We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Luxor - Convenient Location”
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“El Luxor - Convenient Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at El Luxor when we couldn't get tickets for the overnight train to Cairo. The location was perfect, right by the Nile.

The hotel common areas seemed a bit dated, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The air conditioning wasn't super cold.

Best part was the pool, which was nice and refreshing.

Price seemed very reasonable, even when we just showed up at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamperSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    208
    77
    44
    37
See reviews for
115
238
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've stayed at the El Luxor a few times and always found it comfortable and clean. The staff are fantastic especially Aly. Go for a room at the front of the hotel for a great view of the Nile.
The pool area is really relaxing with drinks and meals served in the poolside restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor at the front of the hotel for a great view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spire2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have stayed at the El Luxor every year since 1998 and seen some staff come , some go, and most stay. They are always happy to see you, helpful and polite. The laundry is the most efficient we have ever encountered in our travels.The hotel is now coming to the last stages of it's refurb and the rooms completed thus far are really nice. A good number of hotels in Luxor (especially the Nileside hotels) have resident stray cats. The El Luxor is the only one so far to make exclusive arrangements for the welfare of their cats. There is now a dedicated feeding station adjacent to the pool area and a contributions box in reception to help pay for cat food and neutering expenses. Congratulations!

A big thankyou to the hotel manager without whose endorsement this would not have been introduced.

A special mention for Guest Relations Aly Mohamed who is always of great assistance and is one of the longest serving members of staff.

Room Tip: Best views of the Nile are from the "annexe"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deldinoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

.I have just spent another fortnight in the hotel el luxor,it is one of the best hotels in the city.Ihave been going to this hotel for the last 8years some times twice a year.The staff are the friendlest you could wish to meet.The rooms are very nice,they are cleaned daily,and the room boy sometimes makes patterns with the towels.The resturant is very good,the breakfast always has something for everybody,there is a chef on duty to cook omeletes or fried or scrammbled eggs,there is fresh coffee or tea always on hand.The pool area is very nice,there is a snack bar were you can get food or drinks served to your sun bed.Over the last couple of years they have been refurishing the hotel,but is has not interfered with our holiday.The wife says it like home from home ,when we check in we are treated like family.There was no sign of any of the trouble we saw on tele,all nice and peaceful.The gardens are well maintained by two lovely gardeners.There are a variety of places to eat with varieing menus,the sabin bar is very friendly the staff are courtious and cheerful.Ihope that the trade picks up as it was very quiet inthe hotel,i hope Ali get enough people to play bingo

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoolander1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a good price online - it is expensive if booking direct with hotel. A garden room is quieter and we had a lovely peaceful night. We had patio doors leading out on to the well maintained grass area - great for a picnic. The room was very clean & comfortable. Toiletries provided in the bathroom. Friendly staff that wont hassle or stand over you hinting for tips. It is custom though to give a tip for just about everything in Egypt. When it was time to check out the staff were happy to keep my 3 cases for me for the day for no charge - but I gave 8EGP (about 80p). There is plenty of food and drinks available at the hotel but it is charged at inflated English prices. It is much cheaper out of the hotel. Rooms have fridges so you could buy drinks from the supermarkets for about 1/3 of the cost of what the hotel charges. The hotel has a bank desk in the reception. The man there changed my egyptian pounds into smaller change for free. I'd recommend this as you will need small change for tips, etc. There is lots to do in Luxor and its cheaper to use the locals to help you than to pay the big tour companies. If you want a taxi I recommend Komsan a local taxi driver with an air conditioned car. ou can ring him on 0020 1008897797. His family has a falluca boat too if you want a trip on the River Nile. I would just warn you to be careful about Egyptian men. You will very likely get hassled on the streets to buy things, visit places, etc. Also the men will likely try to get friendly with female tourists. Most Egyptians marry young so will likely have a wife & kids at home. They like foreign women for money and fun. Don't let this put you off - just be prepared! Egypt is a wonderful place and there are many genuinely friendly people there.

Room Tip: A garden room will be very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.0 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
2.2 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.4 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
4.5 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Property: Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,166 - ₹ 3,111
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing