We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”
Review of Nubian Village

Nubian Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 25.00*
and up
Nubian Village Trip by Motorboat in Aswan
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visited the Nubian Village Jan 2011, as it was offered as part our Nile cruise. It was an enjoyable part of our experience. The boat ride was very relaxing and the people were very kind. I will post pictures as they speak more than words :) Warning: not everything for sale at Nubian Village is authentic, I bought a beautiful dress, thinking it was hand made there....when I put it on back at hotel I noticed a stamp on the material that said "made in pakistan".....but it did wash out ;D.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    163
    85
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hout Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Aspect of Aswan”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

What makes Aswan stand out from the rest of Egypt (apart from the fact that its down the road from Abu Simbal) is the dominance of the Nubian culture. Very different from the other Egyptians you meet. They were actually Egyptian slaves originally and then became part of the community. They still have a very distinctive and separate community on Elephantine island. There isn't a lot to see but you can wander through their village and get an idea of their community. I think its worth the effort.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank hbblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just like in the movie”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you love adventure, you will need to visit this my favorite Nubian village. a lot of interesting thing here. Better take boat from the Nile than by car. You will experience many unusual things. The only comment I would raise here is the shops that sell wood carvings/masks - most of the mask imported from other part of the world

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MM_153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get another perspective on the upper Nile”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Wander around, you will be welcomed. Great spice shops and a good place to shop leisurely away from those awful touts at all the main sites. Charming, quiet and different.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Modish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely boat trip to the Nubian village”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We went with 2 friends to the Nubian village on a boat trip, it was very enjoyable, the house we visited was surprisingly cool inside although it was 28 degrees outside. We saw their "pet" crocodile in the middle of the room and they showed us all around their house. We drank green tea with them and bought some little dolls as a memento.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosie21NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nubian Village also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Nubian Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing