We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy and Learn about Nubia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bet el Kerem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bet el Kerem
Ranked #2 of 14 Aswan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy and Learn about Nubia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

First of all Bet el Kerem is not meant for everyone. If you are looking for a place to just relax at the hotel there are probably better places to stay. That being said, if you are looking for an educational and interesting place, this is one of the top places I've stayed.

The location is a bit out of the way on the west bank, but is easily accessable by the ferry - which is also an interesting way to see how the locals live. It is also a lot calmer than the east bank.

Lots of possible activities to the enjoy the region and Aswan. Got to go fishing on the Nile, which was a great experience and eat at a Nubian house which was educational with good food. Speaking of food, the cooks at Bet el Kerem made some of the best grilled chicken I had ever eaten and the free drinks was a big plus.

Rooms are basic, but have everything necessary, but like I mentioned, if you just want to relax in your room all day, this isn't the best place to stay.

Bet el Kerem serves as a de facto cultural center for all the Nubians who live in the area, and the best part about staying wastalking to the host, neighbors and staff about the history of Nubia and their own individual stories about living in the region.

Really welcoming and friendly place with good staff. Highly recommended place to stay in Aswan.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    31
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
51
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

So what was wrong? On the plus side, the food was excellent (delicious buffet dinner), free water and soft drinks) and quiet. But our room was vastly overpriced at 45 E: it was dark (the only window opened to a wall), beds were exceptionally hard, the mosquito netting was dysfunctional (torn and too small), and while we had asked for an ensuite, the toilet was down the hall. I mentioned our disappointment when the owner pressed us as to how we liked the room but was dismissed with the reply, "It says 'ensuite bath and shower,' no mention of toilet.'" In fact the owner was the main reason why we didn't enjoy our stay: we found him overbearing, arrogant, and dismissive. As I said, this was our only negative experience in 6 weeks of travelling in Egypt.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
experiencenubia, Owner at Bet el Kerem, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
To be honest, we are rather dissapointed about this review; for several reasons. So we really feel the need to react. The guests stayed in one of our best rooms; people always like this room because it is quiet, large and cool. The private toilet is directly next to the room.
We really invested in the quality of the matrasses in our guesthouse; we never heard any complaints about this before!
In every room we have a list with information about what to see and do in and around Aswan. We wrote there on the front page: "we appreciate your feedback". Now we find out that this wasn't done to us personally, but to the world on the internet. We don't understand why that was necessary. For sure, Abdel is straight in his communication (which is often necessary in this business), but most important to him is that our guests leave the guesthouse happy. So he is very helpful, also in this case. When the guests could't manage to book a room in a hotel in Abu Simbel, he contacted the owner there and arranged it for them. He gave all the possible ways to go there and a lot of bottles of mineral water when they left. So we really don't understand this hard judgement.
Ellen & Abdel, the owners of Bet el Kerem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We spent 8 days in the wonderful BetelKarem 917 t/m 24 november 2011). From the first moment we felt at home: Dutch Quality with African hospitality. Abdel and his crew made us feel great. Every day we learned more about the Nubian culture. Breakfast and dinner were splendid. The view from the balcony over de desert and the tomb of the Nobels en the thomb of Aga Khan was wonderful by night and day We wachted birds, made Niletrips en enjoyed the souk of Aswan. We married 25 years ago en that's why Abdel arranged that we were invited at a great Nubian wedding party.
At home we remember this family trip as one of the best in our life.
fam. Ondracek, Holland

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDCM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was a beautiful guest-house on the West bank of Aswan - wonderful rustic atmosphere, lovely and spacious room and a gorgeous roof terrace with the most amazing view of the desert, tombs of the nobles and the Nile. The owner Abdel makes you feel immediately at home - the fridge is always full of cool water, juice and snacks which you can help yourself to. The staff were always friendly and accommodating. Staying in the West bank was also a treat - so peaceful and calm, you felt like you were very much experiencing the Nubian village feel.

The excursions with Bet el Kerem are also highly recommended - they seemed a bit expensive to us at first but there is a reason! These trips are perfectly organised and completely hassle-free - the driver was accommodating and took us to all the sites he said he would (no cousin's souvenir shops!), was very patient whilst we looked around the sites, and there were no 'hidden charges'. The trip to Abu Simbel was especially amazing!

This guesthouse is the best in Aswan - stay there!

Room Tip: If you go there in summer be sure to get a room with AC - it gets sweltering in the guesthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbican01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

From the moment you enter the garden of this wonderful place, you instantly feel relaxed and at home. As our host Abdel explained, 'Bet El Kerem' translates as 'house of hospitality' which is exactly what Abdel has achieved here and you are at once in your very own 'home from home'. Nothing is too much trouble for Abdel, who he was happy to arrange excursions and activities for us, never pushy, always warm, friendly and polite. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and we found we never needed lunch as we always had plenty of breakfast. Dinner was also superb and always left us satisfied. The location is quiet and relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of Aswan city, yet close enough to be only a 10 minute ferry ride away across the Nile. The guest-house is the perfect spot to visit locations such as the Botanical Gardens of Kitcheners Island and the magnificent temple of Ramses at Abu SImbel and you can finish off the evening with a romantic Felluca cruise down the Nile at sunset. We only have two regrets regarding our stay at 'Bet El Kerem' that we couldn't stay longer and that we didn't book our other accommodation and activities in Luxor and Cairo with Abdel as I'm sure they would have been excellent. If you want the corporate coldness of a 5 star hotel then look elsewhere, but if you want to feel at home in a warm, pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, then look no further than Bet El Kerem, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muunkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.8 km away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.5 km away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
3.0 km away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 km away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.0 km away
Nubian Holiday House Aswan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bet el Kerem? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bet el Kerem

Property: Bet el Kerem
Address: Nagh el Kuba | West Aswan, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Aswan
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,770 - ₹ 2,903
Hotel Class:3 star — Bet el Kerem 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only guesthouse in Aswan on the West bank. Top location near the Nile, the desert and the Nubian villages; beautiful view. Private chef services healthy meals. Peaceful atmosphere, friendly, hospitable staff. “Feels like staying with family”; “a home away from home”.2 floors, 8 double rooms, 1 family room, beautiful garden, roof garden with restaurant; marvellous view. The local ferry - within walking distance from the guesthouse - brings you in 10 min. in Aswan centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bet el Kerem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bet El Kerem Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing