We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveller rating
1,399
566
149
58
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,399
566
149
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lebanese restaurant courtyard view nightly entertainment central courtyard pool area excellent hotel west bank whirling dervish large balcony guest relations plenty of sunbeds horse and carriage taxi driver egyptian pounds every evening watch the sunset winter palace
Filter
Updating list...
1,671 - 1,676 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2009

The Steigenberger was a decent hotel although the lowest of the 3 we had in Egypt (the others being the Conrad Cairo and the Movenpick in Aswan). The room was not that snazzy and the balcony was a bit of a gip because we were in a corner room and the balcony was split in 3 with a tacky partition separating our bit of the balcony from the room next to us. So, when they show you up to your room, check out the balcony and try to get moved if you get what we got.

The breakfast buffet was okay but again not as good as the Conrad Cairo or the Movenpick. We had dinners at the Italian place and it was just so-so although my husband liked it a lot. I was recovering from mummy tummy (from cruise food) so perhaps my opinion is not objective.

Eating in the courtyard was pleasant except for the burning smell we found ubiquitous in Luxor and Cairo. Kind of ruined the atmosphere. We thought the entertainment was very good with lively dancing.

We felt very safe walking around Luxor and found a bazaar near the hotel which did not hassle you to death. I actually felt relaxed shopping in that one area. I wish Egyptian vendors would get the message that more people would shop and buy if they didn’t feel constantly harassed.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We did extensive internet homework before deciding to stay at the Nile Palace. We wanted to be close to local amenities and with the possibility of a quality, Nile facing hotel room. We were not disappointed. Frankly, you have to be ultra-fussy or plain unlucky to be critical of your stay in this hotel. Other reviewers recommended paying extra if you can for the front facing larger rooms - and they are right. Standard of service and general friendliness of staff was consistently high, as was quality of food, cleanliness and all other aspects that are important. OK, a basic bottle of local wine was £20 but the fresh fruit juices were great. A variety of modestly priced restaurants are available locally e.g. the newly opened English owned Puddleduck the other end of St Joseph St. Excellent food and better wine at half the price. Use an outside agency for tours such as reallifeegypt@hotmail.com. Always firmly ask for discounts on tours - and anything else! A week or more based in Luxor is great with a combination of interest and relaxation in a lovely setting. Even at 8 Egyptian pounds to £1 it is still pretty good value. If you like bird watching contact Mr Yussef at the Jolie Ville hotel but be firm about price of a personal tour.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We returned to the Nile Palace after a two year gap and were not disappointed. This is a warm friendly hotel, beautifully landscaped and in an ideal location to enjoy the Nile and the sites of Luxor.

To our astonishment and delight, hotel staff remembered us and did all they could to make our stay comfortable, indeed memorable.

Nile view rooms are very special but obviously there is a premium. As we don't spend much time in hotel rooms, we chose courtyard view this time. The nightly entertainment in the courtyard ends at 10.00 pm so was no disadvantage.

Breakfast comprises of a good quality buffet with omelette chef on hand to serve you up whatever you fancy (including yummy fresh falafel). We had some light lunches at the Lebanese restaurant but otherwise enjoyed meals at local restaurants - more varied and better value than the hotels.

The pool area slopes down to the Nile and a felucca ride at sunset is a must. We will definitely be coming again.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

date:28/1/09
we have just come back from a week holiday in luxor.we had a fantastic time and the weather was lovely(27 degrees).The hotel was very good and i was quite surprised to tell the truth because before we went we looked at reviews of the hotel and they werent that positive. It is a 5* and i would recommend it to anyone, the pictures do not do it justice!the breakfast was lovely with a large selection.there is a few restaurants in the hotel which are lovely but a bit pricey.the wine is about 160le for a btl in the hotel but if you eat outside the hotel you can get one for 75le.we went to a couple of restaurants that are worth going to 'the lantern' which is just outside of the hotel,cross the road and turn left and down the lane.also 'puddleduck' is lovely and are both english owners.
luxor temple is a 15min walk from the hotel and you can get a taxi to karnak for about 20le from outside the hotel and turn right there is a guy (well 4 brothers) called 'mr fish' they are very good and will take you anywhere at a low cost do haggle with them because they will start at a high price.
we went on a trip called fellecca tent and had so much fun we got it half price from the shop on the right just outside the main doors of the hotel,the holiday rep was charging double!

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jerseygirl26_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed for one night at end of Nile Cruise. Hotel was really nice, good choice of restaurants and rooms. Service was very good. Easy walk into heart of Luxor, just watch out for the heat. Pool looks out over Nile, lovely view. Some very good deals available for rooms too.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews