We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
ZenHotels.com
$143
View deal
Hotels.com$166
Priceline$175
Travelocity$166
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
953
483
108
40
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
953
483
108
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorn tree thai restaurant exchange bar stock exchange historical hotel pool deck classic hotel fifth floor late check visiting nairobi rooms are spacious masai mara security safari kenya concierge cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2022

It's a 5* hotel. If it was an Ibis, I'd give it a 5* rating. But it's not, and expectations of a 5* hotel really weren't met.

It's old-fashioned, and that's part of its appeal. The room furniture was stained but everything was perfectly clean and well-maintained. Just with no touches to make you think you were in a 5* hotel. The toiletries were of dubious quality - the hotel's already saving money with environmentally-friendly dispensers, so at least put something decent inside them.

Wi-fi was appalling - the worst I've had in a hotel in years. It cut out frequently without warning, and I ended up leaving my phone on mobile data - though I had to endure the poor service on my laptop. There were no plugs anywhere near the bed either, you had to charge your devices at the desk. The room has plainly not been modernised for the connected generation.

Staff were friendly and efficient throughout, though the breakfast staff were a bit robotic and inattentive. Talking of breakfast, there were a lot of choices but everything I tried just didn't taste very good. It looked at first glance like the breakfast spread I've had at Fairmont Norfolk or Sankara, but with wilted lettuce, stale cheese and disappointing French bread, by the third day I was just eating cereal with their really pretty bad coffee.

Was it terrible? Far from it, it was overall pretty good. And buying it via Destinia for about 30% less than other online travel agents and indeed the hotel's own website, the rate was very good for a 5* hotel.

But it didn't feel like a 5* hotel. Nairobi has moved on, and now has several great 5* hotels. The Sarova Stanley needs to find a way to build on its heritage to stay in the game.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Duncun Mwangi, Other at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2022

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for making us your preferred hospitality partner during your recent visit to Nairobi and for sparing your time to share your valuable review with us.

Beyond upholding Sarova Stanley's heritage character, we remain committed to making all touch points of our guests' experiences memorable. We have noted the areas in which we regrettably fell short of your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies.

The team and I give you our assurance that each of the areas you have highlighted has our attention for correction and improvement. We have laid out an action plan to address each area of concern.

Please Reach me at duncun.mwnagi@sarovahotels.com when you plan your future visit to Nairobi, as we look forward to the opportunity of customizing your stay experience better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2022 via mobile

We had stayed here for 2 nights.....A wonderful stay...Staff were courteous, polite and warm and helpful....They did everything to help us and guide us in need....For example if we wanted to visit a near by place and couldnt find a way, they guided us right upto our destination, which made it much more easier for us.
All the staff were ever smiling and polite..Breakfast was top of the world...location was good..And anytime my next visit to nairobi would be no where but stanley saravar.

I am glad I stayed here and my strong recommendation for anyone visiting Nairobi, must stay at this property...

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Duncun Mwangi, Other at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for making us your preferred hospitality partner during your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are delighted to read of your experience and interactions with our associates and the memorable times that they accorded you. We are glad to know that once again their all lived up to our service promise of Refreshing African Hospitality.

We appreciate your high endorsement of Sarova Stanley and of our services. We are honored by your high recommendation and your promise of making us your hotel of choice in Nairobi. In deed we look forward to hosting you again as well as all your referrals in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022

Poor customer service from Susan( who claimed to be the duty manager),very unprofessional , shouting at guests and claiming to work in a five star such a pity, please look into your staff's attitude,they are wanting.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Centrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roselyne Simiyu, Other at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sarova Stanley Hotel.

Thank you for your support and for sparing time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your interaction with one of our managers.

We appreciate your feedback as it acts as a yardstick of our performance giving us an opportunity to attend to areas that did not meet your expectations.

We shall be engaging you individually using your contact details with us .

We look forward to another opportunity of hosting you at Sarova Hotels.

Alternatively ,Please feel free to reach out directly to our GM on duncun.mwangi@sarovahotels.com. He will be more than happy to personally tailor-make your next experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Roselyne Simiyu
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2022

We had a fun and wonderful stay at this hotel. The people that work here are the best. They could not be more helpful, and are Genuinely kind and good at their jobs. Especially Caroline at the front desk. Every person who worked at this hotel was great.
Thank you!!!!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100debbiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Duncun Mwangi, Other at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for sparing your time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that our associates accorded you genuine hospitality.
We agree with you that our associates are one of our greatest asset. We have taken liberty to recognize and celebrate Caroline's effort in affording you a memorable stay; as well as shared your review with our entire Sarova Stanley family.

We look forward to the privilege of hosting you again in the not distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2022

We stayed for 3 nights at Sarova Stanley and had a fantastic time. Service is above average as every employee treats each guest like royalty. They are so kind and patient.
We loved the service at the restaurant from Christine and service at the bar from Wilson.
Food is good, pool is really nice. A fantastic place to start a journey in this fabulous country

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meteome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Duncun Mwangi, Other at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us and that it launched your safari experience in the right manner.

We celebrate, recognize and acknowledge both Christine and Wilson for standing out during your time with us as true Ambassadors of our commitment to our guests. We have also shared your review with the entire Sarova Stanley family as well as included it as part of our training resources.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews