We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a night..”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good enough for a night..”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived at the hotel late one evening on the way to Masai Mara. We were greeted with refreshments by the hotel staff who were polite and friendly. The check in process went smoothly. The room (508) was spacious, had a t.v with English channels, a safe, a mosquito net (although not needed, there weren't any mosquitoes) and a balcony. The surroundings were very green. The hotel breakfast area was spacious. The breakfast itself was also good. My only complaint would be the sheets, towels and the bathroom - didn't look very clean (probably were clean but looked old, stained and worn out).

Room Tip: we stayed in 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea_cornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    248
    98
    34
    17
See reviews for
57
113
33
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
277 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for one night in February prior to commencing a weeks safari. We arrived at 8.30 in the morning after an overnight flight from London. We were taken to a room within 15 minutes of arriving. This was very impressive for this time of day. The room was large and had a nice balcony. After a sleep we explored the grounds which are both very large and very attractive. We took a couple of drinks on the bar verandah. The trees and plants around this were stunning. We ate at the Nyama Choma Ranch which was a real feast. The staff were extremely attentive and both the band that played during the meal and the Safari Cat Show were the highest quality. It was an excellent evening.

The only down side to the hotel was the swimming pool. I cannot believe that anyone has had the courage to enter the water for a considerable time.

Overall, our short stay was really good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Traveling with my 81 year old mother in January, we stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights. It is surrounded in beautifully planted grounds, and has many amenities that are available for your enjoyment. The staff were quick to respond to requests and always pleasant and very helpful. The fact that the hotel had four restaurants in its complex, one each of African, European, Italian and Asian cuisine, made it super convenient when we came in late each evening after fighting traffic to return.

The main problem with the hotel is location. The traffic in Nairobi is horrendous. Think LA rush hour x 2 (but without any honking of horns!) They are building new roads in the city, and there is national movement underfoot to start providing various government services in outlying municipalities, so that so many people in the nation do not have to come into Nairobi to do business. However, until that happens, and more roads are built, the traffic will remain very, very congested. So, certainly stay at this hotel, but keep in mind where it is in relation to the things you want to see. For us having to travel 1 1/2 - 2 hours each morning to get to the other side of town for the Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen home/Museum, Kazuri Bead factory, Natural History Museum, the small airport to fly to see the Maasai, and many other things we enjoyed while in Nairobi, really frustrated us, and lost us a lot of time we could have used doing other fun things.
The hotel restaurants were really good. We ate at the Italian restaurant and the european one (same place as breakfast buffet - which was really good!). Sadly, I got violently ill for a 24 hour period while staying at the hotel, and could not partake in the Afrian or Asian restaurants - but I am sure they were just as good as the other two. Catherine, the Guest Services Coordinator, could not have been more helpful to us in our requests for information.

Room Tip: Our room was back by the pool/restaurant area, which was nice and quiet, and we looked out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo (Belgium)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

As we had a lot of things to celebrate we decided to go for the first time to Africa. Kenya was a good choice to start with, and the safari Park hotel was recommended.
We stayed for 5 days - doing safaris in between - and came back after our trip to Zanzibar before going home.
The hotel has great accomodation : different restaurants,nice shops, a wonderful garden, a nice swimming pool, and very friendly people working there.
It is really a good place to stay.
The only remark is that the bed is really hard to sleep on :-(

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veerle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very touristy place in the heart of Nairobi, crowded with people coming and going, not a pleasant place to relax. From some rooms the traffic noise can be heard. Room furbishing is simple, but not bad. Bathrooms ok. No nice panorama from the terraces, garden could be better. Breakfast: except for ony type of bread, wide choice, but bad quality. Drinks overpriced. Dinner: we tried the Nyama Choma restaurant - same type as Carnivore, so no surprise, I wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,386 - ₹ 30,771
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing