We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$115
View deal
Hotels.com$115
Travelocity$115
Orbitz.com$115
Tripadvisor$115
Vio.com
Etrip
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
3
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
5
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The people here are great and we felt SO SAFE! They are associated with IntoAfrica and we stayed there before, after and in between our two safaris. They will serve up to 3 meals per day for a modest charge and the decor is delightful! It is totally made of rocks! The staff are so considerate and helpful. They have plenty of vehicles and were able to take us to several spots nearby, saving the effort of making our own arrangements. They are adding more rooms. While we were there we were delighted to witness a graduation party and a children's birthday party. We stored luggage there for a week - so many ways they helped us out!

Room tip: Note: They have rooms that open to the outside and also rooms that open to the inside of the building, depending on what you like.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ColvilleB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 May 2015

The place is just so homey! We went here for Easter and despite it being a rainy weekend we felt very warm. The 1st thing that gets you is the gate, so creatively done! You immediately want to know what's inside. And it doesn't disappoint. The entire place is made out of well done bolders. Sooo creative! It's not on large grounds but this just serves to make it more personal and quaint. The rooms are quite big and clean, spacious beds and a huge bathroom. The food felt very home-made, not your typical hotel food. And it came in generous servings. Beautiful pool area as well. Please remember to carry your own toothpaste though as they don't stock or sell it. Overall, i loved it!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We stayed two nights on arrival in East Africa and had a day-stay on leaving. This place will be hard to beat for the price and the friendliness. It is FAR more personal than a city-centre hotel as well as being in a safer and less polluted area. On previous visits to Kenya, I've stayed in the city centre - but no more. It is located in Karen (with Ms Blixen's place and other attractions nearby) and, though further from the airport than the city centre, the traffic to the airport is less a problem - and the hotel collected us and delivered us. The rooms are very clean with excellent showers, good mozzie nets, kettle and other items. The dining room has tv with free Internet in an alcove. Meals are more than plentiful, good quality, and cooked to order. The friendliness of the owners and staff are the making of this place. (They also arranged our transport across Kenya to the Tanzanian border and to and from the Maasai Mara Game Park - such a good service.) On our last day, we had the use of a room on arrival in the afternoon and a meal before continuing to the airport for our night flight - excellent service!

Room tip: The original building is of unusual design on the outside but the rooms are standard size with bathroom en-suite. There is a new extension with similar provision where the rooms are slightly larger and airier.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I stayed at Rock House twice in February 2015, before and after going on a week long tour of Kenya. The hotel is very comfortable, with clean rooms, a beautiful front patio, a great pool area and onsite dining. We ate breakfast here every morning and dinner twice, the meals were all delicious with plenty of food.

I usually don’t like staying in the suburbs when I travel but the location of Rock House is very good because there are so many activities in the surrounding area. The best part of this hotel was the staff, hands down! I was travelling with my husband and another couple and when we all returned for our 2nd stay it felt like coming home. I would like to thank Samuel for driving us to all the sights, Lydia and Hosea for their amazing food and company, Marianne for being so sweet, George for walking us to the Giraffe centre and Patrick and his wife for being such gracious hosts!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We got here late at night and had a problem getting someone to hear the bell to open the gate. Once in we were taken right to our room and settled in. The room was a little warm but windows had no screens so you couldn't open them. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of room for luggage. The room was clean and a water heater was provided for tea or coffee. Also provided was a robe and flip flops. Soap only was provided so you need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner. And body lotion. There was no hair dryer in the room. A full breakfast was provided. We ate our fill of toast, cereal and fruit and were getting ready to leave when we were told that eggs, bacon and sausage were also being prepared! We had no room. So lots of food options were provided and it was all good.

The facilities are interesting and the hotel was quiet and secluded. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a moderately priced room

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews