We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location !”
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel was our second week of a cruise on the Nile and stay. The location was the best as it was walking distance to just about everthing i.e. town, ferry across the river to see tombs on the west bank, temples on the east bank and also museums !!! We went in March and the weather was bearable, both day and night. I believe the best time to go is between Nov and March - its hot but not too hot. We took advantage of the hot air ballon ride - which is different prices in the hotel on the cruise and in the agents shops along the prom. The cheapest being the shops about £40 each. This was the best excursion I have ever had - it was amazing - an early start but well worth it. Upgrade if you can to a superior room on the top floor - you get the best views across the Nile and can watch the hot air balloons travelling around the sites every morning - evening views are also just as good. Evening entertainment was a male singer who was quite good. The food was ok , especially the snacks from the pool bar. I wouldn't take young children
as not much for them to do except the pool which was lovely but many steps to and from - through the gardens which are kept immaculate. We met Hussein who owns a boat next to the swimming pool and he will take you on trips for a fraction of the price you would normally pay through tour agents. He organised a camel ride for 5 of us - took us to the east bank on his boat and the camels were waiting for us with their guides - very good indeed ! Enjoy your trip, ours was well worth it !!!

Room Tip: ugrade to a superior Nile facing room to take in the views - it worth it !
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Iberotel Luxor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for one night whilst visiting Luxor to do the tourist trips around the famous local historical sites. Our room was overlooking the Nile and provided us with excellent views, especially watching the hot air balloons take off just after sunrise. Room was a bit dated but adequate. The grounds are well kept and the bonus is a floating pontoon attached to the hotel which is actually on the Nile and which has a swimming pool, so you can swim on the Nile but not actually in it! Good service and food was reasonable. Catered for early risers wishing to visit the sites before the heat of the day by starting breakfast from 5.30am.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile side of hotel for great views. Street side would be a major disappointment.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed March 2012 for one week in a triple room/Nile view with our 15 year old son. Furniture in the room was a bit dated, but everything worked; plenty of hot water; very clean & great view.

Has a main restaurant where they serve a buffet lunch & dinner; a bar with a pool table; limited entertainment which is what we prefer; terraces & a barge on the Nile that has been converted to house the swimming pool and the pool bar. Order food for lunch at the pool bar if you want a change from the buffet, the serve pizza, steak, fish & chips, salads, but takes a long time to turn up.

Friendly staff, relaxed service i.e. they don't say things like 'would you like another drink' when your glass is empty, so have to ask. Hotel very clean and food good quality with no tummy upsets.

Walking distance to Luxor Temple/Mummification Museum & Luxor Museum, although when you walk anywhere you will be hassled by the guys with the horse & carriages.

If you don't want to pay the rates for trips via the tour operator we used Abu Simble Travel - turn left out of hotel, they are on the same side of and in the parade of shops just before the Winter Palace Hotel.

We visited Valley of the Kings/Queens/Karnak - don't bother with the evening sound & light show/went on a camel/went on a hot air balloon/various trips with horse & carriage/sunset trip on a felucca boat & quad biking

Room Tip: Luxor is a bustling place so if you have a bedroom over the road you will hear traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was a nice hotel close to all Luxor has to offer. Beautiful views across the Nile with lovely pool - note ; no swallow end for non swimmers. Food was good, breakfast lovely = especially cake with chocolate sauce - so the kids discovered. Good service but not outstanding like others we stayed in. Pool staff very friendly and helpful to kids. Expensive for food and drinks especially. Room good but again not outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellablue516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is nice, the grounds are beautiful, and it was relaxing to sit by the Nile with its cool breezes. The staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This is a nice, clean hotel (in a great location) that is perfect for grabbing a drink and/or unwinding at the end of the day. To me, the experience of a city means so much more than how nicely the sheets are folded or how much the internet costs. If you are one who wants to spend your time in a hotel, look to the Winter Palace. We arrived at this hotel on a three-day side trip from Cairo, and this was a great idea. Actually, we wish we would have arranged more time in Luxor.

Unlike Cairo, Luxor does not offer metered taxi service. Ask the front desk staff how much a taxi should cost to get to your desired destination. The staff will also provide maps and give you some tips on getting to various places. You will be bombarded (seriously) by taxi and carriage drivers the moment you walk out the door, so if the first driver won't take your offer, the next one will. You'll need a taxi to go to the airport and to Karnak, but many/most other places can be reached by foot. We were there in March, so the summer sun/heat may put you in a taxi or carriage more often.

The shop owners near the hotel will also relentlessly ask you to look in their stores. Tell them you will look later (and follow through with that), and your promise to do so will keep them at bay. They'll be happy if you buy a bottle of water or a key chain.

In general, the people in Luxor need the business of tourists. In that sense, and with that understanding, I can see why they won't take no for an answer when their services are denied. Even with that understanding, their "offers" can get annoying. We weren't on an organized tour, so we spent most of our time out with the locals. We did meet one felucca owner, Alla, who was amazing. Actually, because of him, our time in Luxor was wonderful. We met him our first day and arranged for a sail on the Nile for the next day. As the other felucca owners approached us with offers for a ride, we simply said that we were going out with Alla later, and they left us alone. They all know each other and function as a large, extended family. And believe me, they all know someone who owns a shop, a taxi, carriage, etc. We liked Alla so much that we met up with him again on our third day to motor boat us across the Nile, take us by taxi to the Valley of the Kings, stop by an alabaster factory, and return us by boat to the hotel. In the end, he really became our own personal guide, and he didn't ask for any money beyond the felucca ride or the trip to the Valley. He much more enjoyed sharing his city with us and practicing his English.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynot2panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.8 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.1 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.4 km away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
591 reviews
0.4 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: ₹ 1,738 - ₹ 3,734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing