We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start to a safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nairobi Tented Camp
Ranked #1 of 289 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is a great place to spend a night before going on safari. The tents are spacious and the game drives amazing considering this park is on Nairobi city edge. The dinner was excellent but lunch average with tough small chops. If we had not been to other Porini camps we would probably rate this 5 stars.

Room Tip: All tents the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

I couldn't fault it in any way - the staff were wonderful, food delicious, ambience lovely and tranquil. Just wonderful. My children also had a fantastic time, especially climbing trees around the camp!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Attentive, excellent staff; accommodations and food superb. Loved seeing animals from my tent porch and meeting Fred the warthog, a camp pet who looks for biscuits and scratches. This experience really gave me some chills at first with the noises in the night -- but it was a safe and secure adventure. The game drives with Gordon were terrific and informative, enabling us to explore at my pace, e.g., following a herd of zebra. plus the Sheldrake elephant orphanage is close! This was after a 5-day safari but offered a more luxurious and personalized experience. Great alternative to staying in Nairobi town

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjmertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

It's taken me a while to write this review, but wanted to thank Fredric, Amos, Moses, Gordon, and all the rest for a wonderful stay after I had to have emergency surgery due to a fall in the Masai Mara. Everyone was so attentive and helpful. The food was superb and even a rhino joined us for lunch the first day there! The tents and beds were mighty comfortable and the animals abound, some can even be seen from the tent. My original plans had been to spend my birthday here, (ten days earlier) but was in the hospital instead, so imagine my surprise when the staff came in singing and carrying a beautiful and delicious birthday/recover soon cake! Stay at least three nights, but if you can only have a short visit, you can go there for lunch. You won't regret it! A big thanks to everyone for everything!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank charleenmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Out in the forested wild. A wonderful place indeed. Good choice of location. Great tents set-up. Wonderful interiors.
Thumbs up to the staff. Attentive to detail & professionals in their work.
Thanks to KWS & Bike Skills - Kenya.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Zak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
544 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing