We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very quiet and peaceful setting...”
other travellers have booked this property
Kiloranhouse Environment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kiloranhouse Environment
Kiloranhouse Entrance Kiloranhouse Driveway View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Kiloranhouse Environment
Kiloranhouse Entrance
Kiloranhouse Driveway View
Cottage Shared Private Garden
Cottage Shared Living Room
Shared Kitchen Showing Island and Sink
Cottage Shared Kitchen Showing Island and Toaster
Cottage Master/Jaccuzzi Bedroom
Cottage Master Jaccuzzi  Bathtub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nairobi

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cheryl h
Veradale, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very quiet and peaceful setting...”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 11 arrived at various times in the evening from 3 different places around the world. Adriel arranged for each of us to be met and picked up from the airport. We took up all of their rooms! The Kiloran House is clean and tidy with pleasant gardens to view out the upper deck! Ann and Adriel are lovely, helpful people...and did all they could to accommodate 4 hungry teenagers with a continental style breakfast. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The kindness of Adriel and Ann
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Dear Cheryl ,
We thank you and your family for being very good guests to host. Your stay was however too short and we would love to have you stay with us longer in in not too distant future.We trust that the rest of your visiting was enjoyable .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot89
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Kiloran House and Cottage is a great place to stay in central Nairobi. The accommodation was clean spacious and thoughtfully furnished. The gardens are perfect and the hosts were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Kiloran is located 10 minutes away from the Yaya centre on foot and 10 minutes away from Sarit/Westgate by car. Often in Nairobi you can find cheap accommodation but there will be some compromise. Either cleanliness, location or room quality will reflect the lower cost of the accommodation. But this is not the case with Kiloran. There were no compromises and all eight of us that stayed were in constant disbelief at the price.

Kiloran is a great place to stay with great hospitality and a perfect location. There is nothing negative to mention. If you are a group this house and cottage will be perfect for you. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super fast Wifi and Kiloran's central location
Liked least: We only had the time to stay for one night! More wouldve been much better.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rednosele...
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
“Excellent place for a short visit in Nairobi with family in the great neighbourhood”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My parents and I stayed at the cottage for 3 nights in Nairobi. The location is very central and secure in a lovely garden house. The owner is ever so helpful and friendly. We had total privacy staying at the cottage which has its own garden and separate gate to the property. super quite all the time which makes you feel not staying in the middle of city or a beautiful countryside in England.

The location is very conveniently to go to Westland or heading out of Nairobi to the national park and all the other tourist attractions. It saves us a lot time to avoid traffic. There are few nice malls are within 20 mins drive which is great for dinner or supermarket shopping.

Overall we had a greet time at this property and will definitely recommend to others!

Lei

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0hnr50
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A calm, peaceful and safe oasis in Nairobi”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We used Kiloran Cottage as a base for 3 weeks while visiting friends in Nairobi and heading off on several trips. It was always a relief to get back to the peace and calm of the cottage after negotiating the Nairobi traffic. We were able to leave items safely in our room and were always given a warm welcome back by Adriel and Anne who were considerate hosts. They were always very helpful in advising on travel arrangements, local places to visit and ensuring our laundry was done beautifully. We enjoyed preparing breakfasts in the kitchen of the cottage (main ingredients always provided by Adriel - bread, marmalade, weetabix, milk, fresh fruit etc.) and several evening meals for which we purchased ingredients at the YahYah Centre. YahYah shopping mall is only 15 minutes walk away but Adriel kindly drove me there the first time. There is a good food shop, an excellent book shop, coffee bars, ATM and shops for pretty much anything you might need. The cottage is old but full of character, impeccably clean and the small garden outside a pleasure to sit in on the two benches provided. We had the double room with jacuzzi bathroom but decided not to use the jacuzzi bath as such as we did not want to use too much water. There was a plentiful hot water supply and we used it for showers though a longer shower hose would have been useful. We happened to be the only people staying in the cottage at the time but I would like to return with other members of the family and the cottage would be the perfect place to stay. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings and considerate and helpful hosts
Liked least: bathroom plumbing was a little idiosyncratic but not really a problem once we had mastered it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampt...
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

As a group of aid workers helping in Kibera etc, we needed somewhere restful to stay at the end of the day. Kiloranhouse was perfect for us - secure, birdsong in abundance, comfortable, clean, full of character etc. The only suggestion we would make for an improvement is the plumbing, but it certainly did not spoil our stay. One of my greatest memories is sitting on the balcony having breakfast listening to the birds singing every morning.
Adriel, thank you for making us so welcome - I hope we can return next year. You made us feel really special and looked after us all so well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, security and balcony.
Liked least: Plumbing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
We enjoyed the visit by the group. The plumbing problem mentioned in the review relates to the water pressure which we are trying to rectify by re-positioning the roof tanks. this is a challenge in an old house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing