We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The One and Only Place on Earth”
other traveller has booked this property
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach. Forodhani swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach.
Forodhani swimming pool
The front entrance.
The main lounge, spacy.
View from all terraces.
Entrance to the dining room.
View from the dining room.
One of the double bedrooms.
The master bedroom.
Forodhani terrace on the beach
Sunset from the terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lamu Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
fduffau
MOMBASA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The One and Only Place on Earth”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Hi Isabelle and all the crew of Forodhani house, wishing you another amazing year in Lamu, hoping to see you very very soon in your magic palace on the water, sipping Madafu upon glorious sunsets, this is the one and absolutely only place on earth where time truly stops and One can fully resource of positive energy, see you soon guys, very very soon !!! Frank Kylie Annalie and Cammie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility, friendly staff, freedom and amazing seafood
Liked least: leaving ...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionnet...
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BLISS !”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Forodhani House overlooks the Indian Ocean waters.
I loved this place and these holidays, very caring and sweet staff, beautiful beach and sea-views, amazing location, the swahili people, their culture, their smiles... Come to Lamu and Forodhani you'll probably enjoy like us your best holidays ever.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We came to forodhani hotel for our staff end year party and I can gladly say that the house is more of a palace. Being just next to the sea and having a pool by the gate gives the house a superior image. It's so relaxing being around here and the staff are so welcoming. Thank you Isabelle for such a wonderful paradise in the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isa_in_af...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lamu and Amazing House”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with all our friends at Forodhani House and we were not disappointed.
Set on the beach, backed by the village, just near the jetty, the location is perfect. Activities plentiful from waterski to sailing - an impeccable service and a very good Chef, gorgeous spacious house with seaviews from everywhere. We highly recommend booking this house. Lamu is a special place and well worth the visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the house
Liked least: Our stay was too short! :(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of the best in shela”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I've been to Lamu many times- including getting married there in 2010 and I know the houses well- I've probably stayed in about 10 different properties in Shela and have visited many others. Most of the places I've stayed have been stunning however, Forodhani is in my opinion the 2nd nicest (beach house is the best - but only by a slim margin). The house is mindblowing! Perfectly located in the centre of everything with stunning views of the water ( we watched Dolphins playing in the bay while having morning tea in bed! Pretty impressive) We stayed with a big group including a 11month old toddler. The top room is perfect for families with small babes as its huge and you have a very safe balcony and lots of safe space for them to run wild with the door to your quarters locked so they don't end up on the stairs. The staff are lovely, incredibly discrete and made amazing food. I will without question go back to forodhani and strongly recommend it to one and all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing