We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO JUST ENJOY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Plains Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO JUST ENJOY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband and I agree with those who say our reviews cannot do this place justice. It's just such a great place with a homey, family type atmosphere. We were encouraged to be a part of the small community that is the plans camp. Lorna is a doll and very helpful. I'm fussy, and I was thrilled. Even my husband, who can be a bit of a crab enjoyed it tremendously. Cannot say enough good things!!!

Room Tip: They're all great, and for famiies.... they're adding a family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulsacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Mara plains. Our host, Lorna, and the staff were excellent.

The tents are very comfortable, with a bathroom facilities. The view from the deck in front of the river, hippos, monkeys and crocodile are pretty amazing. The common lounge area has an amazing view of the plains in front and the sunset is breathtaking.

The guides are knowledgeable and polite. We saw a lot of animals and the camp ensured it was always comfortable, with packed food when necessary and plenty of drinks.

The camp is in a conservancy just outside the national park. So it doesn't get crazy busy and there are few over-noisy loutish types that frequent the 100 bed facilities. Its well worth the money.

The food at the camp was excellent. For lunch, it was buffet style, with one meat or fish and lots of salads. For dinner there is usually choice between meat/fish and vegetarian.

Sundowners (drink at sun set) out on the plains and pre dinner drinks around the fire on the lawn was fantastic. Most of the drinks are included, so it was easy.

The camp was very accommodative. They gave us a packed lunch on the way back home, when we realised there wasnt enough time between planes and airports.

We would definitely stay here again. Loved the experience and the people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaqubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our 2 families of 4 were fortunate to be the only guests at the Mara Plains Camp in the last 4 days. Richard and Lorna, our very warm and gracious hosts, Ping, our knowledgeable and efficient Masai guide and driver, as well as the wonderful chefs and staff, all made our stay a very nice and unforgettable experience. For my husband and I, the surprise bushland champagne lunch (near Mara River) to celebrate our wedding anniversary, organised by Ian Johnson (our safari guide who himself deserves a 5-star rating), Richard and Lorna, was most memorable. The camp itself was very well-run, the tents were adequately luxurious with ample supply of hot water (much appreciated after the dusty and gritty game drives) and nightly lullabies from the bush babies and hippos! We even had the resident croc paying us a visit on the bank right in front of our tent.

Our 4 kids aged 11-15 thoroughly enjoyed the game drives. We were truly lucky to have witnessed a kill by 3 cheetah siblings, a total of 16 lions (4 male offspring of Notch, the most famous character in the Masai Mara, devoured a hippo; 6 lionesses from the Paradise pride, etc) and 10 spotted cats (the cheetahs, Olive the leopard and her cubs, Pretty Girl and hers, Belanitis ...), and herds of elephants and giraffes. The Masai Mara experience was a fitting finale to our 14 days in Tanzania and Kenya.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wansingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Mara Plains Camp in the Masai Mara. The overall experience was fantastic and it's actually really difficult to comprehensively describe and do justice to how great it was. So I'll just go through the different component experiences instead of providing a narrative trip report.

Game Drives -- We had two game drives per day, an early morning one from 6:30 a.m. to 11:30 or so, which included a nice breakfast under the shade of a tree. The evening game drive was from 4:30 p.m. to a little after 7:00 p.m. and included watching the beautiful sunset on the Mara Plains. Our guide, Daniel, was fantastic. He is from the Masai tribe, grew up in the area, speaks excellent English, and is incredibly knowledgeable about the land, animals, etc. He also has amazing vision and awareness of where animals are or might be and always asked us what we wanted to see. Daniel was also very conscientious about getting close enough to the animals to get photos, but not impeding or interfering with the animals in their natural habitat. My friend and I were privately taken on these game drives and were the only ones in the specially modified Land Cruiser that was open and had raised seats for optimal viewing.

The Conservancy -- The Mara Plains Camp is on a conservancy. I didn't fully grasp the implications of this, but basically, because we were not in the National Park, we were not "competing" with other vehicles to see animals on the game drives. From what I think I understand, there are only 3-4 camps on the Conservancy, which means that we would often go on drives and not see any other trucks at all. Very nice.

Hosts -- The manager, Richard, and his assistant, Lorna, were our hosts. Richard has UK heritage, but was raised in Kenya. Thus, he was incredibly knowledgeable about the country, the people, the land, the animals, etc. Lorna is from Scotland and spent lots of time in the UK. Both Richard and Lorna were fantastic hosts, who not only helped us with all of our needs, but also shared lunches and dinners with us in the dining areas of the camp. They were great conversationalists, lots of fun, and just really sweet people. They accompanied my friend and I on a hike/walk in a canyon area one morning and this was one of the highlights of the trip. My friend had brought a new camera along on the trip and the battery malfunctioned on the first day. Lorna, a photographer, graciously lended my friend her very nice digital SLR camera with telephoto lens. Very sweet. We also met the General Manager of the camp, David, who had come by for a visit. He was excellent company for dinner one night.

Meals -- My friend and I had requested vegan (no animal products) meals and the chef, Moses, cooked fantastic lunches and dinners for us. Lunch was served outside under trees on the camp and was first class with lots of attention from the staff. Dinner was served inside the open air dining/living room area of the camp and again was first class dining. As mentioned before, we took all meals with Richard, Lorna, and a Guide Trainer up from South Africa and the meals were very pleasant, very tasty, and very relaxing.

Room -- Our room was a luxury tent with a large porch/patio with hammocks overlooking a river. Very peaceful and awesomely decorated with what looked like handmade furniture in the style of the Masai Mara. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was nice, yoga mat was provided. All of the amenities. A very nice room with a great view of monkeys, hippos, and a crocodile.

Overall -- Highly recommended place for friends, couples, or families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My stay at Mara Plains was my third camp in the Mara and was the best so far. Being just outside of the main park means that guests don't have to fight the main crowds and often you are the only vehicle on a sighting.
The camp itself is small and perfectly formed, with a really special location on a river. It is tucked away, so not an eyesore unlike many others locally and the tents are a notch above others I've stayed in. And I believe they are about to undergo a total refit so they'll be even more special soon.
Food, service and guides were all excellent and for my friend's Birthday they went out of their way to do special surprise champagne sun downers which were really special.
As an extra treat we took our own private guide Warren Samuels who was the original founder of the camp. Though no longer associated with it, he has good connections there and they'll let him drive you in your own private vehicle if you take him along. If you want to upgrade your safari experience it is definitely worth considering booking him. See www.wildvisionadventures.com for his contact details.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondeonwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
46.3 km away
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Cottar's 1920's Camp
#28 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
17.2 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
22.7 km away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#29 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.2 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.5 km away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#8 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Plains Camp

Property: Mara Plains Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve 0000, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,154 - ₹ 43,572
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small, high quality, seven tented camp under canvas, located within the private Olare Motorogi Conservancy and just a few hundred meters to the north of the Maasai Mara National Reserve boundary. Guests can game drive in both the Maasai Mara National Reserve and the private Conservancy away from the crowds. It is a fabulous wildlife reserve of 30 000 acres, rich in wildlife (with all the predators and big cats in particular), with the lowest vehicle density in the Mara, no mini-buses and only one guest room per 700 acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Mara Plains Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Plains Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Plains Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing