We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the world”
Review of Kizingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kizingo
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This place should be visited by everyone it is on a beautiful island (lamu). The hosts Mary Jo, Dion and Louis are the kindest most welcoming and helpful people I have ever met and their stories are hilarious. I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone and do not worry about safety at all the press are completely taking the story way over the top so ignore them.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seagullsarethebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here for a few days rest and relaxation to round off our holiday in Kenya.

I cannot praise Kizingo highly enough. A truly relaxing and chilled environment in which you can kick off your shoes and forget the world.

Our banda was roomy and comfortable and very private with plenty of solar heated hot water for the wonderful shower, an amazing water saving loo and a huge comfortable bed. It was just divine to be woken up with a flask of tea/coffee in the morning and then to amble over to the lodge for breakfast. We also loved the tea and cake served at your banda at 4.00 pm.

Mary Jo, Louis, Dion and all of the staff (particularly Alex) are all so welcoming and friendly. They all made our stay truly memorable.

The food was superb - fresh fish or shellfish twice a day, delicious salads and scrumptious puddings - all served with smile! My food highlight was the crab with ginger - wonderful!

I'm sad to read the negative press about Lamu. We never felt that our security was compromised at any time during our stay at Kizingo. I have travelled to some pretty dangerous places in the world over the past few years - Despite the apparent risk from Somali raiders, Lamu would rank in the bottom 1%. Kizingo is well away from the deepwater channel between Lamu town and Manda and consequently seems very safe (to me, at least)

I hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: All the bandas seem to be lovely. Buy your Kikoys here - a great range and much cheaper than elsewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I recently visited Kizingo during a 3 week stay in Kenya. We traveled the country and saw many wonderful things while we were in Kenya but Kizingo was definitely a highlight. When we walked into our Banda, I was pleasantly surprised about the size and the beauty of the room. While the amenities were great, what really makes this resort unique is the quality of the service. Mary Jo, Louis, Dion and the complete staff were a pleasure to be around and excellent hosts. We unfortunately were there after a security scare on the Kenyan coast but never felt uneasy or afraid about our safety on the island. If you are questioning the security of the resort, be assured that the location is on the south end on the island and there are many towns located along the channel. Although one recent kidnapping occurred closer to Lamu, it would be much more difficult for this to happen here given the nautical logistics, security and number to towns along the way. If this is a concern to you, Kizingo's location should help put you at ease. I will never forget Kizingo and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andikw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently returned from Kizingo and quite frankly am lost for words to describe this most memorable place other than to say it is "Heaven on Earth". The Banda's (rooms) are extremely spacious and the beds enormous. The hosts, Mary Jo, Louis and Dion are warm, hospitable and most entertaining. I am dining out on the tales of Africa they shared with us over a drink at the bar. The staff are delightful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The excursions into Lamu town, Kipingani village and Snorkelling with Louis to view the dolphins must be up there in the 10 most wonderful things to do. I must add to this, walking along that gorgeous uninhabited beach stopping on route to dive into the sea - absolute bliss. We were there in the last two weeks and I felt safe and not in the least bit threatened. We have pretty much travelled all over the world and it just doesn't get better than this. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Kizingo is exactly as you see on the pictures, just by the beach, a lot of funny crabs running around and the bandas (your accommodation hut) which is much bigger than a 5 star hotel room and makes the place very special. But without the helpful, generous and welcoming staff and owners Kizingo wouldn't have been the same. It's the best place we've ever stayed to relax and not do anything perfect after months of stressful wedding-planning. Food is fantastic from crab and lobster to amazing Moroccan fish. When you arrive to Lamu you're picked up in a boat and taken about 40 min through the mangroves to Kizingo - which is a stunning trip. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Buy your Kikoy here, much cheaper than the airport Don't be scared about the crabs - they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kirran80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
12 km away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
128 reviews
11.9 km away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
12.5 km away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
13 reviews
12.2 km away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
11.9 km away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kizingo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizingo

Address: P.O. Box 138, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range: ₹ 12,065 - ₹ 19,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kizingo is the ultimate 'no news, no shoes’ beach resort - a wonderful secluded and tranquil escape from the modern world. The lodge is situated at one end of a spectacular 12-kilometre beach that stretches from Kizingo (which means 'the point’ in Swahili) to the fashionable village of Shela. Kizingo has eight beautifully appointed bandas (thatched cottages), set well apart from each other. In the early morning you can enjoy tea in bed and watch fishing dhows tack south to Malindi.Guests can be as private or as social as they wish, opting to enjoy fine dining on the balcony of their banda or join other guests in the bar and the dining room with their magnficent views across the bay to mainland Kenya where giant baobab trees spread into the brilliant blue sky.Kizingo is owned and run by the van Aardt family, who were all born in Africa. Due to their long and close relationship with the local village, its chief leased them this stunning beachfront land to build a small resort that is both eco-friendly and very comfortable. Like all the best resorts in Kenya, Kizingo has a symbiotic relationship with the local village, an hour away on foot, and with farmers on the mainland who grow food and make furniture for the lodge.The swimming is excellent, both in the Indian Ocean and in the calm waters of the channel that separates Lamu from the mainland. For the more energetic there is a big choice of activities including a guided tour of historic Lamu Town, excellent snorkelling, the chance to swim with dolphins in the winter months and cycle rides to friendly African villages on the mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kizingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kizingo Hotel Lamu Island
Kizingo Resort Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing