We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2007

We booked our 7 day break (B&B) through Airtours, just after the hotel changed ownership from Le Meridien to The Nile Palace. Any concerns we had that the transfer may affect standards were unfounded. The hotel was superb – an oasis of calm in the chaos of Luxor. Staff were always attentive, polite and friendly. Standards of cleanliness were very high.

We had a room looking over the central courtyard, and whilst we were tempted to upgrade to a Nile View room, we decided to stay put, and were more than happy with our decision. The entertainment ran from approx 18:30 to 22:30, consisting of dancing and a whirling dervish. The entertainment was the same every night, but it did at least provide some atmosphere, whilst either sitting on your balcony, or having dinner.

We ate mostly at the Italian restaurant – Casa Di Napoli. The waiters were always attentive, without getting in the way. Food was excellent, and even the Egyptian wine (Obelisk) was not that bad. Prices were very reasonable (£3 main course). We never tried the Lebanese restaurant, just never appealed to us. We ate at the buffet (Nubia) 1 night, and it was fine, lots of choice – great desserts. The poolside restaurant (Tropicana) was good, and again the staff were very accommodating, letting us sit anywhere we wanted to get the sun. After dinner we generally relaxed in the Nile bar area, where we could chat, read and relax with a coffee/tea(90p). At first the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room was annoying, however, it was very pleasant (and cheap) to spend the late evening using the hotels facilities. There was also the Arabesque, which was the open air tent serving Egyptian food barbequed which we wish we had tried. Finally, there was the Café Des Delicies, in the main courtyard, for a quick snack, or treat (chocolate ice cream was wonderful). Breakfast was more than adequate. One tip – there is a chef who makes your choice of eggs/pancakes etc… for you. He does get grumpy if you go up 3 times though!

We were recommended to try the Italian at the Sonesta St George next door, but were unimpressed, by both the restaurant and hotel. We nearly booked the Sonesta to stay, and I am glad we never. The prices were higher, the food looked good, but was bland (hard for Italian). I even had the wrong main course delivered to me. The hotel seemed too pompous, and I never felt relaxed whilst there. Also, a lot of the rooms just faced the side of our hotel, whilst all the Nile Palace rooms faced something, either full Nile view, side Nile view or the courtyard.

We were package holiday novices, and were left unimpressed with Airtours. Lack of organisation at the airport on collection and in general about what to expect. Which brings me onto “baksheesh” – tipping. The major issue we had throughout the holiday was the constant hassle. I should say that this was all outwith the hotel. We booked an organised trip to the West Bank through Airtours, collected at 06:45, back by 16:30. The sights were magnificent, Valley of the Kings, Queens, Workers, Madinat Habu, but the constant hassle was exasperating. Even within the tombs, a so called “guard” would invariably try various tricks to get you to tip him, as he had done you an (unwelcomed) favour. I wised up and kept my hands in my pockets, so nothing could be forced into my hand. Refuse all offers like taking a photo of you with your camera. Even at the airport, the checkin was run by airport officials and there was a man, not officially dressed, putting your bags on the scales to weigh. The 3 elderly ladies in front of us ignored his request for a tip, and got charged £42 for their luggage being 7Kgs over. I gave him 1 Egyptian Pound (10p), our bags were overweight, but this was waved off due to the tip. We were gobsmacked. Do not let the touts put you off, but you always have to keep your wits about you, and keep small change with you.

If you have the chance, do try riding a camel followed by a sunset boat trip on a “felucca” down the Nile – memorable. The early morning hot air balloon trips looked wonderful, but neither of us are keen on heights, so passed. Visits to Karnak Temple, both during the day and for the Sound & Light show at night would be recommended, as would be a trip to Luxor museum – small but interesting.

Overall, very impressed by the hotel. The sights were wonderful, and the weather tremendous. It will be hard to go somewhere else in the future when we next look for some winter sun.

Stayed: January 2007
15  Thank L&Nontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,774 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2007

This hotel is fabulous..it was booked through last minute and was rated as 4 star but i can most definatly say that it had the feel of a 5 star hotel.
I dont actualy know were to begin:
THE SERVICE: The staff were brilliant, they all spoke english fluently and were very helpful and honest.
THE ROOMS: We stayed in a standard family room which was immaculate, this was cleaned once a day and had a balcony overlooking the pool are and in the distance the river nile.
THE FOOD: We opted for bed and breakfast which was fabulous there was a fruit and vegetable (eygption style) buffet, there were english cereals and yogurts available , eygptian style fry up. fresh toast being served, fresh juices and tea.
THE POOL: As we went in July the hotel was fairly quite as peak season for Luxor is between Oct-May as it is much cooler, ttherfore the pool was quite, very clean, clean towels were provided, lovely bar/ice-cream parlour.
LOCATION: I felt this was an ideal location, it was a 15 minute ride from the airport, we were surrounded by little bars, shops, restuarants,central to all tourist attractions, and at night we would get a cab to the hustle and bustle- this cost about £2.50.

I have to say that this hotel certainly added to the enjoyment of the whole holiday but i cant emphasise enough that you need to be aware of locals trying to rip you off. Coming from england you may think your getting a bargain but your actualy not...they can see a tourist a mile away.
On our first night we paid £15.00 for a cab to the hotel, we realised we had been ripped of, you should pay no more then £3.00. People will try and help lift your bags or try to be your guide at attrations but just say NO. As they are not official guides and will ask you for money aftterwards.
Horse carriage riders will not leave you alone but try to ignore them or just say no, pay nothig more then £3.00 for a horse ride.

TIPS:
1) bed and breakfast is the best option as food is extremly cheap and easily accessible, there is a kfc and mcdonalds a 3 minute walk away and is dirt cheap and for the most sophisticated pallette visit snobs restuarant, the hotel has 2 brilliant restaurants: 1 italian and the other lebanese- which are fabulous.

2) always haggle down the prices

3) book a hot air ballon or a trip to cairo though the hotel as it is much cheaper then booking it here.

4) the hotel takes you to banana and crocodile island- this is cheaper then travel agent costs.

5) try yo be respctful of there culture and dont wear hotpants or anything too revealing.

6) go explore at night, it comes alive.

Stayed: June 2006
11  Thank GLOBETREKKERLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

My family and I stayed at the Le Meridian Hotel from 24th July for 7 nights before heading off to Ciaro Le Meridian, I found Luxor to be beautiful, having visited Egypt many times although my hubby has been 53 times, we found this hotel to a very high standard, the staff were all fantastic,, they fell in love with my 5 year old son who took time to learn to speak Arabic to the locals, I have booked a cruise on the Nile in April but intend to stay at Le Meridian for our 2nd week,,, and again for a week in October, I can strongly say that anyone who stays at this hotel will not be disappointed, the meals were very good, and enjoyable,, my only fault I found was the fresh orange was powdered and made with the local water,, but there is not a fault to be found with the hotel, the staff or the food, this is for me the jewel of the Nile. I highly recomend room 318 which is a junior suite over looking the Nile. Watch the sun set it is a beautiful site, take a faluka from the hotel across the Nile, it is so calm and relaxing, the Egyptian people are so friendly and polite. what more can I say....

Stayed: January 2007
8  Thank Nefertari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We were delighted with our stay. We had been highly recommended to stay at the Sheraton, but that was dearer and although when we visited there we could see it was very good, I prefered the location and feel of the Nile Palace. We were on a Thomson package and had standard rooms loooking onto the street, which were a little noisy but not enough to bother us. The room was large and well appointed, as was the bathroom. The location in Luxor was ideal for walking to various locations.

Breakfast was excellent, with a very wide range of food and an excellent 'egg-man' who cooked any type of egg or pancake to order with great good humour.

Going in January it was a little chilly at night to sit out in the courtyard restaurants (Lebanese or Italian) but there is great choice across the various hotels. The Italian at the Sonnesta St George a few doors away was really good, and for a special meal we had a great (and very cheap considering) meal at the Winter Palace, which should be included on anyone's itinerary.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (13th and 14th Jan), and for the last leg of our wonderful tour of Egypt, (Thomas Cook Signature - Treasures of the Nile).

This hotel is lovely! A spacious lobby/reception area, the doorman was traditionally dressed and wearing a fez, and there was some poor young guy dressed in gold lame as a Pharoah, but he was happy!

After you go through the reception area there is an outdoor courtyard which is very pretty. In two of it's corners are restaurants, an Italian, very nice, good food, good prices, and a Lebanese, it was ok, meat a bit tough, but perhaps I should have asked for it to be cooked medium, but edible and again very reasonably priced. There are also a few shops and an 'entertainment' area. The entertainment seemed to be the same most nights, but was usually over by about 10.30pm. Some of the rooms overlooked the courtyard and the balconies are decked in bright colourful flowers which all add to the 'prettiness'. We had prebooked a Nile view and we weren't disappointed! We had a room on one of the outer balconies and the view was amazing, overlooking the Nile and the West Bank, we could even see some tombs in the mountains beyond. The rooms are arranged in a sort of a big sideways 'C' shape, some friends of ours were in the centre, and although had great views, we being on the outer part had a more panoramic view. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and fairly well sized. The beds are comfy and the bathroom lovely (the shower was very nice!). One funny thing, my mother has to have about four pillows before she can sleep so we phoned down to housekeeping and asked for more pillows. About 15 minutes later, there was a knock at the door and a man with a double sized, iron framed, fold up bed! So I had to do some gesticulating with some pillows, but it was very funny at the time.

The only thing, and it is only a minor gripe, is that we would have liked an iron/ironing board, perhaps hidden away in the cupboard, and also tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcome.

We also ate at the Nubian restaurant (dinner), which was buffet style, and a set price, about £13 - the food was lovely and you could eat as much as you liked. The chef was on hand to tell you what the dishes were if you weren't sure what it was, and he also was very happy to serve the food to you.

There are some nice shops at the hotel, you pay a bit more I suppose than you would do outside, but I bought a gold bracelet (22 carat), and got a receipt so knew I was getting the 'real thing' and not being fobbed off with inferior goods.

The weather was lovely, very warm, we sat by the pool which although we didn't use, looked very appealing and there were a few other guests swimming. There is a lady who does henna tattooes who sits by the pool, we had some done, and although she said they would last a few weeks, mine is almost gone, (after only 5 days), I expect it depends on your skin type. But it was fun to get done and cost around £7-£15 depending on the sort of thing you wanted.

There were 12 of us on our tour, and 6 of us decided to visit the local 'Souk', we were glad we did! It was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, but be prepared for the hassle! If you just see it as a bit of fun you'll be fine, there were 5 of us women and 1 man, and he got a lot of jibes about being ' a lucky man' or did he need some 'viagra'. It could be a bit intimadating at times, the constant shouting and blocking our way with goods, but stick to your guns and just say 'No' firmly. One thing we found was to walk past all the shops first and make a mental note of the ones that caught our eye and go in on the way back. If someone wanted to go in one particular shop, we ALL went in. Don't go in on your own unless you are very brave! But it is all in good fun, and we didn't feel threatened at all, and haggling is such good fun! If there was something I liked, I decided beforehand my maximum price and stuck to my guns, they will try and probably double or even treble your guide price. If they won't budge, just say its too expensive and walk away, they'll usually call you back and agree with your price.

One excursion I did, which can be organised at the hotel was the hot air balloon, it was absolutely amazing. I paid about £100, it meant a very early start, about 5am, but you see the sunrise and it really is a breathtaking experience. There were 20 of us, plus the pilot and crew, there was plenty of space and you didn't feel cramped. We flew for 55 minutes at 1800 feet, travelled about 5 miles and landed in the Sahara. A bit of a bumpy landing but great fun!

We were very happy with the hotel, and it was a fantastic end to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jubaltroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.3 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,545 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: ₹ 3,126 - ₹ 7,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing