We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
915
294
100
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
294
100
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter palace royal bar historic hotel agatha christie old palace king farouk opera suite grand staircase howard carter la corniche faded grandeur garden view jacket and tie steeped in history corniche restaurant pavilion wing gardens are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

A great place right next to the Luxor temple, the place it's wonderful the palace it's stunning and remind a lot British. The service was an spectacular witch for me its the most important thing in a hotel when I travel I totally recommend

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovejetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

perfect hotel for Luxor. everything was fine and this hotel and its english amazing garden is so beautiful that you would not regret your choice. of course this hotel is old but...it's an old very charming palace with such amazing atmosphere. it's memorable.
Thank you all for you welcoming and help. especially Mahmoud at the reception. actually everyone working there was kind.

Room Tip: I had a Nil view. I enjoyed it. The garden is fantastic too.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charmille75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for your interest in Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor and we are delighted hosting you with us. We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your luxury experience at the Hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests. we are delighted to know that our colleagues succeeded to come up to your expectations. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as previous one.
With best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We've holidayed in Luxor seven times over the years, but until now have only visited the Winter Palace itself to dine at the 1886 restaurant (wth cocktails on the terrace first of course).
This time my husband and I had the good fortune to stay for what proved to be a week of absolute pleasure.
We made full use of the restaurants, had afternoon tea in the lounge and lunches in the cool of the Royal Bar. Mornings by the beautiful pool, and a stroll round the luxuriant gardens in the evenings. We couldn't have been made more welcome by the lovely and helpful staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble including arranging to bring my husband his usual steak out to the gardens one evening where I had the delicious barbecue.
We did venture out for sunset felucca trips and some tombs and temples sightseeing, but to return to the hotel and walk up the steps into the magnificent lobby was a sheer delight that we can't wait to repeat.

Room Tip: Room 122 is large, with a garden view balcony, and is close to the entrance hall on the ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear valued Guest,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We, at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ensure that all valued Guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service and attention throughout their stay. We likewise anticipate Guest's needs and create exceptional Luxury experience that gives lasting memories to our discerning Guests. Furthermore, it gives us great pride and joy that our guests leaves the hotel with nothing but all praises about our hotel, overall facilities, comfortable and clean room, historical palace charm and an incomparable service and hospitality. Once again, thank you for your exceptional feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future. Warmest regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

During our visit to Luxor, we decided to stay at the Winter Palace. This is the old British Palace. It is really beautiful inside. It has an older feel to it and is a little older overall. However, we really did not feel like that took anything away from it.

The room we stayed in was a little older but had all of the amenities we wanted and needed. What really made this place shine for us was the great staff that was there to serve and help us. I really felt like they tried to keep the people of Luxor off of us (in Luxor the people act like they want to help you and than are very bold to want a tip and if it is not enough they will bug you even worse until you get more).

They helped arrange an amazing hot air ballon ride for us and got us a better deal that we were trying to negotiate. They had a nice breakfast everyone morning. We felt like we were dining in luxury.

The properties gardens and grounds are just amazing. It really is an experience staying here. The pool complex is large and was perfect for us to relax in after our adventures through out the day.

We were very happy with our stay at the Winter Palace. It was also nice that we could walk to Luxor Temple, even though we got hounded by a handful of people wanting us to ride in their taxi or their horse carriage. If you go to Luxor, I do recommend this place to stay. It is also right across the street from the boat that takes you across the Nile.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. We had a nice view of the gardens on the grounds.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for your interest in Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor and we are delighted hosting you with us. We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your luxury experience at the Hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests. we are glad to know that you have liked the hotel atmosphere , the hotel location , gardens , pool and breakfast , we are pleased also to know that our colleagues succeeded to come up to your expectations .Unfortunately, we have no control over the various hassles you will meet in the street outside and hope this did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your time here. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as previous one. Warm Regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. This was formerly a palace - a beautiful hotel with lovely view of the Nile from our balcony. Lovely sunset view in the evening. Service from the staff is excellent. From the reception, to security, to service staff at the restaurant, they were all very friendly and provide top notch service. Great place to relax in Luxor.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank hweehoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear valued Guest,
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor for your recent visit to Luxor. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit.To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities and services is a reward in itself. we are delighted to know that our colleagues succeeded to come up to your expectations,Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews