We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well worth just a visit and look around.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Well worth just a visit and look around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We did not stay but if we return we will just for the experience. It is a magnificent looking and maintained hotel. We went at night and had a thorough look around. The lobby and terrace area are amazing. The flower arrangements were spectacular. I can't comment on staying there but this is a must if visiting Aswan.
The visit is worth it if you have the time.
Better still, for the experience, stay, I know we will if we return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

I am pleased to know that you visited Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your recent stay in Aswan.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed the hotel and I would like to thank you for letting us know about it.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you to our hotel for a stay next time you travel to Aswan.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    139
    42
    29
    15
See reviews for
203
461
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for a couple days during our 2 week Egyptian visit and the view of the Nile and pool and mountains was breathtaking! They could not get the food right during any of the meals we had (wether room service or dining in).

Room Tip: Overlook the pool and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback.

We have well noted your constructive criticism and rest assured that we have addressed your comments with the respective department head to eliminate such defects to avoid reoccurrence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I'll make this short and sweet. Though we were only there for "high tea", the Cataract Hotel is a must see during any visit to Aswan. Lush gardens, immaculate decor, attentive staff, and a view of the Nile that is simply out of this world. My only regret was that we were not staying overnight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 55nrdtofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback will be brought to the attention of all concerned which will encourage us to pursue our continuous effort in taking care of our valued customers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Afternoon tea at the Old Cataract Hotel has been on my bucket list ever since I watched Death on the Nile. It was even more beautiful than I'd hoped, the view at sunset is one of the most beautful things I've ever seen. We arrived by felucca which made it extra special. We had High Tea complete with finger sandwiches of tomato, lettuce and potato wedges, Egyptian chefs seem to have trouble working out what to put in a sandwich everywhere. The serivce was a rather slow compared to Mena House, but nothing out of the ordinary. And I just remembered that our scones never turned up, they gave us jam and cream but no scones.

I also had a tour of the hotel including suites in both buidlings, the day spa and the main restaurant. All of the rooms were beautiful and would be wonderful to stay in, the bathrooms were particularly impressive. On my next trip to Egypt I definately plan on spending atleast a week at the hotel. I can't wait to spend a couple of days at the spa. The refurb is extremely impressive and tasteful, though I have a feeling the modern style will date quickly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Madam or Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. We have noted your valuable comments. Please rest assured that we try our utmost to fulfill our guests’ satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were upgraded on the day of departure to the Old Cataract, staying two weekends either side of a Lake Nasser cruise, because the Movenpick staff were on strike! We were thrilled as we had originally wanted to stay here but thought the prices were too high!
The hotel's public areas have been sumptuously restored and are reminiscent of a bygone era. The walk into the lobby area after arriving from the gates by golf trolley is jaw dropping, even at midnight after 21 hours on the go!
Our first room was on the ground floor of the original Old wing and was stunning; large and spacious with a big bathroom, facing the front of the hotel. Our return visit saw us on the first floor of the same wing in a slightly smaller room and bathroom with only a bath and no shower, just a retractable shower head beside the taps! We did have a large outside balcony which again overlooked the front of the hotel. Both rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated but we thought the omission of a shower rather strange in a newly renovated property!
On returning to our room late afternoon on our second day we discovered that there was no hot water! We left for home the following morning at 4.00AM and again enjoyed the experience of attempting to 'shower' with no hot water! We did not complain - read on!!!
Our dining experiences were somewhat erratic! Service, while polite and friendly, was slow! During the first weekend, when there seemed to be very few guests, our dining experiences were adequate although not exceptional. Our second weekend was also the Easter weekend and the hotel was apparently 'full'. Our lunch at the Palms (pool side snack bar) when it finally arrived, was barely luke warm. We dined in the Saraya that evening. People were seated at the table we had booked earlier but we accepted an alternative without complaint. On this occasion our friends both ordered a simple pasta dish. It was of such poor quality that they couldn't eat it. Our waiter asked if there was a problem and the restaurant manager arrived. He was extremely apologetic, offered us free desserts or tea, which we politely declined, and asked us to return the following evening to let them prove that they could do better (!) and then CHARGED our friends for their inedible meal! We returned the next evening as we didn't want the hassle of going into Aswan to look for somewhere to eat. The food was better this time. We were again offered a free dessert or tea and charged for the other courses. We have travelled a great deal, all over the world and stayed in many fine hotels and we are NOT 'complainers' but we felt that the situation was handled poorly.
A final comment on the cost of drinks - we were prepared for expensive prices and accepted them as part of the 5 star experience. Sipping a glass of wine on the terrace of the Old Cataract at sunset is wonderful and we happily parted with our cash! However when we joined our cruise boat, also 5 star, we discovered that the same bottle of wine was exactly twice the price in the Old Cataract!
To finish on a more positive note; the staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and charming, particularly the younger staff, who were enthusiastic and attentive!
We left with mixed emotions! It was great to experience this legendary hotel but it needs to address some issues regarding the dining experiences it offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ojarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Madam or /Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback .We have noted your valuable comments. Please rest assured that we try our utmost to fulfill our guests’ satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.5 km away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 km away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
1.0 km away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 km away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.1 km away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#16 of 22 in Aswan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,320 - ₹ 17,713
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing