We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
915
294
100
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
294
100
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter palace royal bar historic hotel agatha christie old palace king farouk opera suite grand staircase howard carter la corniche faded grandeur garden view jacket and tie steeped in history corniche restaurant pavilion wing gardens are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

It was a delight to stay here. Was in a pavilion room, very quiet, clean and comfortable. Room service excellent, pool area lovely and attentive staff. Would stay here again. Very relaxed atmosphere with great decor.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Sara A,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay.
We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the room cleanliness and comfort , room service and the pool area , we are delighted to know that our colleagues succeeded to come up to your expectations , will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to all the team.
Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best regards,
Selim Shawer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

If you want shiny and new everything, you might not like this. If you enjoy history, character and charm, this is it. The buffet breakfast was the best I've had anywhere in the world. Well done. Clean, quiet, helpful staff, great internet, beautiful gardens and pool, view of the Nile. I brought a group here and we all loved it. Seriously a first class hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the old palace!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor for your recent visit to Luxor. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities and services is a reward in itself. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Best regards, Selim SHAWER Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Celebrated my honey’s birthday at the Sofitel Winter Palace Hotel in Luxor in magnificent style with superior service. Stayed in a Luxury Nile River View King room #247 with a 18 foot ceiling, great bed, fast WiFi, desk, sitting area and a nice bathroom. This hotel was built 1905 and has had numerous upgrades. We felt like royality with the high quality service that was offered to the guests. After dinner, in the 1886 Restaurant, we came back to our room to find the staff putting a heart of flowers on the bed and writing happy birthday with flower stems. Now that’s above and beyond when all I did was mention that a birthday was being celebrated. The normal service is superior and based on our experience special events over the top.

Room Tip: Nile river view rooms are special, but the garden view rooms are lower in price and nice too.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your stay at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We, at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ensure that all valued Guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service and attention throughout their stay. We likewise anticipate Guest's needs and create exceptional Luxury experience that gives lasting memories to our discerning Guests. Furthermore, it gives us great pride and joy that our guests leaves the hotel with nothing but all praises about our hotel, overall facilities, comfortable and clean room, historical palace charm and an incomparable service and hospitality. Once again, thank you for your exceptional feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future. Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We had the king Farook room. Just what I like. History and plenty of space. The bathroom was fine. Staff were helpful and charming. Mustafa who checked us in and out and generally organised everything. The pool and pool bar area were fine....only complaint is limited champagne....and what was on the list was not available. Dinner at the more relaxed restaurant......please rethink the tie situation in the French one. The bar served excellent cocktails. All in all a hotel I would be happy to return to

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Richard F,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards , Selim SHAWER Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We stayed in the Superior Nile room for 3-nights and was given one on the 3rd floor of the hotel. Room was large and well appointed with a balcony that had a great view of the river. Bathrooms were also large and beautiful.

The breakfast is a real sumptuous spread and the service is impeccable. Overall a great choice for a hotel in Luxor.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhaymaskara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host with us at Sofitel Luxor Winter Palace . I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886.
Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Selim Shawer Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews