We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect starting point”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect starting point”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in order to sort out a wedding licence in Nairobi. It was my wife's choice & I'm very glad she insited we went. We've been on safaris before & have stopped in some "jazzy" places but this unique. The house itself is beautiful & the food even better.

Apart from 1 trip into Nairobi we didn't leave the property, we just sat on the lawn reading & drinking, a perfect way to start a holiday in my book. The staff are very attentive & knowledgable about the stars of the show, the Giraffes, breakfast has to be experienced to be believed.

My only gripe is the areas where you can walk freely are very limited, we were told that there was Lion in the area, so understandable I suppose.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor suite & couldn't feed the Giraffes from our room, this didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    42
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
162
324
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Giraffe Manor is a place like no other, an incredible home built in the 1930's and beautifully maintained.Our room was elegantly furnished, large and welcoming with roses placed throughout.
The Rothchild Giraffes are magnificent, and feeling their tongues run over your open hand as you feed them is amazing. And yes, they do join you for breakfast by sticking their heads thru the breakfast room windows ! And warthogs and the house dog add to the fun.
The staff could not be more accommodating and gracious, food was fabulous and drinks always kept topped off. My only regret was not having more time to enjoy this delightful place.

Room Tip: in the main house, the front west bedroom was ours, and had a large balcony with table and chairs. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

What an amazing place! Absolutely beautiful both inside and out. We were given a suite which was lovely- roses everywhere!The staff were incredible and nothing was a bother. Everything was included in the price- even our laundry! We no sooner sat outside than staff were offering us drinks and freshly baked cookies and cakes. The food was wonderful and the experience of being so close to the giraffes was truly amazing.They put their heads in the windows and ate out of our hands. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs in the original building- the giraffes will come to your window in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannegraeme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We arrived at Giraffe Manor, and were immediately greeted with hot towels, drinks, and anything else that we needed. Our laundry was immediately taken from us, we were shown the property and our room. Both the entire property and our room were amazing. It was so comfortable, and beautiful. Our room was in the original main house, and had a view of the entire reserve, as well as a huge balcony, where you could see and feed the Giraffes from on the terrace. You could also feed the Giraffes directly out of our bedroom windows (as we later found out). We were escorted to the Giraffe Center, and there we were educated about the Giraffes, which was a nice start to our stay. We then went back to Giraffe Manor, where we were greeted with drinks, and our first encounter with the Giraffes. The staff was amazing, and helped us feed the Giraffes right out of our hands. We had closer contact with the beautiful animals than we ever thought possible. It was amazing, we had so many great interactions with the Giraffes, (including being knocked over by one!!), and had the most amazing photos we could have taken. Every second was better and better. At dinner a private meal was prepared for us, and another great couple we met there. This was an incredible dinner in the original dining room. The next day we asked for a 5:30 AM wake up call, to spend some time with the Giraffes. When we opened our blinds it was barely dusk, but the Giraffes were awake, and all standing right outside, just waiting for someone to feed them. They were the cutest things ever, just looking at our windows. They came over, and we fed them right out of our windows and terrace. We then when downstairs, where we sat at breakfast, while the Giraffes put their heads inside, necks all the way in. We were able to put our arms around them, while we fed them. We didn’t even care about eating ourselves. It was truly amazing, and the staff was perfect the entire time. They brought food, showed us how to act, and helped in an and every way they could. We were so sad to leave, we could not imagine anything being this much fun and entertaining.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kedcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Can you image arriving at 3:00 AM from a flight from Europe and have two giraffes stick their heads in the lobby windows? Amazing! Fabulous experience for grandchildren with beautiful rooms, wonderful food, and most attentive staff. Too bad you don't offer 6 stars!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
250 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
468 reviews
67 Airport Hotel
#40 of 164 in Nairobi
210 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,337 - ₹ 44,259
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing