We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Nairobi”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Nairobi”
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This is a really beautiful hotel with the feel of a private villa. The furnishings in the public areas and in the rooms are of a very high standard. The gardens are wonderful and perfect for relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful. All in all a very relaxing and welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are large, quiet, and individually and tastefully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berbelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    51
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
60
114
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Where do I start! This is just an amazing place to stay! All the people are friendly are more than willing to help in anybpossible way, from the cleaning staff up to management! The rooms are spacious, neat and most important very clean! The food is absolutely great! Thank you house of WAINE for an unforgettable stay!

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liezl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Liezl, Greetings from House of Waine. It was a pleasure to read your review, what wonderful feedback you have given us, thank you. We look forward to having you back for another great stay and wish you all the very best for 2017. Warm Regards, House of team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We did not know what to expect as the election of House of Waine was made last minute as it was a launching point for our Safaris to both Tanzania and Kenya. This is a charming country inn with a feel of being in your own home. The service was impeccable as of course the team at the Waine could not do enough for us was we were 2 couples. On the morning we had to be up and on our way at 4am The Waine kitchen made a wonderful box breakfast to go. Our king bed suite was enormous and we had a wonderful stay. Thanks to the House of Waine.

Room Tip: Every accommodation is similar and has everything you need for a weekend or a Business Trip.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SteveH318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Steve, Greetings from House of Waine. It was a pleasure to read your review, what wonderful feedback you have given us, thank you. We look forward to having you back for another great stay and wish you all the very best for 2017. Warm Regards, House of team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Dear All
I visited the house of waine in Nairoubi Kenya on the begining of november 2016.
1000 US$ has been taken from the safe of my room . When i realized what happened i contacted the manager Mr Steven who seemed at first very touched and helpful but later did nothing to fix the matter.
Be careful never leave money in the safe in the room it is not safe at all .thank you

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank soheilassouad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Mr. Assouad,
Thank you for staying with us at the beginning of November, we appreciate your custom. We apologize if you feel that we have not done enough to address your concerns and we would like to assure you that we take our guests' security very seriously.
As you saw during your stay the property is located in a low density high security residential area and is fully secured on all sides with electric fencing. We have two gates manned by security personnel at all times and the only people who are on the property at any one time have a reservation with us. As such we are not a high traffic property. A high percentage of our staff have also been with us since we opened the hotel and have never given us cause to question their integrity.

Additionally, all our public areas are covered by recorded CCTV and all the rooms have both locks and deadbolts. Each room is fitted with a digital safe whose security code is known only to guests who set them to their own preference. In the event that a code is forgotten we have an override mechanism known only to four members of senior management and administration including myself. However apart from myself none of the other administration staff are permitted to be in occupied guest rooms unless our guests are present and even then it has to be for a specific reason.

With all this having been said, upon receipt of your report of the incident we began investigations immediately which included a review of all the hotel CCTV footage paying specific emphasis to the footage of the individuals entering and leaving your room during the course of your stay. In addition we have interviewed members of staff on duty during your stay and also examined the safe in the room that you stayed in to ensure it was not tampered with.
Our review of the CCTV footage showed that apart from members of your part​y the only personnel who accessed your room during your stay were the duly authorized housekeeping team who do not have access to the safe override mechanism. The safe has also been tested and is functioning within normal parameters. Our interviews with staff in all departments have so far not yielded any substantive conclusions. Throughout this process we have at all times kept in communication with you as to the progress we are making.

We sympathize with you and will continue to keep the investigation open and will keep you appraised should we have any new information.

If you have any further queries or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2016

My husband and I would like to express our gratitude and recommend highly, this amazing spot for a romantic night. We stayed here after our wedding before the honeymoon and boy were we in for a treat! I'd been to the hotel severally on business, but felt that due to close proximity to our wedding venue and their personalized and excellent service, they would still offer what we needed for our special night. We were right! We booked the place several months in advance, and they also allowed us to also select our favorite room before hand. On the night itself, we received a royal and exceedingly friendly welcome. We found Amo, and he did everything he could to make our stay memorable. They gave us great meal, a comfortable room and undisturbed time to catch some much needed rest before our flight the next morning. When we came back a few weeks later we found that they had even tried to preserve for me my wedding bouquet which we had left behind! It is gestures such as these, which we remember for a long time to come. Asanteni sana.

Room Tip: Ask to be shown the rooms available before selecting. They all have distinctive decor, and you can c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Thank you for choosing House of Waine, it was a pleasure hosting you again on your special day. We re happy you found our rooms comfortable, meals great, service excellent, our team warm, welcoming and had a memorable stay.

We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 165 in Nairobi
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,279 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 165 in Nairobi
1,009 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 165 in Nairobi
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,573 - ₹ 47,750
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing