We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reckon we'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reckon we'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Really can't add much that other fans of the hotel have placed. It's fantastic. I think our overriding memory will be the staff's friendliness, humour and general happy demeanour. (Unfair to single any out but Okasha & Walid looked after us particularly well). Tourism is their livelihood, so it makes sense really.Good luck to them & we hope the tourism fully restores in the next year. Look forward to returning next February.
One reviewer said we should upgrade. We tried this on arrival, but have to say our original room (older in F - Nile view) was better placed and we stuck with it. They also wanted a fair bit more so it was a no brainer in the end.
Best deal. The Faluka (sail boat) from the hotel's pier is incredibly cheap at £E 20 per hour. Try it.
One final story. The airline tells you that you must pay £13 on arrival for the visa. It's not, it's £10 ($15), and you can easily get stung by the chancers in the arrival hall. Beware!

Room Tip: Go for blocks B F & C overlooking Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear valanda from Stockport, Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for your recent stay and for the positive review about the service and the atmosphere you have experienced in the hotel.

I will definitely transfer your lovely compliments to our team, who will be very happy to hear that kind of motivating praise.

We are looking muc forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future, I remain with,

Best regards,
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    368
    96
    48
    21
See reviews for
528
975
78
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our 6th visit to the Jolie Ville and as our 5th was 3 years ago we was a little apprehensive about the expansion of the island. We found there was no need to worry at all, the service, cleanliness, food and general feeling of tranquillity were just as they had always been.
We asked for a bungalow on the North side of the island and were given 5 choices which was excellent. The bungalows had also been refurbished since we last stayed and although not to the standard of the new rooms ours was still more than comfortable.
We asked Amina the customer liaison manager for a tour of the new rooms. She took us to see a deluxe and a superior deluxe room, both were very nice with big bathrooms, bedrooms and wonderful views of the Nile from the balcony.
As we have seen the sights many times we spent most of our time at the infinity pool which is fabulous for kids and adults.
We had lunch at the poolside restaurant where the food and service was exemplary. In the evening we eat in the bar and again the staff could not do enough for us, to the point the chef used to make what we fancied if it wasn't on the menu.
The entertainment was purely a pianist who played every night. Although very good it became quite tedious and we would have liked to see something different.
One thing which amazed me was we were not bitten once by mosquito's. The room attendants leave regular candles and plug ins and a chap goes around every evening spraying the garden areas.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return, especially as the other hotels like the Winter Palace seem to have gone really downhill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chessLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear chessLondon from London, Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for the 6th time, to be your home in Luxor. Your very positive comments published on Tripadvisor are highly appreciated, you made us very happy for approving upon the quality of the hotel and the services and accommodation provided.

It is our duty to please our clients and make them spend the most unforgettable stay ever.

I would definitely be happy to welcome you back in the not so far future, I remain with,

Best regards,
Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island's main attraction when booking was its location on the legendary Nile. That lived up to its thrill, but the best thing about this accommodation was its serenity and the feel of being on a meticulously tended, spacious country estate rather than in a facility. The service was all good: little electric carts to and from your door for you and your luggage - and they came fairly quickly when rung for. Our room was clean, comfortable, well equipped and spacious, and self-catering simple, if required. The staff had the sophistication with which to treat guests as guests rather than next-to-nuisances, or at least sources of baksheesh, which cheaper accommodation in Egypt generally lacks. This was a wonderful base from which to begin our tour of Egypt.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear tripbeetle from Tokyo Japan,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor last and for your time to comment your view on Tripadvisor about our Hotel.

I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that you have been satisfied with the services and accommodation granted.

Thank you for recommending your Hotel.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

one of the best hotels,fantastic islands,the rooms in the form of bungles very comfortable,clean.
restaurant and food was good also swimming pool and play area for children was nice,there is also Nile view theater for classical music band at sunset,it was amazing.the hotel offers free transportation from the island to the city either by shuttle bus or by boat.

Room Tip: bungles with Nile view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Wael E from Alexandria Egypt,

Thank you very much for staying at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor last week and for publishing your views & opinion about our Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our island and that you were happy with the services and comforts provided by our team and the Hotel.

Hoping for all the best for Egypt and to see you back on Kings Island, your home in Upper Egypt, soon again

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is by far the best hotel to stay in in Luxor. The hotels in Luxor town look more glitzy and The Winter Palace has a faded, gloomy elegance, but the town is not so wonderful that you would want to stay right in the middle of it. Even if Tony and Cherie Blair did! We stayed in one the new blocks at the Jolie Ville, the bedroom was huge and the balcony ( being a corner room )was vast. We paid extra for the larger room - the bed could have slept four people they fitted in two extra single beds for the children and the room still seemed empty.The site is really tranquill with stunning views from the breakfast terrace and the infinity pools of the Nile and the Valley of the Kings. If one is particularly sensitive the adults-only pool bans children, music and mobile phones - enough to sooth even a trappist monk. There is little in the way of entertainment in the evening - I suspect because of the low occupancy, which may change as trade picks up. The grounds are extensive and well maintained - a kiosk by the Nile is named Queens Island in honour of the Queen of Norway ( it was apparently her favourite spot) and there are luxury villas in the north of the island which are rumoured to be the holiday homes of ex-President Mubarak. The architecture of the facilities is restrained rather than ornate and at times uninspiring ( there are unfinished building works around the perifery, which we were told was due to the political difficulties in which the present owner finds himself - allegedly in the clink) but this is more than made up by the immaculate cleanliness of the rooms. The staff are super efficient - we left at 4.30 am and there was someone to take us and our luggage to reception within minutes of us calling, which was a typical reponse. Some contributers have raised fears about being hasselled in town by locals or being bitten by mosquitos. Have no fear on either account. It is true that in the Valley of the Kings the street vendors are a real pest, but in Luxor town itself the street hawkers and caleche drivers can be easliy deflected and on the island at least the banks are sprayed every night by clouds of what we took to be insecticide and we did not see a single mosquito all week. In fact, curiously, there are few flies to disturb your slumbers by the pool. One small gripe - when you are paying nealy £1000 a week B&B, shouldn't the use of the tennis courts be included? Instead of an irritating £5 an hour charge? If the hotel wanted to stop guests hogging the courts surely it can't be beyond their wit to arrange a booking system.
Regarding trips: don't shell out for an expensive tour, ask one of the staff to recommend a local taxi driver to take you around and hire a guide when you get to the sites. We hired a licensed guide at Karnak for 70 e£ and he was a good hours worth.

Don't be put off by anything. Egypt in safe and amazing, stay at the Jolie Ville, Kings Island. and you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for the New Block, Nile view and a larger corner room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandFencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear England Fencer,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, to be your home in Luxor. Your very positive comments published on Tripadvisor are highly appreciated, you made us very happy for approving upon the quality of the hotel and the services and accommodation provided.

I appreciate as well your comment on the little to none pestering of insects and mosquitoes on the island. I still do recommend although to bring some repellants just in case, as soon as it gets warmer the buggers will be out again and if you are allergic it’s better to be prepared.

Thank you as well for mentioning that you have felt 100% save at all times, people around the world seem NOT to believe that troubles are ONLY in Cairo Tahrir Square & Port Said, which both are about 700 kilometers away from Luxor!
All the touristic places including Aswan, Luxor, Sharm El Sheik etc are quiet & peaceful as ever!
Don’t forget that Egypt’s GNP results by about 60% from tourism only, we need you!

PS: I am going to think about the tennis court fees. At night when the flood lights are needed to play we have to charge, but maybe we could waive the charges in the future during certain day time hours. Thank you for bringing it up.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
3.6 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
2.5 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
2.4 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
4.0 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
9.2 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,746 - ₹ 7,084
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing