We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Intercontinental is always a very good brand, and I have yet to find the property that is indifferent to my needs. The IC in Nairobi went one or two steps further for me and my family on two recent stays in March and April.

Apart from the warm greetings, the attentive service and the welcome feeling we got - from EVERY staff member - they went out of their way to make sure that even unexpressed wishes were aired so that they might help.

Higest commendations to the entire staff there - this does not happen by accident.

Room Tip: Executive floor brings a nice lounge benefit and does not costt all that much more
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear MunichEricJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi , and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi..

Best regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 755 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is located startgeically, just opposite the Kenyan National assembly.
Good green surroundings. The lobby is reasonable with coffeeshop at lobby level itself.
The resturant just off the lobby is also quite good. The buffet spread for break fast was good.
We had a rooom facing the road and assembly...very good view.
The room was spacious and amenties good.
But felt that the staff at check out were not very fair in suggesting using kenyan shillings instead of pre settled dollar rate.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear plpalani,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Intercontinental Nairobi. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post this encouraging review. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our spacious rooms, parliament view and your experience at our lobby restaurant.

As for the check-out experience, we apologize for any inconvenience in being asked to pay in Kenya shillings. We accept payment in most major international currencies and it should be alright to pay in dollars. I will address this with my team so it does not occur again.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Intercontinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I spent 5 nights at this hotel and I was very happy with most aspects of my stay. The check-in as efficient and painless, The staff were very friendly and helpful - including the security staff who were always polite and professional. My room was rather dated, but spacious, clean and neat. The internet / wi-fi fees were rather expensive and the connection was erratic most of the time. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of options. The quality of the food items and service provided by the waitrons was very good.The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Nairobi and a great base for business meetings. I enjoyed an excellent dinner at the Bhandini Indian Restaurant and it is highly recommended to try out their curries, briyani and tikka chicken. Overall, I was very happy with my stay, although I do think that the hotel rates are somewhat overpriced, but this generally the norm with most African hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the hotel. We are happy to hear that your check in experience was seamless.

With regard to your interaction with our staff, we are pleased to hear that you found them to be helpful and friendly. We will pass on your compliments to the team.

In regard to your internet / wi – fi concerns, we apologize for any inconvenience caused with read to connection. Internet connection speeds in E.A are generally slower than S.A, however at the InterContinental Nairobi we are on par with other hotels in East Africa, and are further taking steps of upgrading the internet connectivity using the latest technology in the market.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you at our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for two days prior to meeting a group for a safari. This hotel doesn't meet the standards of other Intercontinental hotels at which I have stayed, but all in all, the hotel was very nice. Our room was large and comfortable with a large window that allowed a vast amount of light to liven up the room during the day. Service was good, and the restaurant was also a pleasant experience. We stayed at the Hilton in Nairobi our first night and certainly felt the value of this hotel was much better than that of their competitor. We didn't find the concierge helpful as they kept pointing us to take tours that seemed expensive and time consuming. Not very helpful in suggesting places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, and enjoyed the dining experience. We will pass on your compliments to our restaurant teams and chefs.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your concierge experience and have fully retrained the team in light of guests have more satisfying experiences.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have stayed for moe than a week at this hotel, while on business, and it has been a good experience
Location wise it is excellent in downtown. Service-wise it is prompt and efficient.
There were certain issues which when brought to management's notice were dealt quickly and effectively.
All in all a good experience, as is expected from this IC

Cheers

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestopinion11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,160 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#31 of 167 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 9,251 - ₹ 15,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing