We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
183
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
14
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews finch hattons universal power river valley drinking champagne premium spirits hot water bottles south africa game drives management team infinity pool local village bush dinner mating pair dressed in traditional private deck worked tirelessly perfect end
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience and Mahali Mzuri was indeed a big part of that. Talk about impeccable service, beautiful/clean lodgings, excellent food and courteous and friendly staff. This was truly a beautiful experience. The game drives we went on with Alex did not leave us disappointed at all. He made the overall experience very comfortable, exciting and adventurous! We were even able to catch the migration … thanks to the energy and drive of Alex. We were able to also sneak a massage in ... Our only regret was not able to use the gorgeous pool because we didn't have enough time. It looked equally amazing like the rest of the place.

I can't say enough about Mahali Mzuri … you will not be disappointed. In fact it might make you want to keep going back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Fatema C,

On behalf of the entire team at Mahali Mzuri I wanted to thank you for sharing such a lovely review. It was nothing short of an honour to welcome you on your first safari experience; we may be biased but we can think of no better place than the Maasai Mara to fully immerse yourself in nature. The team were delighted to hear your kind words; none more so than Alex who was positively beaming, so thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future as you absolutely must take a dip in the pool; it’s one of my favourite spots to sit back and watch the animals!

Kind regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is one of the best camp resorts you would ever stay in. The way service was set up is very personal, from your own table in the dining room to your own server and driver during the safari.

The tents are pieces of art disguised as camping tents. The location on top of the gorge bank is one of kind. You unzip your window and you are right there amongst Elephants, Lions and other Savannah wild animals.

The staff is beyond friendly and operates at very high level of integrity and professionalism. Mariana, the camp manager was very knowledgeable and super informative.

The tents are architectural masterpieces even though they are not considered permanent structures. They were designed using light weight fabrics on a light weight aluminum frame. The amenities in the tents can be easily found in five star urban hotels, yet this place is in the middle of nowhere.

I can't stress how much we loved this camp and we recommend every visitor to stay there. It is worth every dollar and it is indeed unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book way in advance and avoid the rainy season.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 834emada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Emad A,

The whole team were over the moon when they read this jewel of a review and heard that you had an ‘unforgettable experience’, thank you for your thoughtful feedback! We have to agree that it’s a very magical experience to unzip your tent window and see the game wandering past, and we were all delighted to hear that you think of the tents as an ‘architectural masterpiece’. All of us were so touched to hear that you thought the team were ‘beyond friendly’ and operate with integrity and professionalism, and Mariana wanted to say a special thank you for your compliments. You have made her day! Thank you again for sharing such a special review with us, it really means so much and we only hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mahali Mzuri.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is one of the most magical places on earth. When you walk into the "camp" it will literally take your breath away. The beauty, the serenity, the wildlife viewing, etc. I have been to many safari lodges and this is the most beautiful and exceptional. The "tent" is a personal private oasis. the service is very personal - we had the same server every meal who anticipated our every want. Mariana, the general manager is charming and so warm and clearly runs a top show. A special shout out to Jackson, our safari guide for his depth of knowledge, wonderful humor and a deep desire for us to have an exceptional experience. This lodge thinks of everything you may desire form hot water bottles on early morning safaris to wonderful barbeques in the local style. I sound like I am gushing because I am. This place deserves it! We were in another very good lodge on the Maasai Mari savannah earlier in the week - this was a totally different experience in lodging, enjoyment and being on Safari.

Room Tip: all are wonderful - in your private "tent" overlooking an amazing valley filled with wildlife
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchGirlTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear DutchGirlTheHague,

I don’t think we could ask for a more magical review so let us start by saying thank you! We were all so touched to read your lovely compliments and to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your experience at Mahali Mzuri. We always hope to give a personal service and Mariana and Jackson both wanted to say a special thank you for your kind words; you will always have friends waiting for you here if you ever choose to return! We do very much hope that we might see you again one day in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

The view is extradinary, the game drives outstanding, the food fabulous, and the service out of this world. A leopard gave birth to two cubs beneath the spa area. It’s a story that ads charm to the “camp” and means that the visitor has a very high likelihood of seeing a leopard.
The staff is amazingly at tentative, and would be just as much at home in a London hotel as in the bush of the Mara.
The accommodations are spacious and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank vivdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Vivdot,

You certainly know how to make our day; thank you for sharing this extraordinary review! The team were delighted to hear your comments about the game drives, food and service. Of course it’s only a pleasure to share our favourite stories with our lovely guests so it was a pleasure to hear that you think these stories add to the camp’s charm! We hope that you will be back to see us again one day soon because we miss you already.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We stayed with my wife and everything was perfect. Staff is extremely helpful and get out of their way to make you feel like home. Food was great and the game drives were unbelievable. Location is stunning, we were able to see giraffes, zebras, lions, and impalas from our room!!

Room Tip: All rooms are as good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Camilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Camilo M,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review; it was our pleasure to welcome you to Mahali Mzuri and reading your great feedback has really made our day! We always hope that our guests will feel as though the camp is their ‘home away from home’ so we were particularly touched to hear that you agree. We would love to welcome the two of you back one day, and just hope we won’t have to wait too long.

Kind Regards,
Wilson Odhiambo
General Manager
Wilson.Odhiambo@mahalimzuri.virgin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews