We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveller rating
1,399
566
149
58
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,399
566
149
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lebanese restaurant courtyard view nightly entertainment central courtyard pool area excellent hotel west bank whirling dervish large balcony guest relations plenty of sunbeds horse and carriage taxi driver egyptian pounds every evening watch the sunset winter palace
Filter
Updating list...
1,053 - 1,058 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We were originally looking at staying at the 5* next door and we are sooooo glad that we didn't. We stayed at the Steinberger in August last year. We were met at the desk by the manager and taken to a specially selected room with an amazing balcony and Nile view. It was just absolutely perfect. Each night we took an aperitif watching the sun set behind the Valley of the Kings. Throughout our stay, all of the staff were very polite and not in the least bit pushy or invasive (apart from a very rude photographer).

There was always plenty of bed around the pool (the down side here must be the bar staff). It was very warm 46C most days and the staff were noticeably hot but so were the sunbathers. It was rare to catch the eye, or be able to order a glass of water.

All of the restaurants were lovely apart from the basement restaurant (which was the only on included in the half board price). Due to the lack of customers the restaurant was open but only serving one choice for each round of the meal. I think that f there were more customers then it would have been a lot better as the mornings were fine - because everyone in the hotel had to have breakfast there.

There was a nightly show which was fun but very repetitive and unfortunately we seemed to be the only people there to watch them.

I think that if there were more customers then this would be a truly wonderful place it just seemed a little lack lustre and sad with only a quarter of the rooms full.

PS they tried to charge us for food and drink we had supposedly taken from the mini bar.

Room tip: Ask for a Nile view room on one of the side wings.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squeakytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was nice of you to remember to place your comments here on Trip Advisor. It was good to know that the memories of your stay last year in August (2011) were still on your mind.
Firstly, may I sincerely apologize for the issue that you raised about our Tropicana bar staff. I intend to give this matter my immediate attention.
Also, your issue regarding the choice of menu in the Nubian (main restaurant).It seems that you were satisfied with the breakfast but not wit the dinner choice.
We would have appreciated these issues being mentioned and brought to our attention prior to your departure and then we would have ensured that you were made 100% satisfied during your stay. Our main restaurant staff are always eager to please and an alternative of your personal choice would have been offered to you with no problem at all.
Also, the issue regarding the mini bar items:
This may have been a genuine error but again if mentioned that you were not happy upon departure we would of addressed this issue immediately so as to ensure that you departed from our hotel content.
Despite these issues that you kindly forwarded to us we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We truly hope that the hard times and situation will improve in Egypt (depending on the new government/president) to be elected very soon.
Then the hotel and tourism industry will be back to ‘business as usual’ .Many thanks for your understanding of the situation and hardship that Luxor is suffering at present.
We invite you to return for another holiday with us in the near future at our beautiful Steigenberger Nile Palace!!

Best regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here in April 2012 for a few days. We found this hotel via the easyjet website and were very impressed with the facilities and decor of the hotel. There are 6 restaurants there. We tried the Italian 8/10 Lebanese 7/10 Thai 10/10. The Thai one was superb.

There were not not too many tourists about, as many people were put off by the troubles they had at the beginnig of the year. it's totally fine now, we had no trouble whatsoever, and in fact it was quite nice being there without the masses from the cruise ships.

The Steigenberer has a fabulous view over the Nile, we would sit on our balcony at night and watch the feluccas sailing past. It has a brilliant view of West Bank opposite, which sometimes gets illuminated at night. It almost had a ghostly feel to it, with the mountains glowing in a white light.

The service we received in the hotel was second to none. We had expected for a 5* that it would have provided tea and coffee in the rooms for free, but they offered it daily at £5 a tray (enough for 2) which came accompanied by some beautifully presented petit fours. We didn't mind paying that, as it was a nice touch.

The pool is lovely, cleaned daily, towels are provided. it also has a nice little sun-bathing area behind the flowering shrubs, but directly over looking the Nile.

All our excursions and trips out were arranged through Mohammed at Egyptexcursions
http://www.egyptexcursions.co.uk/ We were looked after by Mr Adham who came to the hotel on the first night to hand us our tickets for the excursions we had booked. The service we received was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, we had lots of fun and the guides we had were very knowledgable of the sites we visited. I particularly recommend the Dendera trip, the temple was fantastic. We were meant to cruise down the Nile to there, but as a lot of the cruise ships were not operating, we were taken by air-conditioned verhicle instead. Every trip we had out with EgyptExcursions were all personal trips, since there weren't many tourists about. We had the most brilliant time. Will, our guide in the Cairo day trip was great fun and we had many laughs that day. Mr Adham accompanied us on one of the boat trips across to one of the islands on the Nile, that was a most pleasent afternoon, meeting some villagers and seeing the banana plantation.

I'd like to come back to Luxor and to the Steigenberger. I also intend to book some more trips through them, as I know i can trust them and the prices were very good.

Room tip: Get a Nile facing room if you can.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flower36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

May we thank you for giving us a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your few days with us in April and found all aspects of our hotel to be of excellent standard. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. As you mention in your review, Luxor tourism is quiet at the moment and does have its advantages, our tourists are able to take more time to view the historical temples and treasures that we are so proud to have. As you mention, there are no safety issues to be concerned about and we hope that there will be a healthy future for Egypt’s tourism in the times to come. We hope that you will return for a longer stay with us next time and experience more magical sunsets and breathtaking views of the Nile!

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We went with our 4 yr old son and 70 yr old mother in law and had a wonderfully relaxing time in Luxor. The hotel was all we could have hoped for, great staff, lovely rooms, great food and beautiful pools and loungers looking on to the nile. Although Egypt is still feeling the after effects of the revolution, now is a great time to go, not too many tourists, lower prices and very obliging and friendly locals. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: We had a balcony view of the inner court yard so, were able to sit and enjoy the evening dance performances once we had put our son to bed. Rooms were well glassed so, not noisy when the doors were shut. The entertainment stopped around 10pm so easy to get to bed early for an early morning of siteseeing.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

A big thank you for taking your time to place your review here on Trip Advisor.
It was very good for us to learn that your holiday with us was excellent. We were very pleased also to know that your little boy enjoyed it and we love to see the presence of children in our hotel…
We do hope that you will return to us once again and enjoy the luxury of our Nile Palace!

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent the first week of May (2-9 May) at my favorite hotel for the sixth time and I'm happy to say it was business as usual. We stayed in room 318 which is 3 floors above the Thia Restaraunt and had the most beautiful views of the nile. If you are to book with the hotel pay the extra for an upgrade ( around £100 - £150 for seven days) and ask for a room on the wing end above the Thia restaurant.
Staff, what can I say except they are worth their weight in gold and should be paid their weight in gold. Thanks to Alison for all her help and reserving the room prior to our arrival.
The guys working the pool are what I would describe as fantastic and very attentive to all your needs and ask for nothing in return.
Food, my wife and I visited the Italian and Thia restaurants and found them to be very very good especially the Thia restauarant. I don't think I have ever tasted food as good as this place and very cheap. A table for 2, 2 couses and 4 drinks for around £30, great value.
I've only been home less than 24 hours and I want to go back tomorrow but I need to winthe lottery but if not it will have to be next year.
If the hotel mamagement read the Trip Advisor reviews thay should be proud of their staff and hotel. Well done to everyone and I'll see you next year or at Christmas if I can persuade my wife.

Room tip: Please email Alison gr@luxor-steigenberger.com and ask for the rooms above the Thia Restaurant.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

It was very nice to receive your comments and once again it was a pleasure to host such a lovely couple in our hotel. We hope that the memories of your holiday will stay with you until your next visit to us and hope that you consider Nile Palace to be your second home. We look forward to seeing you once again in the near future…

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were pleased to arrive at this Hotel after a busy three days on a cruise liner visiting the sites from Aswan to Luxor. The problem with the berthed cruise ships neighbouring the pool area appears to be continuing as there was noise and diesel fumes when we spent a few hours by the pool but we were just as happy sitting on our balcony with beautiful views of the Nile and the passing cruise ships and feluccas as we are not great sun worshippers and prefer shade. If you really want a pool holiday then I can understand that this would be annoying.

The room was defintely five star standard as were the public areas of the Hotel and all of the staff offer an exceptionally high standard of service with friendly greetings and a willingness to help in any way they can. We didn't have any problems with the key card but did notice an American man return five times to reception with his!!

Breakfast is great with delicious omelettes cooked to order and a huge array of hot and cold buffet choices. We had a delicious meal in the Thai (the only people in it!) and our meal was fine in the Italian though my husband found his small portion of veal a little disappointing. The meals were resonably priced but imported wine exorbitant as it is all over Egypt.
The grill restaurant was closed probably due to the lack of Hotel guests and it was a shame to watch the whirling dervish and the belly dancer in the patio area with so few people in attendance. This was the same story throughout our visit. Lack of visitors. It is such a shame as the staff everywhere are so desperate to please and see the tourists return. I hope for their sake that the elections later this month bring a strong leader who can tackle the problems they have and encourage further development in tourism so that everyone will be encouraged to visit the fantastic Historical sites and enjoy the friendly hospitality of the Egyptian people.

Room tip: Worth the extra for the Nile view rather than a view over the patio. It must get noisy when they do get coach parties in though the show finishes at 10pm so the music would not be a problem after that.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Many thanks for your review.
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
With regards to your issue about the cruise boats near the swimming pool: We are trying our very best to resolve this issue. These boats belong to the Isis Hotel (next door) and unfortunately we have many negative comments about this issue.
It seems that despite this you had a fabulous stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the breakfast and all other services within our hotel.
We are hoping that when our new president is elected that Egypt will hold a promising future, as you mention.

Best Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews