We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms, good location, SLOW service”
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heron Portico
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good sized rooms, good location, SLOW service”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. The hotel is close to the centre of town. The room was good, very spacious with a separate seating area and a small kitchenette (sink/microwave/toaster). I had no view (unless you count the view onto the opposite corridor of rooms across a very small open space) but as I was working it didn't really matter. The bathroom is fine, there's a large shower with good water pressure. Breakfast is the usual cereal/fruit/bread buffet with eggs cooked to order. I ate dinner on a couple of nights and it was also fine, nothing fantastic. The biggest complaint I have is the extraordinarily slow service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner. The staff are all terribly nice and polite but if you're in a hurry I wouldn't bother ordering.
The pool looked nice although I didn't get a chance to use it. There is a sign for a gym but it seems to be under construction.
I would return on business but not on holiday. The reason I would return is primarily location followed by room size.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift, it pings loudly every time it opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    180
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
41
48
48
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Went with a group for a safari so didnt choose this hotel myself. It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was not bad. It is in a leafy suburb of the city. Ok for a group trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Spent one night here while en-route to South Sudan, the hotel is located in a quiet part of Nairobi just by the Police Headquarters, staff are friendly and the rooms are a decent size with internet and Satellite TV. Bathrooms are nice with a powerful shower. I think it represents good value for money and I wish I had the chance to test the swimming pool as it looked decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piero8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a very good property in Nairobi, and a great value for price. The rooms are cute, and well priced. There is a decent swimming pool, and a good lunch place. In addition, the bar is quite good. There are several business travelers here. It is well located near the Pan Afric, and safe, because across from the police.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights, and was given a room on the east wing. This proved to be a quiet area, colleagues closer to the elevator were a bit disturbed by this (late night arrivals). Good beds, spotless rooms, large bathroom and decent internet made for a pleasant stay. Attentive staff, friendly and safe atmosphere was also appreciated. Breakfast was a treat, and dinners were good. Also tried the bistro one evening, which was also very good. I wouldn't know all that much about prices, but found the gift shop reasonable. Quiet area, too. A nice walk to downtown, but remember a hat and sun screen...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Property: The Heron Portico
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 10,343
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing