We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely staff BUT huge variation in quality of accommodation”
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amani Gardens Inn
Ranked #4 of 275 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have very mixed experiences. The room we ended up with was well appointed, secure and clean. Ask for a private room by the tennis court, ours was room 20. Staying in this room we had a great experience and were happy with everything including the breakfast and morning coffee break. However, the first night we arrived our private room was unavailable and so we had to stay in a room with a shared bath room which was shabby and not clean to the standards one would expect for the price being paid. The second weekend we arrived back after our safari to be bitterly disappointed with the room we were given, room 12 in the garden quarter, which was old, dark, a bit smelly and not clean or as nice as room 20. The shower and toilet had separate doors off the bedroom, but had filthy windows and old fixtures. We decided to check out and pay the cancellation fee, and find accommondation elsewhere. Had we been able to get the room 20 or similarly appointed rooms near the sports courts we would happily have stayed and been very happy. 4 stars for the nice room (didn't have mosquito nets but did have sprays) and 1 or 2 for the other rooms, so 3 overall. The grounds were extremely pretty and beautiful too.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrMcAndMsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and the gardens. These are features which many guests mention as a reason for returning again and again to Mennonite Guest House.

We are very disappointed that one of our rooms fell short of your expectations in its appointment and cleanliness. I understand how frustrating this must have been.

We have undertaken a redecoration of the room you mention and are creating a substantial landscaping feature just outside. We have also taken steps to insure adequate deep cleaning of rooms on a regular basis.

We do appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to hosting you again when you visit Nairobi.

Sincerely
Aram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Amani Gardens Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a very great place to stay in Nairobi. So easy going with a feeling of home. I am a single female traveller and felt very safe and well taken care of. They will arrange airport/city transportation for you from a VERY trustworthy company - ask for Gabrielle LOL - he was my favourite! They also had really good food, clean rooms, beautiful grounds and wonderful staff. Can you tell I liked it there??

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tracyenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

There are a wide variety of rooms, and it's often difficult to get the room you want for various reasons, but this place is a wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Three good meals are served each day in very "homey" style. Despite being a significant distance from the airport, this is my place to stay when visiting or traveling through Nairobi.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and be persistent in your communication with staff to make sure you are stil...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmericaninTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have stayed at the Mennonite Guesthouse several times over the last 14 years, and can wholeheartedly recommend it. It is an island of peace amid the hussling city with its frantic traffic, set in a superb garden. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The meals are simple but good, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Very comfortable, clean, pleasant place to stay. We were with kids and had the family room which had one queen bed and 4 bunk beds along with its own bathroom and toilet in the room. There are great grounds to relax in and the kids have a place to play. The food is wonderful too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisainKENYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,017 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
911 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#18 of 167 in Nairobi
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing