We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a very fine Nile-view hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I must preface this review saying that we only spent one night in the Nile Palace, little more than twelve hours, so I cannot be as objective as those who stayed several days or more. That said, we booked through our travel agent based on the mostly positive reviews found in TA. We arrived late in the evening of 20 January after flying from Rome to Luxor, via Cairo, and consequently were too tired to walk around or have dinner.
Our room (number 423) was Nile view and overlooked the swimming pool. It was large with two double beds, chairs, table, etc, a lovely large bathroom with tub, and a nice sized balcony. After showering my wife and I both took a bed apiece and were soon sound asleep. We awoke in the morning fully rested thanks to the comfortable beds. From our balcony we saw (through the morning haze) traffic on the Nile and the hot-air balloons starting off on their flights to the west.
We went down to the restaurant for breakfast which turned out to be very nice. Being that we live in a southern climate we usually don't do the classical American/English type breakfast, but I do love scrambled eggs. They looked good but unfortunately were powdered and not too tasty. Everything else was good. Before returning to our room we walked though a couple of the many nice shops in the hotel. My wife bought some rose water which she liked.
We checked out at 10:30 to go aboard our Nile cruiser, the Oberoi Philae. The next time we return to Luxor we hope to stay several nights at the Nile Palace.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank settecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,563 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2009

The Steigenberger was a decent hotel although the lowest of the 3 we had in Egypt (the others being the Conrad Cairo and the Movenpick in Aswan). The room was not that snazzy and the balcony was a bit of a gip because we were in a corner room and the balcony was split in 3 with a tacky partition separating our bit of the balcony from the room next to us. So, when they show you up to your room, check out the balcony and try to get moved if you get what we got.

The breakfast buffet was okay but again not as good as the Conrad Cairo or the Movenpick. We had dinners at the Italian place and it was just so-so although my husband liked it a lot. I was recovering from mummy tummy (from cruise food) so perhaps my opinion is not objective.

Eating in the courtyard was pleasant except for the burning smell we found ubiquitous in Luxor and Cairo. Kind of ruined the atmosphere. We thought the entertainment was very good with lively dancing.

We felt very safe walking around Luxor and found a bazaar near the hotel which did not hassle you to death. I actually felt relaxed shopping in that one area. I wish Egyptian vendors would get the message that more people would shop and buy if they didn’t feel constantly harassed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We did extensive internet homework before deciding to stay at the Nile Palace. We wanted to be close to local amenities and with the possibility of a quality, Nile facing hotel room. We were not disappointed. Frankly, you have to be ultra-fussy or plain unlucky to be critical of your stay in this hotel. Other reviewers recommended paying extra if you can for the front facing larger rooms - and they are right. Standard of service and general friendliness of staff was consistently high, as was quality of food, cleanliness and all other aspects that are important. OK, a basic bottle of local wine was £20 but the fresh fruit juices were great. A variety of modestly priced restaurants are available locally e.g. the newly opened English owned Puddleduck the other end of St Joseph St. Excellent food and better wine at half the price. Use an outside agency for tours such as reallifeegypt@hotmail.com. Always firmly ask for discounts on tours - and anything else! A week or more based in Luxor is great with a combination of interest and relaxation in a lovely setting. Even at 8 Egyptian pounds to £1 it is still pretty good value. If you like bird watching contact Mr Yussef at the Jolie Ville hotel but be firm about price of a personal tour.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We returned to the Nile Palace after a two year gap and were not disappointed. This is a warm friendly hotel, beautifully landscaped and in an ideal location to enjoy the Nile and the sites of Luxor.

To our astonishment and delight, hotel staff remembered us and did all they could to make our stay comfortable, indeed memorable.

Nile view rooms are very special but obviously there is a premium. As we don't spend much time in hotel rooms, we chose courtyard view this time. The nightly entertainment in the courtyard ends at 10.00 pm so was no disadvantage.

Breakfast comprises of a good quality buffet with omelette chef on hand to serve you up whatever you fancy (including yummy fresh falafel). We had some light lunches at the Lebanese restaurant but otherwise enjoyed meals at local restaurants - more varied and better value than the hotels.

The pool area slopes down to the Nile and a felucca ride at sunset is a must. We will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

date:28/1/09
we have just come back from a week holiday in luxor.we had a fantastic time and the weather was lovely(27 degrees).The hotel was very good and i was quite surprised to tell the truth because before we went we looked at reviews of the hotel and they werent that positive. It is a 5* and i would recommend it to anyone, the pictures do not do it justice!the breakfast was lovely with a large selection.there is a few restaurants in the hotel which are lovely but a bit pricey.the wine is about 160le for a btl in the hotel but if you eat outside the hotel you can get one for 75le.we went to a couple of restaurants that are worth going to 'the lantern' which is just outside of the hotel,cross the road and turn left and down the lane.also 'puddleduck' is lovely and are both english owners.
luxor temple is a 15min walk from the hotel and you can get a taxi to karnak for about 20le from outside the hotel and turn right there is a guy (well 4 brothers) called 'mr fish' they are very good and will take you anywhere at a low cost do haggle with them because they will start at a high price.
we went on a trip called fellecca tent and had so much fun we got it half price from the shop on the right just outside the main doors of the hotel,the holiday rep was charging double!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jerseygirl26_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.9 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
940 reviews
1.3 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
6.7 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: ₹ 3,213 - ₹ 7,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing