We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Seeing the Sites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing the Sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hotel well placed for seeing all the sites. Would agree 100% with Vazon0121 regarding lack of coffee making facilities and over attentive staff on final day. Debbie also provided us with a Balloon trip and Felluca trip. The balloon trip was perfectly organised and half the price that we were quoted booking direct. The one hour sunset fellucca trip was extended to 1.75 hours at no extra cost and Debbie came with us to make sure that everything went as planned. Used a taxi driver called Amr who parks over the road outside Tesco for a number of trips and can recommend him as a safe driver with good knowledge of the sites. We ate out every day and The Jewl of the Nile has to be our recommedation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    410
    128
    52
    23
See reviews for
298
628
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just back from the Sonesta and stayed the same time as the previous reviewer (during the medical conference) but only on B&B basis.

It's getting a bit tired.........the signs were all there of needing a good revamp: worn decor, fixtures and facilities still in place from the original opening and now showing their age.

Breakfast - although the hotel bedroom directory mentions that B&B rate only includes a 'continental breakfast' (coffee/toast/juice) we were not stopped from using all the full hot breakfast options and never challenged.

Room - even though we'd seen photos on Trip Advisor of the Sonesta rooms showing kettles we're glad we took one with tea/coffee as sure enough it was an additional charge item as mentioned in the previous review. Room was kept clean and tidy by the staff (but we had no experience with the floor manager making the repeat visits mentioned) with additional offers of fresh towels in the early evening and occasional bed turn-down service. Beds were clean and comfy and you could have them changed as often as you wanted. TV showed BBC World and 3 english movie channels. Bathroom had all the usual facilities in good order.

Pool and sunbeds - all clean and well attended to by the staff who will move the parasols for you as required to help dodge the sun. Poolside drinks were pricey compared to bars outside (1 bottle Stella beer:30LE vs 10LE). The hotel directory mentions you will be charged for bringing your own drinks.

Whilst by the pool we were approached by Debbie who runs Egyptian Dreams tour company and she arranged both our balloon ride and felluca sailing trip which were both successful and competitively priced. I had reservations which I discussed with Deb re being approached poolside/no receipt offered on payment/only offering a business card as ID etc. however the trips were both very good and her website does offer many good testimonials: egyptiandreams.org.uk

Staff - pleasant and attentive all days (but slightly overbearing on the last day in the breakfast room when looking for additional tips)

Room Tip: Left side when facing Nile gives views of Nile plus sunshine onto the balcony. Right side gives shad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vazon0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Vazon0121,

Thank you for your detailed feedback ,as I can see from your review the only thing that you are complaining about are the signs and some facilities, we are continuously upgrading and renovating our hotel and lately all linens , curtains and carpets have been changed and a ballroom and 3 Royal Club floors added to our hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Try to get a front Nile room or a side room towards the Nile rather than one near the road. Rooms on the right (facing Nile) overlook the water treatment works (sewage works) however no smells or noise but it is being worked upon. This hotel seems to be one of the best in Luxor and can really recommend the jacuzzi's by the pool. This hotel has wonderful staff, food, and is genuine 5 star. Only gripe the pool can be a bit cold initially - strange given 40 degrees at times! Have suggested to hotel to maintain minimum temperature. We were on 4th floor lifts were good and hotel silent at night. Will certainly go again - just didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Try to get a front Nile room or a side room towards the Nile rather than one near the road. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picasso1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Moreil France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Unfortunately this hotel were hosting a medical conference during our stay & we arrived in the middle of what can only be described as chaos in the reception area. As a result (possibly) the receptionist was brusque & not in any way welcoming...so not a good start.Our room on the 4th floor was fine & as you would expect of a hotel of this standard but sadly the same could not be said for the food served in the evening. Due to the medical confernce guests had to use the Beban restaurant for the hot buffet & for two nights the main dishes served were almost identical in ingredients & on both occasions badly cooked. On the 3rd night we chose to eat elsewhere but as the medical conference had ended on the 21st April & restaurant services had returned to normal we decided to eat at the hotel on our last night in Luxor. We walked into the Seraphis restaurant around 8pm to be met by a surly chap who didn't seem to think we were actually staying at the hotel, so after assuring him that yes we were in fact guests of the hotel we were shown to a table. We had to ask twice before being served with our drinks & diners at a table adjacent to ours had to remind the same man that they had been waiting 20 minutes for their coffee, so all in all not a good dining experience. Additionally I feel that I have to comment on the intrusive attention of some of the staff at this hotel, we had a floor manager on the 4th floor who seemed to think it was OK to frequently, knock at the door & ask if everything was OK, knock at the door & enter the room to ensure that everything was OK & would appear on almost every occasion we left our room to the extent that we christened him "The Stalker"...He made us & other guests feel very uncomfortable. Finally I would like to mention the 35 dollar charge this hotel imposes for the convenience of a Tea & Coffee tray, we ordered one such tray from Room Service & this was duly delivered to our room complete with a bottle of water & a small carton of milk, the next day upon returning to the hotel we found that the tea, coffee & sugar had been replenished but no water or milk. As our floor manager was again lurking in the vicinity I asked about the water & milk & was told that guests only get these items with their first tray so although not happy we bought a bottle of water later that evening but then the following morning our closely "attentive" floor manager turned up at our door again with a bottle of water which he maintained was a gift from him !!! Whilst it seems common practice to charge for hospitality trays in this part of the world some other people who were staying at the Nile Palace next door told us that their tray came complete on a daily basis with all beverages, water, milk & biscuits & was 10 dollars a week cheaper than ours. Our feelings are that if the Sonnesta wants to be viewed as 5 star they need to polish their act more than a little, we are well travelled people & have stayed at many 5 star hotels but this one just didin't do it for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile view room that doesn't overlook the noisy Luxor water/sanitation plant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 200HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently returned from spending our honeymoon at the Sonesta St George. I originally booked on advice from someone at work who visits this hotel at least twice a year so was very keen to see if it really was as good as he said.
It was not as good as I expected, it was far better. The room, staff, pool, food, was totally 100% perfect in every was possible.
Its difficult to express how happy we both were with our choice other than just to say we will be going back next year to celebrate our first anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.1 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 km away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.8 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,458 - ₹ 4,847
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing