We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

A group of friends......we stayed for 5 days in this wonderful and historic Hotel, absolutely loved it always wanted to stay here bring a history buff, the thought of Lord Canarvon and Howard Carter announcing to the world their monumental find of Tutankhamuns Tomb. The hotel has most of its original features you are literally taken back to a time of discovery, the grand staircase, the chandeliers. The rooms are large with huge French doors leading to a balcony overlooking the Nile. I watched the sun make its entrance and exit from my balcony and thought of the Ancient Egyptians Goddess Mut who swallowed the sun at night and gave birth to it in the morning..had an amazing view of Valley of the kings and Hatshepsuts Temple all lit up at night.
The gardens beautiful poolside area stunning we had lunch beside the pool food was delicious and fresh, herbs picked from the garden.
The staff were amazing so attentive and Mohammed Ahmed made special arrangements for us to see the Royal suite...was something else.
Staff in the restaurants and room service brilliant, they turned down the bed at night and left flowers and little cakes in our room.
Would love to stay here again...I have recently been back on a horse riding holiday on the West Bank was lovely to look at this magnificent old building from the other side of the bank.

Room Tip: Nile views are of course the very best, but the gardens are also very beautiful
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Debbie B,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We popped in for tea and after being escorted back in time in the Victoria room we were presented with a lively box of sorted tea items with a pot of tea (or coffee) delivered by a train of staff. Refills came as needed and we were able to sit and chat for several hours.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bubblecat-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your experience at the hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests.
Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation.
We hope that on your future visits to Luxor, The Sofitel Winter Palace will be your destination again as we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Great location, beautiful historical building tastefully decorated, peaceful garden and pool, excellent service & the best food in Luxor.
This hotel hosted the best 3 days we had in Egypt. The wonderful staff of this hotel gracefully and professionally handled all our needs and desires with great efficiency, and superb Egyptian and French cuisines were always followed by delicious beverages.
Thanks to the new friends at Winter Palace for making us feel at home, and for making Luxor a special place in our hearts. You provide outstanding service.

Rosali ♥️ Michael

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LibrianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your stay at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor recently and we are delighted hosting you with us. We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your experience at the hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests.
Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation.
We hope that on your future visits to Luxor, The Sofitel Winter Palace will be your destination again as we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We were in Luxor to attend a family wedding and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this grand hotel. The staff are very professional, courteous, and await to fulfill your every desire and request. You immediately feel transported back in time with the grand staircase and chandeliers. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the Nile with the Valley of the Queens in the distance. We awoke our first morning to see hot air balloons floating above these ancient sites. With the help of the concierge, we too enjoyed this once in a lifetime excursion. All of our meals were delicious. We enjoyed the 1886 restaurant, the poolside cafe, as well as room service. All hotel staff are very friendly and so helpful. Eleria in customer service was exceptional as well as Mostafa at the front desk. It was such a treat to have turn-down service replete with fresh petals from the gardens. The gardens: magnificent! The family wedding was in the gardens above the fountain area...as well as the evening dining and dancing. This was a magical venue for the couple and guests. Again, the staff were excellent. We’d love to stay here again in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Judy C,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Selim SHAWER , Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Walking in to this hotel was like walking in to the 18th century. It’s frozen in time and has a lot of character. The service was great down to the restaurant for dinner. We only spent one night here and were dressed for touring so we did not have appropriate clothing to entree the restaurants but they agreed to serve us out on the Terrace which was wonderful. I would have rated his hotel a 2-3 in another country but for Luxor standards, it’s nice. The hot water did not work in one of our room (which they gave a discount for) and the bathroom lights did not work in the other. Given the standards of the area it was a quaint hotel with good character.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mary Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Mary Ellen C,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host with us at Sofitel Luxor Winter . I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886, however your comments regarding the hot water and the lights in the bathroom were taking into consideration in view of doing the necessary changes. Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Selim Shawer Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.2 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.2 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,551 reviews
0.8 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
905 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: ₹ 7,557 - ₹ 16,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing