 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
10.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
5.3 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
49.2 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
35.5 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 20,823 - ₹ 47,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing