We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
129
38
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
38
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jambo house rooftop terrace the owner dhow trip budget accommodation old town lamu town welcome drink place to stay useful information ceiling fan rooms are clean private bathroom helpful with tips sunset tour watch the sunset the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Thanks to Arnold and Adam for the great time spent in Jambo.
Very nice room, clean, and a beautiful terrace on the roof.
ARNOLD give a lot of useful information about about kenya tours.
Lamu is probably one of the best city of kenya.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank PhilHeritier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Can't recommend this place enough - Arnold has done an outstanding job at JamboHouse. Abdu, who works with owner Arnold, met me at the airport, helping me get onto the boat and to the B&B. The rooms are rustic but super-clean, spacious and comfortable, with fans to help beat the heat. The breakfasts are delicious and wholesome, and Adamum Arnold's right-hand man, is very patient and lovely. Arnold is passionate about Jambo House and Lamu, and is incredibly helpful with tips on what to do, where to eat and how to get around and can organise wonderful excursions such as sunset walks, cruises and even cooking classes. The view from the rooftop deck is special - make sure you catch sunrise and sunset there. The place is about 300 metres from the seafront, going through the maze of narrow roads of old Lamu town. Lamu itself is amazing - wonderful to see Swahili culture up close. Only thing that got to me were the open drains, funky smells and litter, but that's just how it is.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anapgmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We visited Lamu in January. We spent 5 nights at Jambo house with Arnold and his staff who were fantastic.
We loved our holidays there, Arnold is very helpful. Since we planned our trip, he helped us step by step. We always like to visit new places, but if we had another occasion to go, we'd definitely go back. We recommend Jambo House if you'll visit Lamu.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mbeleje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

If you would like to stay in Lamu, stay at Jambo House - Arnold and Adam made my and my friend's stay really special. A lot of useful advice, delicious breakfasts and really really kind people. Also arranged two trips: one sunset walk and one boat trip to the Mangroves. We loved the location too - in a quiet part of the town, yet close to restaurants, bars and a walk away from Lamu's famous beach Shela. Couldn't recommend it more. Thank you!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GregDrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The room we stayed in was clean and had a private bathroom. The rooftop deck is the best part of the house- get some breeze, catch the sunset and sunrise, meet new people and of course run into the lovely host. Easy access from the pier. The host can organise accompanied walks in the town, dhow rides, walks to the sun dunes.. you name it! If it's in Lamu- you can be sure the host knows it and has advise for you.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank zipoakinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews