We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat All You Can steak house!”
Review of Fogo Gaucho

Fogo Gaucho
Ranked #3 of 551 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 200 - US$ 250
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fogo Gaucho is Nairobi's Favourite Steakhouse set up in a beautiful ambience that gives a feel as though you are in a corner of South Brazil. If you are looking for a prime dining experience in a stylish, ambient environment either for a family outing, business lunch meeting or office party, Fogo Gaucho offers top class service to fit any occasion and a playground for children everyday.
Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eat All You Can steak house!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Similar concept to Carnivore but without the touristy stuff. This is a great place to go when you fancy a 'meaty' meal. THey have a great salad bar too. Ambience is ok. Be sure to book in advance if going on a weekend.

Helpful?
5 Thank AngelSMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    305
    62
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Meat in town”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

hands down the best restaurant in town. For a great price and a classy experience, you cannot miss this. You get all kind of meat for one flat price, just keep asking and they will bring what you like. Don't miss out on the free desert, grilled pineapple with cinnamon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Zulusafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian in Nairobi”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The service is superior and quick while the food is great. It is within a good location in Nairobi.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Meat at lunchtime”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I work quite close to this place and didn't know it existed! So I tried it for lunch... to get away from the office. The meat was good. I think it was cooked more for Kenyan tastes (more well done than europeans may be used to) but still tasting really nice.

The prices were reasonable compared to other similar establishments... but I found the drinks (soft drinks) a little pricey.

Atmosphere needs work... but a great salad bar and a regular top up of my plate.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pumbavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carnivore heaven!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Carnivores will relish the unlimited quantity of quality meats served on demand from a sword at directly onto your plate at the table. The night that we dined, a Wednesday, beef, lamb, pork, and fish were on offer. Apparentlly, to get crocodile and prawns, one must go on Friday or Saturday nights, which are very busy but according to friends, worth the effort of booking in advance. We came very early by Kenyan standards, at 7:00, and were seated immediately without a reservation. The waiter gave us a two-sided coaster to signal "Serve me!" and "Please - no more!", brought our drinks, and showed us to the vast and varied salad bar. A bit of advice to serious carnivores: yes, eat your vegetables, but choose wisely and keep those portions small! Once you have a plate in front of you, the kind and patient carvers will fill it with grilled meats, continuing to serve you as long as your "Serve me!" token is side up. When you have had enough (or you simply want to take a breather!), you flip the token to the "Please - no more!" side. If you have any place for it after the meat fest, the grilled pineapple dessert is truly delicious. We found the service attentive, the waiters quite charming, and the ambience warm and laid back. The place filled up around 8:30 and we have heard from friends that it is a good idea to book on Friday and Saturday, the popular nights to go out and revel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunburnedSafarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fogo Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to Fogo Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing