We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
929
276
36
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
276
36
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club tent standard tents organic garden dik dik indian food hardwood floors mosquito net electric fence gift shop buffet style main gate sekenani gate turn down service restaurant staff a hot water bottle the reserve lunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Expansive hotel, where rooms are arranged in very confortable 'tents' with fully functioning bathrooms including hot-water showers -- greatly appreciated after a dusty safari run.

The staff were really attentive. Aside from an isolated incident with the greeter at the restaurant, the rest of the staff was special. The Spa lady needs to be commended.

You can tell this hotel has been around for a while, very organized, grounds lushly landscapped. Even then though, it does not nor feel tired/worn nor Disney-safari like.

I was afraid of the quality of the food given that this hotel tends to cater groups or people on set tours. All in all, while not 5* I was pleasantly surprised about both the variety and quality of it all. They always had local Kenyan dishes to try which is great !!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraManager, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on our lodge. We at Sarova Mara Game Camp are happy that you found our services meeting your standards. We pride ourselves on our Best of Kenya dishes and hope that we will have another opportunity to scintillate your taste buds with different and new dishes. I will pass your commendations to Grace the spa lady and the rest of the team here.
Regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was the most exiting destination for us for several reasons. The service by all the staff from the most junior to the most senior was uniform in being of very high class and it was clear that agreat deal of time and effort has been put in ensuring that ALL the staff work in perfect harmony! I cannot remember a time when I have been to a hotel and left with such a high impression.
The waiters seemed to have been trained to anticipate all our needs and seemed to be present and attentive at all times. I heard several other guests make similar comments.
Words do not begin to describe the meeting point between luxury and the rugged "bush" This is the place for those acustomed to luxury, as the rooms testify.

Room tip: The club rooms though more expensive are great value for those who enjoy space.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njengafrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraManager, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you. We are happy that our Refreshing African Hospitality made a high impression on you and we hope that we will be able to meet and indeed exceed your expectations again in the near future.
Karibu tena to Sarova Mara Game Camp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed two nights at the Masaai Simba Lodge withing the Massai Mara and it was wonderful: the people, the food, the rooms; every thing was perfect. We recommend it very highly. We were with Fkingssafaris and they did a great job arranging our 12 day safari.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank periquita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This game camp is an excellent place to stay in the Massai Mara,it is the fourth time in four years that we have stayed here and each time has been a joy. The staff are well trained and are always so friendly and love to help with anything you need and are always so quick and with a lovely smile.The Sarova hotels have a motto, Refreshing African Hospitality and they certainly live up to it is always a pleasure to stay with them. The accommodation is first class and so is the standard of the food ,you would have a hard time to find fault with them,as their standards are so high. It is also in a very good location in the Mara with lots of Game all around and their grounds are beautiful and well maintained,all in all an excellent place to stay,and we will be back again next year

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewart_brown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraManager, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage of Sarova Mara Game Camp. We are happy that in all the four times you have stayed with us our services have met your expectations. I will ensure that your positive comments are shared with the team here.
We look forward to providing you with our refreshing African Hospitality once again!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

* Fantastic location (it is in a forest in Masaai Mara National Reserve, has a lake and a river and little deers wander around)
* FANTASTIC rooms -tents actually- (romantic, cosy, luxurius and elegant)
* Great staff (very helpful, very friendly, very fast)
* Great variety of food

I definately suggest it!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NADIN_athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews