We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Hotel & Wonderful Staff (again)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel & Wonderful Staff (again)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent the first week of May (2-9 May) at my favorite hotel for the sixth time and I'm happy to say it was business as usual. We stayed in room 318 which is 3 floors above the Thia Restaraunt and had the most beautiful views of the nile. If you are to book with the hotel pay the extra for an upgrade ( around £100 - £150 for seven days) and ask for a room on the wing end above the Thia restaurant.
Staff, what can I say except they are worth their weight in gold and should be paid their weight in gold. Thanks to Alison for all her help and reserving the room prior to our arrival.
The guys working the pool are what I would describe as fantastic and very attentive to all your needs and ask for nothing in return.
Food, my wife and I visited the Italian and Thia restaurants and found them to be very very good especially the Thia restauarant. I don't think I have ever tasted food as good as this place and very cheap. A table for 2, 2 couses and 4 drinks for around £30, great value.
I've only been home less than 24 hours and I want to go back tomorrow but I need to winthe lottery but if not it will have to be next year.
If the hotel mamagement read the Trip Advisor reviews thay should be proud of their staff and hotel. Well done to everyone and I'll see you next year or at Christmas if I can persuade my wife.

Room Tip: Please email Alison gr@luxor-steigenberger.com and ask for the rooms above the Thia Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
It was very nice to receive your comments and once again it was a pleasure to host such a lovely couple in our hotel. We hope that the memories of your holiday will stay with you until your next visit to us and hope that you consider Nile Palace to be your second home. We look forward to seeing you once again in the near future…

Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    472
    121
    53
    35
See reviews for
341
858
126
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were pleased to arrive at this Hotel after a busy three days on a cruise liner visiting the sites from Aswan to Luxor. The problem with the berthed cruise ships neighbouring the pool area appears to be continuing as there was noise and diesel fumes when we spent a few hours by the pool but we were just as happy sitting on our balcony with beautiful views of the Nile and the passing cruise ships and feluccas as we are not great sun worshippers and prefer shade. If you really want a pool holiday then I can understand that this would be annoying.

The room was defintely five star standard as were the public areas of the Hotel and all of the staff offer an exceptionally high standard of service with friendly greetings and a willingness to help in any way they can. We didn't have any problems with the key card but did notice an American man return five times to reception with his!!

Breakfast is great with delicious omelettes cooked to order and a huge array of hot and cold buffet choices. We had a delicious meal in the Thai (the only people in it!) and our meal was fine in the Italian though my husband found his small portion of veal a little disappointing. The meals were resonably priced but imported wine exorbitant as it is all over Egypt.
The grill restaurant was closed probably due to the lack of Hotel guests and it was a shame to watch the whirling dervish and the belly dancer in the patio area with so few people in attendance. This was the same story throughout our visit. Lack of visitors. It is such a shame as the staff everywhere are so desperate to please and see the tourists return. I hope for their sake that the elections later this month bring a strong leader who can tackle the problems they have and encourage further development in tourism so that everyone will be encouraged to visit the fantastic Historical sites and enjoy the friendly hospitality of the Egyptian people.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Nile view rather than a view over the patio. It must get noisy when they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Many thanks for your review.
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
With regards to your issue about the cruise boats near the swimming pool: We are trying our very best to resolve this issue. These boats belong to the Isis Hotel (next door) and unfortunately we have many negative comments about this issue.
It seems that despite this you had a fabulous stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the breakfast and all other services within our hotel.
We are hoping that when our new president is elected that Egypt will hold a promising future, as you mention.

Best Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have recently returned from the Steigenberger Nile Palace - This was our 3rd visit in the past 12 months. Why do we keep returning ? the answer is simple - The staff.
From the moment you set foot on the hotel grounds - nothing is too much trouble and you are always greeted with a smile and are treated as a friend.
Our Sincere thanks as always to Wael for allocating the 2 best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in - Full Nile View rooms - the rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable with views that are priceless - It is this that truly "makes" our holiday special.
We chose to eat in the hotel for our meals - we always found something to our taste and the food was always fresh and plentiful - From breakfast to room service . We have stayed at many hotels throughout Egypt ( including various hotels in Luxor) and have found the Nile Palace to be the most comfortable and friendly with a great central location. We chose to use transfers to and from the airport arranged by the hotel rather than use the transfers offered by Thomson to avoid the usual hustle and bustle as 2 members of our party have walking difficulties - this proved to be invaluable and would recommend (Many Thanks to Alison for arranging).

Again - a wonderful holiday , in a wonderful location with fabulous staff - we look forward to our next visit and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
It was good to know that you had a memorable stay with us once again! It was also a pleasure to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful as ever...We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was a return to my favourite hotel with a ladyfriend this time.
Her view is probably the most relevant that the staff here are second to none and make the difference between this and other hotels.
The hotel has not changed with it being a little quieter out front than before with pestering not as bad as it has been.
What is very sad is that there is not enough people visiting this wonderful place.No troubles here and wonderful things to see in the Valley of Kings,Luxor/Karnak temples,Howard Carters house and many other places.You only have to take a short taxi ride to them at a very reasonable cost.
People do not know what they are missing here and I can recommend a weeks Nile Cruise on RA 11 with an extra week spent in the hotel.I have done this several times and cannot compare it with any other place in the world.
Come and visit and help the community overcome these difficult times, they are worth it and you will not be disappointed. Michael from St Andrews,Scotland

Room Tip: A complete Nile view from a corner room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful holiday with your lady friend this time. Nile Palace awaits you both to your second home in the future!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A pleasant 'airy' hotel with spacious and varied public areas. Friendly, smiling, efficient and helpfull staff seem to be around every corner.

I had upgraded to a superior Nile view room as part of my booking, so it was not a great surprise to see the size of the room or the spacious bathroom or the fabulous view available from the terrace. However, since my last stay I do think that the airconditioning was more efficient, keeping my room cool during the heat of the day when a much needed siesta was required.

The hotel offers a range of lunch and dining options (the pizza in the italian restaurant was rather good) along with a number of places to get a coffee, snack or cold drink and simply relax. Breakfast, a rather sumptous self service affair, is taken in the main buffet restaurant that boasts views of the hotels pool area and Nile (smoking is permitted in the outdoor section).

For independent travellers there is a tour desk within the hotel where you can book excursions to all of the main sites of interest, but for those more adventerous travellers there are a variety of tour agancies just across the street from the hotel (along with a selection of banks and ATMS).

There area a variey ot taxis and horse drawn carriages outside the hotel all vying for your trade in order to transport you to where you want to go - negotiate the price before agreeing to using their services. The locals think it very strange that you may choose to or preffert to walk - Luxor town and temple is within reasonable walking distance (take care in the heat though) as are a variety of shops, pubs, discos and restaurants. Karnak temple and Luxor Museum are quite a walk away, particularly in the heat.

The arrivals duty free shop by Karnak temple contains a larger array of goods of interest to tourists than the duty free shop at the airport or the one in town. Check what limits are available to you as this decreases by the number of hours that you have been in Egypt.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a Nile view is well worth it or as I did, book a superior room, which benefits from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jd2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.3 km away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
6.8 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,248 - ₹ 6,130
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing