We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Hotels.com
$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Travelocity$56
Priceline$95
ZenHotels.com$60
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
37
51
19
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
51
19
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

This is more like a small guesthouse unless you are booking the cabins. The location is very good for many of the surrounding attractions (Nairobi National Park, David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens, Bomas of Kenya) as well as the International Airport and Train Station. A shopping centre is very close by for any banking, shopping, dining needs.
The staff at Troy are friendly, very accommodating and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and pillows and netting. Breakfast is fresh and has ample choices. They also serve excellent lunch and dinner a la carte with good selection to suit many tastes.
There is a pool with lounge chairs and a brand new pool bar to enjoy.
The hotel charges a bit too much for airport pick up. We used Uber 3 times for a fraction of the cost and that was an excellent deal.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lorrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

Very helpful staff & smiley. Very nice Garden with different kinds of birds & swimming pool. 24 hour restaurant & caffee, very near to gala mall. Very easy in & out, at any time you reach you enter your room.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Salalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Even with a late 10 pm check in after a long flight, check in was welcoming, pleasant, and easy. The economy room was very large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The staff was very friendly and nice. The grounds are quiet and attractive. The Karen location is very close and convenient to the Galeria Mall, David Sheldricks Elephant Orphanage,the Giraffe Center,Karen Blixen House, and the Nairobi National Park. Stay safely and economically here so you can give more to the Elephant Orphanage and support their great work.The Troy Hotel is doing everything right! Thanks for a great and pleasant stay!

Room tip: Even our economy room was large and comfortable...larger than it appeared in pictures
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lee ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Absolutely great location for touring- Nairobi Animal Park, the area of Karen, as well as downtown Nairobi. Super clean, great meals, even can do your laundry and make a driver available for you! They became more like family to me. I look forward to staying there again and again.

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

This was my first time to Africa as well as my first international mission trip. We stayed here for 6 nights, and before arriving I honestly wasn't quite sure what to expect. I was happily surprised, and loved our time here.

The hotel is located off the main road directly across from the Nairobi National Park. It's set far enough from the road that you feel like you're in a different world. The grounds were well taken care of, and it was a beautiful property. All of the couples stayed in the main part of the hotel, while the other members of our group stayed in the bungalows. Personally I liked the bungalows better as they were two bedrooms, with a common area that had a living room as well as a mini kitchen.

Every morning we had breakfast at the hotel, and while some of the food is expectedly different than at home, it was great. They have a chef that cooks fresh eggs, omelettes etc every morning. We also had dinner a few nights on property as well which was great. From chicken, to amazing fish and curry dishes. Each meal was prepared with care and as we were a large group of 22-24, they made sure we never ran out.

The entire trip was life changing and I hope to return to the country and Hotel Troy some day.

Room tip: Bungalows have a lot of space as well as a kitchen area should you have some of your own food.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank brandychey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews