We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Curate's Egg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A Curate's Egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've been to luxor a few times.How it got 5* beyond its own assessment I've no idea. We stayed for a week in a suite, the two of us and our 16 year old daughter. Room-wise it was adequate, recently decorated as were the light switches and sockets in part! Not an indicator of true class. There was a kettle which needed an English adaptor...explain that, but no tea, coffee or milk on offer, so just a kettle!(very 5*,,,not!)Food wise the breakfast was again ok/average. On the credit side of the balance sheet lots of of interesting bread and pastries and a chef knocking out pancakes or omelettes to order. On the down side...the fruit juice was poor almost diluted squash, and therefore unbelievable in an area where fresh fruit is in abundance. The coffee at breakfast was second rate instant and appalling...it's easy to get decent coffee in Egypt, but not in this hotel! we tried the in-house Chinese restaurant whcih was average.The staff are almost without exception giving of their best and very friendly. There are a whole raft of suited Managers all of whom seem to think that "being important" is an art form. They have little or no peripheral vision and don't see the tea bags have run out at breakfast or the croissants likewise. It's totally unclear what they are supposed to be managing. Essentially it's good enough to go back to even with all its flaws as long as it's part of a special offer. There are two pools one is slightly heated, smaller but a bit cruddy and scummy. The other is large and fresh and very, very cold. The pool bar staff do their best and the towel men look after you. The moored Nile Cruise ships spoil the Nile view a bit. From a room point of view there are plenty with Nile views and the Valley of the Kings is a constant backcloth. You get hassled by the 'massage' staff a lot. There's a below par gym the machinery is not de luxe and some of it doesn't work. The whole place is a bit tired. Don't pay over the odds and it's ok.

Room Tip: Get a Nile view but DON'T pay any kind of premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueBlueRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    252
    98
    79
    60
See reviews for
190
247
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kruibeke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Pyramisa Isis Hotel in Luxor is a very nice place to stay! The food is nice, people are kind,... next year we will come back!! our stay was very pleasant and we already miss it!

Room Tip: rooms with nile view are the best. if you have a room on the streetside, you may not sleep well beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline_Vdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the Pyramisa for one night on 1 February 2012 and were grateful that it WAS only one night.

We were allocated possibly one of the best rooms overlooking the Nile from an extended , carpeted balcony with a canopy and two sunloungers towards the end. But that was the only good thing about the stay.

The Pyramisa is a superficial hotel. You walk into the hotel and are immediately impressed by its grandeur. A lot of the areas are carpeted including the corridors leading to the rooms.
But look beyond all that and what do you find ?

Our bedroom was quite nice but the beds were rock hard and the pillows were not soft enough to overcome giving you a headache, The room was a little too small to enable us to manoeuvre our armchairs so that we could both see the TV properly and the shower was incapable of producing a decent flow of water.

The main bar in the evening was like the black hole of Calcutta.

The restaurant was not at all welcoming and badly laid out. The servatories were close together causing congestion. The quality of the food was poor and not very hot and the choice was very limited. Only warm plates were available for lunch and dinner but plates for breakfast were all cold and a request for a hot plate was ignored.

Our complaint about a sparrow flying around the dining room was met with tolerant amusement. How it had got in , goodness knows but there was no attempt to catch it and release it outside !

Thank goodness it was for only one night !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJDSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

we stayed in this hotel now for several times with the family. We always recieve a good service, nice and clean rooms with good beds and a big bathroom a great view to the river Nile and the Western Side. The kitchen is great, lovely food prepared in an egyptain way, a big selection of deserts and also for breakfast you get everything you want. Of course we love the big swimming pool.
We will return in May 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyramidGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is very ordinary and I must say that having booked it thinking it was a 5 star, it turned out to be a big let down. The hotel looks old, rooms are old-fashioned and feel a little dingy. There wasn't enough light in the rooms. The service was ok. The breakfast spread was lavish with a lot of variety. The hotel has an open bar and swimming pool looking out into the Nile. It was well decorated for the Christmas and New Year.

Overall, it wasn't value for the money we paid. The room quality could have been much better and brought down the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.3 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.9 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.8 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Property: Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Address: Khaled ibn El Walid St, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,410 - ₹ 9,836
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest 5 star hotel directly on the Nile in the heart of Luxor. Most of the large 350 rooms and 100 family suites enjoy panoramic views of the Nile, gardens and 2 large swimming pools. In addition to a heated swimming-pool, resort facilities include Italian, Chinese and oriental restaurants, bar, lounge, children playground and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Isis Hotel And Suites
Pyramisa Isis Luxor
Isis Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing